We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza ever”

O'scugnizzo Pizzeria
Ranked #18 of 184 Restaurants in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Pizza ever”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I grew up in Utica New York and have traveled around the world looking for great pizza but no other place can compare to the quality and great taste of the home made pizza from O'scugnizzo. Their pizza is unique and you will not ever be able to taste pizza like the ones made at O'scugnizzo. Even if you are just traveling through Utica, get off interstate 90 at exit 31 and go to O'scugnizzo, you wont be sorry. When you finish your pizza you can walk to Florentine's Bakery and have some delicious home made Italian desserts and pastries.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    12
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
1,831 reviews
584 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 689 helpful votes
“Classic Utica style pie”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Been eating O's for 50 years and its remarkably consistent. The sausage and onions is my favorite and whether you like O's or Joe's better depends on your taste in sauce. Meat and toppings are placed beneath the sauce do everyone looks like a Margherita but the toppings are generous. Zero ambience. Get a takeout. Antipasti are good, too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The "King" of Pizza should be Ousted!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

On it's sign on the roof of the restaurant, this pizza joint claims it has been "The King of Pizza since 1914." I don"t have any sense for what good pizza tasted like in the early 1900s, but by today's standards, this king lost his throne decades ago. Passing through Utica on the way to Buffalo, we targeted Joey's for an authentic and unique Italian lunch by Utica Cumpari standards. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed for the entire week of the 4th of July when we arrived. Bah Fungu! We passed this pizza place and quickly read a cole of reviews on TA, and took a shot at something new:" upside down" pizza. Yet everything about it was upside down. The crust was cardboard and stale. The sauce tasted like marinara you might put on pasta if you were in your dorm at 3 a.m. and had the hungry horrors after a night at the bar. You can't order pizza and subs or pasta from one location at the self service counter, which created chaos. The place is filthy and needs to be bombed with cleaning agents. And the pizza maker was rude. We're from the North End of Boston and we love our pizza. This so-called king in Utica should send out some staff on a reconnaissance mission back east to see how homemade pizza is done best in today's world. Skip the temptation to try something new; if you don't you will leave with an upside down feeling in your stomach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonFoodieTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Still the best pizza in town”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The pizza here is the best around. A really unique "upside down" pizza where the sauce is on top of the cheese and toppings. The crust is crist and they don't skimp on anything. Don't go expecting ambiance or great service, but the pizza is 2nd to none.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank amjs13501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Up side town pizza”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The best upside down pizza. They don't do it any other way. Never had anything else other than the pizza. I guess I never needed to since it's that good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selma_Mekic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'scugnizzo Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing