We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Spruce” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Spruce Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Spruce Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valatie
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love the Spruce”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've stayed here numerous times - the rooms are clean, the staff is always helpful and the small cozy breakfast diner is a tremendous bonus. I just wish it was open all year long.
They're located right across the street from a great orchard with the most amazing cider donuts too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
19
11
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Powell Butte
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Motel has been updated and was very clean. Over priced for the area. No amenities worth paying that much for. Bed was uncomfortable and I woke up with a sore back so didn't stay longer. Lots of flowers outside was a nice added touch.

Room Tip: Bottom floor as there is no elevator if you have a lot to carry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebSBPowellButte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at this inn on Friday night (9/6/13) on the way home to Brooklyn after a week in the Adirondacks. Suffice it to say - par excellence! Easy to find right on Route 9, and an extensive property. Two separate buildings of rooms ( we stayed in the rebuilt one.) We often stay in the Comfort Inn chain, but this place surpassed them. The room was immaculate and spacious. The bathroom was quite large (and didn't have that annoying, noisy blower you find in less nice places everytime you hit the light switch!) The beds were oh so comfy - we had no problem drifting quickly off to sleep (in fact, we didn't want to get up for the same reason.)

The inn also had a small, but delightful and somewhat intimate breakfast room. The price for breakfast was unbelievable! Hotcakes were only $3.00, homemade, and light as air. In the small kitchen they had, it was amazing the food they turned out. Definitely, no stinting on quality! The Knoll family, who owns the place, knows what they're doing. We're already planning a return visit to their wonderful lodgings - and it can't come soon enough! Oh, and they readily accept pets (even our dog Hank loved the place - ample space to roam and sniff out those country smells.) The price, including charge for our pet, was very reasonable. If you're looking for a nice place, look no further than the Blue Spruce!

Room Tip: Get a suite on the 2nd floor of the new section - the rooms have jacuzzies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PRanger60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington, maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just happened upon this hotel on a recent road tour. We were told when we checked in that the hotel had been renovated recently, and had a nice chat with the man at the front desk. Our room was great. Room was clean, clean clean! Bed was extremely comfortable, sheets were clean and crisp, and the AC worked like a charm. We had breakfast the next morning, and the owner cooked and served us. The muesli I had was homemade and served with fresh peaches, blueberries, and strawberries. It was awesome! The owner chatted with us for at least a half and hour and was just a perfect host. He has also installed several large solor panels, which made us love the place even more. This is a family run business, where you are made to feel welcome. I love supporting a locally owned business, run by hardworking, honest people. Across the street is a wonderful farmstand with great cider donuts and seasonal treats. The Harvest Spirits Distillery is also right across the road. I will always stay at this hotel on my way to visit family. The hotel rooms are clean and safe, the owners were accomodating, and the rates were good. A plaza with a large grocery store and several takeouts is about one mile from the hotel. Thanks for the nice overnight! We will be back and will recommend you to our traveling family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank campstocastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have statyed her numerous times over the years. My daughter lives in the area. The staff have always been nice and helpful. Love the new renovations. The rooms are clean and the new tv's are a great plus. When traveling with friends or extended family I will definatley stay at the Blue Spruce Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

While visiting some Albany-area friends recently I decided to stay out near the countryside to take in the landscape during my lone times. The BSI&S is conveniently located 20 minutes from downtown Albany via the I-90 highway yet you'd never know that you were anywhere but in beautiful farm country. Check in was seamless, all staff members I encountered were helpful and gracious. My suite was clean, spacious, very cozy. The air jet bath was a nice surprise. For those inclined, like myself, the grounds wander quite a ways along orchards allowing a serene morning walk. Nothing "corporate cookie cutter" about this place. Also convenient is the nearby (1 mile south) shopping plaza and handful of eateries. (The hotel's coffee shop opens early summer.) I slept great the three nights I spent here.

Room Tip: Larger suites on the 2nd floor are worth the upgrade in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatG950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Beautifully renovated!! I was nervous about booking this place because of the reviews I read. Those negative reviews are old and out dated. I was very pleased with our room. It was clean and brand new with a microwave and refrigerator. This family owned business works hard to please. I will certaintly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valatie
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Gr...
#1 of 2 in Castleton On Hudson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Coxsackie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany East Greenbush
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
11.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - E Greenbush / Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Spruce Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Spruce Inn & Suites

Property: Blue Spruce Inn & Suites
Address: Route 9, Valatie, NY 12184
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Valatie
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valatie
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Spruce Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Spruce Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Spruce Inn And Suites
Blue Spruce Hotel Valatie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing