We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton Cross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Green Cornwall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Amazing,the house is gorgeous had a great mid week break just what we wanted. ideal for an fab girly trip away.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovegoodfood2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

I have just spent the last few days in Cottage Number 5 and I couldn’t of found a more perfect cottage for my family break. We find it quite hard to go away with twins and often find we have to pay the price to get extra room this was not the case at the green. Firstly the cottage was beautiful, well-equipped warm and an ideal living space for families with little ones. I was able to request a cot, buggy toys and other necessities that every one year old needs, and un like other places I have stayed they were able to provide two of most things which means I could make more room in the car for the little ones. We found the Staff to be very helpful and informative in planning child friendly days out. I came last year with friends and couldn't wait to come back and my returning visit did not disappoint. We will all be back

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Zoe Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The cottage is beautiful and the owners friendly and welcoming. Location is perfect for peace and exploring. Renovation has been really tasteful. The whole place feels cosy and homely.Somewhere you would want go back to.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank robboDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Couldn't have asked for better accomodation, we stated in No.5 for a week and there is nothing at all that was amiss. Stunning views from the panoramic folding doors and excellent facilities which were modern, immaculate and very tastefully decorated. A warm welcome and advice were at hand from Moira and the information about places to visit and things to do was great. The surrounding woodland walks and orchard were a delight for our dog and the local pub just a few minutes walk away was welcoming and dog friendly too. Its an excellent base from which to explore Cornwall. We would most definately return and stay here, all the cottages looked inviting yet remain quite private for meals/BBQ's outside etc. Thoroughly pleased with our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed in cottage three recently, the location and views from the cottage are excellent. The furnishing and decor of the cottage are stylish and practical with everything you would need for your holiday including the bedding and towels. The kitchen was equipped with almost everything you need ( no colander) and was well designed. Overall we were impressed and would recommend it, the only criticism I would have is the website does not make it clear the only access to the cottage is up 14 steps and is part of a complex with two other cottages.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 16, 2011

Thanks for your lovely review and so glad you had a great time. I have replaced the colander and reworded the layout description on the website :-) thanks for bringing those to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stumbled across The Green, Cornwall at the last minute and when we saw the photos really wanted to book. When we arrived we were not disappointed. The accommodation was tastefully decorated and had everything a family with 3 children (3 years, 1 year, 3 months) could want. The open plan arrangement made it ideal for the kids to play in the cottage whilst keeping a watchful eye on them when making breakfast. There was a travel cot and plastic plates, cutlery and cups for the kids. For those wanting to eat in the cottage the kitchen was well stocked with utensils, pots and pans etc

The peaceful location and open grass areas were safe for the children to play out on as cars pack 50 yards away in the parking area. The childrens play area with swings and slide was a hit with the little ones.

Nice touches:
The free Wifi
The copy of the Cornwall/Devon Lonely Planet guide which was useful during the stay
The information pack with many suggestions for things to do/places to eat in many locations in Cornwall.
Become a friend of The Green, Cornwall, House and Cottages as the owner regular posts fairs, plays, musical events etc happening that day.

On a final note the owner was often around on-site and was extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgable of the local area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Stompie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This cottage was not only beautiful but well equipped, they had everything I needed including a buggy, which was great one less thing I needed to pack. The grounds were lovely and the children loved being able to run around in the meadow and the play equipment was a big hit. Thank you so much you made our stay magical and your advice on toddler friendly days out was great. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretaedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Green Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Cornwall

Address: Netherton Farm, Upton Cross PL14 5BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Upton Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Upton Cross
Hotel Class:5 star — The Green Cornwall 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly luxurious Cornish escape, set in 20 acres of lush green countryside...surrounded by apple orchards, meadows, a lake, and the stunning skylines of Cornwall's iconic mining heritage. The Green, House and Cottages, provides the ultimate contemporary comfort - from stylish interiors to beautiful grounds, chef services to spa treatments plus lots to amuse the little ones. The Green is perfectly located for a dreamy holiday in Cornwall. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing