We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Spruce Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
$207
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western New Baltimore Inn(West Coxsackie)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Motel(Castleton On Hudson)
$66
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Barlow(Hudson)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
15
10
10
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
10
10
3
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 46 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Orginally booked because this is one of the few places around the area that allowed pets. Was nicely surprized to find that after a fire the place had been rebuilt and the section we stayed in was brand new. Flat screen tvs in all the rooms, fridges and microwaves also. Very clean and lovely property. Was a good deal for the money as more expensive places we have stayed in the past didnt have fridges or microwaves. Will stay again

Room Tip: Ask for the new rebuilt building
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Currently undergoing renovations. Clean and larger than average rooms. Stayed here on business. Enjoyed the homely feel, however, the room we stayed in haven't undergone renovations. Renovations to be complete soon on most rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlickNEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed there last year for 9 nights, loved the grounds and pool. However, the suite we stayed in was in need of a lot of work and for the housekeeping it was non-existing, I was disappointed in that. I did love the fact that across the road was a great road stand with fresh fruits and apple cider donuts!
I will be staying there again this year in Sept. they just got done with a whole new remodel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulette59870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Upon check in the person at the front desk looked bothered that we were there, he also looked as if he hadn't bathed in about a month. We were told $75 a night on the phone but they tried charging $85 when we got there. Once checked in we walked over to our room and could smell the scent of cigarettes before we even opened the door even though we were never told we would be in a smoking room. The room decor had not been updated since the place opened over 40 years ago. The matress was about 6" thin and was sitting on a box spring that looked like it was picked up off the side of the road. There were two pillows that looked like they were run over by a car a few times to be flattened out. The shower curtain looked like it hadn't been washed in about 40 years either and smelled like smoke. The room was filled with all kinds of bugs including ants, fruit flies, mosquitoes and a huge black spider that probably walked right in through the 3" crack underneath the front door. The beams that were on the ceiling were about 3" from being detached and falling on our heads. We would always smell
like smoke whenever we left the room. We even took a trip to the dollar store to try and drown out the scent with candles and incense(no luck). When we asked if we could be moved to a different room we were told that the place was sold out even though there were only three cars in the lot all weekend. Needless to say I would rather pitch a tent and camp out on the side of the road than stay there again. As for the other reviews that said this place was clean, I'd love to see what their idea of dirty is. There is nothing clean about this place!!! Gross!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trvlthawrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This place is terrible - an old 60s or 70s highway side motel that has had very little fixed or replaced in decades. We stayed there against our better judgment, since family recommended it and was also staying there, and we wish we had never set foot in this place. We saw a total of 3 different rooms, one 1-bed suite and 2 regular queens, all were awful - every room smelled like a musty old basement, every bed was horribly old and springy/dippy, carpeting/flooring was old and gross, decor looked like good will seconds, and the shower curtains were all black with mildew on the bottom. We stayed in the 1-bed suite, and the old, ineffective AC was in the living room, not the bedroom, and it's hot there in July, so we had to keep the bedroom door open the whole time, which defeats the purpose of having a separate room. And they didn't bother turning on the AC before our arrival, so it took about 4 hours to get the place somewhat cool in the hot July weather. The shower curtain was disgusting, covered in mildew; when we asked about it, the solution was to hand us a bottle of bleach and suggest that we could go next door and pay to use a washer to wash it (we did). One of the two blinds was missing in the bedroom, when we asked about it, we were handed an old blind to install ourselves. The kitchen light was broken - when we asked about it, we were handed a very old, torn up lamp to put in the kitchen. Our bed was covered in plastic, then a thin cheap sheet, so it was hot and sweaty and very uncomfortable. We woke up at about 2 or 3 am entirely uncomfortable and unable to sleep, so we spent the wee hours of the morning searching for another hotel close by, and found the Comfort Inn in Castleton-on-Hudson, just 11 miles up the road, went there for next night and it was 1000 times better than Blue Spruce. Later that morning when we told the man at Blue Spruce we were checking out early, he just asked for our credit card - he didn't ask why, and we figured we wouldn't bother telling him since surely he's heard it before and clearly doesn't care otherwise he'd fix the place up. AVOID THIS PLACE!!

Room Tip: there is no best room, they are all awful
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews