We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”
Review of The Green Cornwall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton Cross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Cornwall
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Wonderful few days away, staying in cottage number 3. Lovely decor, stunning views, very clean and well equipped. We stayed with a 6 month old and 3 year old and the cottage suited us well, although I think 4 adults may find it a little cosy. There are steps to the first floor entrance and 2 small internal steps so not well suited to those not steady on their feet. There is a baby pack available with lots of extras (back pack, blender, toys) to borrow free of charge, although you need to book this early, we missed out on many items as they were already booked during our stay. We also tried out the food delivery service which was really convenient, catered for special diets and very tasty. The little walk to the pond and river and the childrens play area were a lovely extra too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We (18 in total) rented The House (and Number 5) in June 2012. Beautiful properties, gorgeous decor and very well equipped. The ages of our group ranged from 5 - 85. The downstairs bathroom and bedroom is ideal for an older guest or one with mobility limitations. The kitchen/dining room is absolutely perfect for all getting together for breakfasts and evening meals and we had many a late night simply chatting round the huge table with a few drinks. There are enough bathrooms that noone needed to wait for a shower etc in the mornings and the fridge was ample size to stock our wine and beer, and of course some food items.
I cannot think of anything that is lacking from the properties, the owners have put a great deal of thought and effort in to making this a real home from home experience where you do not feel you have left anything behind. We met Moira on the first day; she was very friendly and gave us several suggestions on what we could do whilst there, and there is a wonderful information book in the properties with plenty of helpful, informative advice.
We ate at the Manor House (in the village) on 3 occassions; a) it was in walking distance which was a great bonus for many of the party b) the food was really VERY good and c) the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend a visit.
Had trips out to Port Isaac, Fowey, Tintagel and Looe. We also visited the UK's longest zip wire which is 50m and 490m long over a lake. Must try!! Despite the weather being absolutely awful we all had a very pleasant holiday. Would recommend The Green without hesitation.

Room Tip: We had the double room on the back of the house which has access to it's own bathroom with a bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creditcrunch73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Impressed with the contemporary decor. And the location is just the perfect wee getaway to the great outdoors.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangersong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Amazing,the house is gorgeous had a great mid week break just what we wanted. ideal for an fab girly trip away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovegoodfood2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I have just spent the last few days in Cottage Number 5 and I couldn’t of found a more perfect cottage for my family break. We find it quite hard to go away with twins and often find we have to pay the price to get extra room this was not the case at the green. Firstly the cottage was beautiful, well-equipped warm and an ideal living space for families with little ones. I was able to request a cot, buggy toys and other necessities that every one year old needs, and un like other places I have stayed they were able to provide two of most things which means I could make more room in the car for the little ones. We found the Staff to be very helpful and informative in planning child friendly days out. I came last year with friends and couldn't wait to come back and my returning visit did not disappoint. We will all be back

  • Liked — The Cottage had everything we needed
  • Disliked — Thant we didn't book longer!
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The cottage is beautiful and the owners friendly and welcoming. Location is perfect for peace and exploring. Renovation has been really tasteful. The whole place feels cosy and homely.Somewhere you would want go back to.

  • Liked — The whole standard of care gone into the cottage
  • Disliked — Nothing to find fault with
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robboDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Couldn't have asked for better accomodation, we stated in No.5 for a week and there is nothing at all that was amiss. Stunning views from the panoramic folding doors and excellent facilities which were modern, immaculate and very tastefully decorated. A warm welcome and advice were at hand from Moira and the information about places to visit and things to do was great. The surrounding woodland walks and orchard were a delight for our dog and the local pub just a few minutes walk away was welcoming and dog friendly too. Its an excellent base from which to explore Cornwall. We would most definately return and stay here, all the cottages looked inviting yet remain quite private for meals/BBQ's outside etc. Thoroughly pleased with our holiday.

  • Liked — Stunning inside, stunning outside, a home from home
  • Disliked — A single track road the Sat Nav directed us down in error
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton Cross
2.2 mi away
The Cheesewring Hotel
The Cheesewring Hotel
#4 of 15 in Liskeard
64 reviews
24.7 mi away
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
#1 of 2 in Saint Ewe
351 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wheal Tor
Wheal Tor
#3 of 5 in Pensilva
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Cornwall

Property: The Green Cornwall
Address: Netherton Farm, Upton Cross PL14 5BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Upton Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Upton Cross
Hotel Class:5 star — The Green Cornwall 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly luxurious Cornish escape, set in 20 acres of lush green countryside...surrounded by apple orchards, meadows, a lake, and the stunning skylines of Cornwall's iconic mining heritage. The Green, House and Cottages, provides the ultimate contemporary comfort - from stylish interiors to beautiful grounds, chef services to spa treatments plus lots to amuse the little ones. The Green is perfectly located for a dreamy holiday in Cornwall. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing