We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Utica
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Huntersville, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for the Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

I was hesitant to stay at the Red Roof because the hotels in the surrounding area are pretty bad, but decided to give it a shot based on the positive reviews after the renovation.

I was pleaseantly surprised at how nice it was. Everything was clean and the front desk workers were very helpful.

By no means is it a fancy place with a ton of amenities, but compared to Hotel Utica ($125 / night), the Radisson ($120 / night) and the Holiday Inn next to the Utica Business Park ($100 / night), the Red Roof Inn was quite a bargain at $62 / night.

I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Location is OK, not great
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BKQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    194
    77
    29
    14
See reviews for
168
119
57
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mass.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

Based on the reviews here my family (wife + 2 kids) booked 2 connected/adjoining rooms at the Red Roof for a one night stay. We weren't expecting luxury given the price but the hotel was far more than the basic Microtel, Super8 type hotel. For starters when I checked in they informed me that they had lowered the rates for the weekend, cutting about $20 per night of the rate I had been quoted.

The rooms were super clean and clearly recently renovated. Free fridge, plenty of free TV, etc. The staff was extra nice too.

I'll certainly look for a Red Roof next time I'll looking for a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fred1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

As the other reviews mentioned, the room was clean, with fresh furnishings, and small. What the other reviewers did not mention was the lack of the usual amenities. 1) No continental breakfast or restaurant on site 2) No hairdryer in the room 3) No coffeemaker in the room 4) $9.95 charge/day for internet connection. The rate was $95/night. Too much for so little.

  • Liked — Clean and fresh looking
  • Disliked — Lack of normal amenities
  • Tips/Secrets — The exit from interstate is confusing as it is near a tollbooth. Get directions from motel.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SS1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle River, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2006

We were pleasantly surprised by the Red Roof Inn, as my last experience with the hotel chain was over 20 years ago (in another city), and it was merely a cheap, very basic motel option back then. This Red Roof lived up to its "recently renovated" billing, with the room as nice and well decorated as many higher end hotels in which we've stayed. We were on a mini-vacation, attending the nice Great American Irish Festival in nearby Frankfort, and the location was perfect for our purposes (just off the toll-based expressway, and close to the non-toll Route 5). This is also a fine location for visting downtwon Utica, which is only a couple minute drive away. The hotel also seemed to be a good choice for business travelers, with a desk in the room, and the ability to connect to wireless internet... not sure of the option, cost, or how.

Best of all, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, the shower good, and quiet, quiet, quiet despite the hotel being booked solid for the night. The only real negatives were having to pay over $100 a night for a motel (however nice it was), and not being able to get into our room until 2:30PM despite the web page listing a 1PM check-in. Still, overall, this turned out to be a nice visit with quality accommodations.

  • Liked — nice, comfortable, quiet room
  • Disliked — still not crazy about a motel costing over 100 bucks a night!
  • Tips/Secrets — If you don't need to travel that far from Utica, avoid the toll road and use other highways
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psmcdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

Believe the commericals! This hotel and its rooms were totally redesigned and renovated. I was unable to get a room at the nearby Turning Stone Casino, but I was completely satisfied staying here. You definitely get alot of bang for your buck here.

The room, bathroom, lobby and surrounding area was clean.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2006

This hotel was very easy to find, couldn't beat the price ($47), clean rooms, friendly staff, good coffee. Only complaint is the very small bathroom. If you're a big person you'll have difficulty even closing the bathroom door...not much room in there at all!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LongIsland01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2006

Stayed one night at the Red Roof Inn on January 21. The price of a room with a king bed was only $40 when I booked it on-line. The front desk clerk told me that the entire hotel had been updated only 6 months earlier. From what I could see everything from top to bottom appeared to have been replaced. Based on what I paid for the room it greatly exceeded my expectations. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great value in Utica.

Helpful?
9 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
1.0 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Utica

Property: Red Roof Inn Utica
Address: 20 Weaver Street, Utica, NY 13502
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Utica 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Utica
Utica Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing