We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap - that is, compared to Turning Stone.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap - that is, compared to Turning Stone.”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I stayed here Saturday night of Labor Day weekend only because Turning Stone's room rates were in the area of $400. I was surprised to find a hotel right near the Turning Stone casino and learned that this Microtel only opened 3 months earlier.

The property looks clean and nice - but it is brand new construction so one should expect nothing less. I was able to book a room for approx $100. This is cheap compared to Turning Stone but if not for its location near this attraction it would not be such a deal.

When I entered my room for the first time I was shocked to see how tiny it was. I guess I should have taken the "Micro" in "Microtel" more seriously. The room really was a closet. Luckily, I was staying alone so it wasn't a problem. However, I couldn't imagine more than 1 person comfortably moving around in this room. I understand this property also has suites - which I didn't see - but I imagine they must be larger.

My biggest complaint is about noise. I was given a room right next to the stairs and the noise from the steps is unusually loud. I walked the steps myself and it sounds as if they are hollow. Every step makes a loud boom and then the noise echoes in the stairwell. This is just unacceptable in a hotel. More care should have been made in the construction of the staircase to reduce the noise.

Overall, the hotel is decent if you don't want to spend the money for a room at Turning Stone. However, if you can get a room at Turning Stone in the $200 range (which I was able to do the folowing night) I was recommend that over $100 room at the Mircrotel.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Trapuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    390
    131
    43
    28
See reviews for
309
345
50
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We were excited to find a newly built and affordable hotel near the Turning Stone casino and the Bouckville Antiques show.

We booked our stay online well in advance and looked forward to three nice nights in a brand new building.

Upon our arrival we were told that no reservation existed in our name. When we produced a confirmation number the girl at the desk gave us a knowing smile and a giggle, then she proceeded to explain that all reservations made more than three months prior did not get entered into their computer system. We did not see what was so funny about that and asked why the people who had reserved rooms were not notified that their reservations were not going to be honored. She was unable to produce a satisfactory answer and as the hotel was full for the evening we were left without a place to stay for the evening.


An offer to bump other guests for two nights starting the next day only angered us more. One could only wonder if those unfortunate guests would have been notified that they lost their rooms.

Overall we were very disappointed with both the management of the property and the substandard accommodations we were forced to utilize as a result of their ineptitude.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christian9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I stayed here with my mom as i could not use my husbands free night stay at the turning stone they would not let me. This place is very clean and the people were great. The price was only 79.00 and you cannot beat that. I would definately stay here again. Everything is brand new here they just opened in May of 08 i think? Not fancy,no pool but clean and rooms are very nice.

  • Liked — very nice clean place
  • Disliked — nothing it is excellent!!!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2008

I preface by saying this is a new hotel, it had been opened 6 weeks when we visited. Beds were comfortable and clean. (Clean is a big thing with me). It's a basic hotel stay, no frills but serves a purpose as a low-rate place. Continental breakfast is again no frills, but a nice supply of cereal, toast, fruit, etc.

Walls were very thin and we heard neighbors banging around all night, both nights of our stay. Rooms are smallish, but not uncomfortable.

Bottom line, I would recommend staying here simply because of the cleanliness. Don't expect posh, though.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — It was noisy
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 1harleytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Verona
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
4.5 mi away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vernon
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
19.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
519 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
Address: 5118 State Route 365, I-90 & Exit 33, Verona, NY 13478-3119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Verona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#4 Family Hotel in Verona
#4 Business Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Verona
Microtel Inn & Suites Verona Hotel Verona
Microtel Hotel Verona
Verona Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing