We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Unsatisfied”
Review of Vernon Downs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vernon Downs Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly Unsatisfied”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel during Columbus Day weekend for a wedding. While the wedding reception was wonderful, that was just about the only nice thing to say about the hotel. We checked in late Friday so we really didn't have a chance to inspect the room until Saturday morning. We discovered a disgusting amount of mold surrounding the A/C unit. It covered the carpet and spread up the walls. The ironing board was stained and moldy as well. There was dust everywhere and it appeared that the room hadn't been vacuumed well in months. There were several dents/gashes in the walls as well. The outlets were very loose. I was afraid that I was going to be electrocuted when I was plugging in/unplugging the iron. The bathroom was not clean. There was hair still in the tub. The shower also sounded like a freight train with the pressure and temperature alternating throughout. Sunday there was no hot water! The toilet was also very unstable. Neither one of us are large people but the toilet would shift to the left each time we sat down. When we brought this all up at the check-out, the first thing that we were told was that we should have brought it up when we checked in and that they could have changed our rooms. Sure, maybe we should have brought it up first thing but how can you change our rooms when the hotel is book solid? The people at the front desk offered no apologies and suggested that we call at a later date to speak with the Manager. My boyfriend has tried contacting the Manager several times without success.

Our other chief complaint has to do with the prices of everything. This hotel, unlike just about every other hotel, does not offer a continental/complimentary breakfast. At about $10 per person, you are treated to a very mediocre buffet. The only positive of this stay was that I was able to spend time with friends.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KZJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    48
    41
    35
    22
See reviews for
49
67
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We enjoy this hotel very much. The staff is very pleasant and knowledgeable. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. Recently the hotel has been remodeled which includes a new restaurant which offers a great menu with good food. The casino is attached to the hotel so weather is not a factor. The track for harness racing is right outside the door and fun to watch.
Most importantly, to my husband and I, is that the hotel, casino and restaurants are smoke free!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobster60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand Lake, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were returning from a family visit in Rochester. This hotel is quiet, clean and directly off the New York State Thruway. While there are plenty of slot machines to amuse you, the food in their restaurant was fantastic. The staff was helpful and cheery. We can't wait to return. This was a "winning" trip.

Room Tip: Make a reservation for a King bedroom-very clean, spacious and with micro and frig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianesandlakeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2011

the staff was super friendly and the hotel and casino is smoke free which, which is a bonus for us non smokers. I have abosulutely no complaints about this hotel and casino.We will be back.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

My daughter is graduating from an area college in May and we've had horrible luck finding a decent, reasonably priced hotel in the Utica area (unless you want to pay $$$$$ at the other casino resort). The other hotels we've stayed at have been all in the $100/night range with uncomfortable beds, unclean, mildewy rooms sometimes in sketchy areas.

Vernon Downs is in the middle of extensive renovations inside and out. The rooms was clean and neat, beds were very comfortable. The only quibble I had was the TV reception wasn't the greatest (probably a loose cable, but I was too tired to care). Didn't get a chance to go to the casino, but you can have a drink there vs the other resort where you can't unless you join a private club for $.

I paid 1/2 what I'd been paying elsewhere and 1/3 of what the other resort charges.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calypso19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Rooms not as clean as they should be. Not vacuumed to corners of room etc...
Hotel is fine for one night. Casino driven. Front desk not overly informed re: surrounding restaurants/directions etc... but friendly.
Not much around it. Don't count on finding good food/restaurants in the near vicinity. Did not try onsite restaurants. Lots of smokers around hotel but hotel smoke free.
Again.........casino attached/driven by casino.
Beds were comfy. Blankets on bed had holes in them. Sheets had rips. Not great but no bugs and again, sleep was comfortable. Price was right $87. and we had very few other options-needing to get to Hamilton NY and Colgate Inn was closed for reno's.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed because we had an event in Morrisville, and there aren't many hotel options around. Overpriced for the quality of the room, which was outdated. The heater was smelly, the wallpaper peeling. The breakfast and dinner buffets were outrageously expensive--we spent $55 for two adults, a 9 year old and a 12 year old (who was charged for an adult buffet). Horrible blankets, worn out, peeling velour with holes in them. The biggest "surprise" was that we found a bed bug on the morning we were checking out. They said they've never had a problem before, but GROSS. I hope we don't ever have to stay in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ithacahockeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vernon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
4.3 mi away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
11.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vernon Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vernon Downs Hotel

Property: Vernon Downs Hotel
Address: 4229 Stuhlman Rd, Vernon, NY 13476-4516
Location: United States > New York > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vernon Downs Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Vernon Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vernon Downs
Downs Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing