We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Red Roof Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Utica
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel has it all! Friendly and helpful staff, clean room, value and over sized rooms. This was our second experience with Red Roof Inn and I will never book another hotel. I could not have been happier with the stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: Definitely the superior king room is the best available and we stayed on the first floor and did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NICOLE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 532 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stay here often when on business in beautiful Utica. For a low price hotel rooms are decent and always clean. Staff is always helpful and the location is great. Many nearby restaurants with in walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyarnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent value in Utica. Hotel is clean, beds are comfortable. WiFi worked well. Although the hotel is pet friendly, which was one of our primary reasons for choosing it, there was no pet odor anywhere. Staff were very friendly upon arrival, offering us a king room instead of the 2 bed room that we had reserved. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Red Roof will never be confused for an upscale hotel. But the bed was comfortable, it was clean, it had a flat screen television, and the price was outstanding. It was a bit noisy, but there are several fast food restaurants within a 1/4 mile drive.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the interstate are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSVinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We decided to do an overnight in Utica. We wanted to do the Saranac Brewery and see some of the city. Also the Utica Zoo, and find some good places to eat. The Red Roof was reasonable and in a great location for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbyouzwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is your typical roadside motel located off a major highway. The property is set back from the road, so you need to look for the sign, but being set back reduces the road noise. The room was reasonably clean. Free wifi. Several restaurants and fast food places are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BETHPETRISKIGM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are always bee bopping around making cleanliness a priority. We appreciate you acknowledging that we are clean. Our Wifi is one of my features of the property. I love that you can just launch and go. Our brand is moving and shaking! Check out our next gen rooms that are hitting various markets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Room seemed okay at first. it was non-smoking but still had a funky smell. It was not as quiet as I hoped. You could hear phone calls from the adjacent room clear as a bell. It seemed pretty clean and tidy and it didn't bother me that much at such a low room rate until I killed a bed bug crawling on my bedsheet. yes, it was a bed bug....unfortunately (or fortunately) I know what they look like.

Room Tip: If you have to sleep in the bed, keep your clothes on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BETHPETRISKIGM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

My mouth flew agape when I read this review. Bed Bugs are certainly here, there and everywhere. The hard part about managing a hotel is you can do everything in your power to avert coming across this problem, but all it takes is one guest to introduce them. According to the Bed Bug Facts and Statistics nearly one in every five american is living with them. Americans are modifying their behaviors to minimize their risk of coming in contact such as: removing all bed sheets and inspecting the mattress and boxsprings as well as the air conditioning units, traveling with preventative supplies, leaving luggage up off the floor, As a hotel manager we do monthly inspections of rooms. However our inspections are only as good as that moment that we did it in. The hard truth is you can't ask your guests have you encountered them before, do you currently have them in your home, etc. Personal ownership is the best method of protection against encountering bed bugs. Please know at anytime, my staff here is trained to throw back blankets and lift box springs to give you the peace of mind to stay here. There is no way a hotel could guarantee with all the inspections in the world that you wouldn't encounter them. We just try to give you the best possible circumstances. We also have begun steaming the rooms regularly now as well which is also a good device to bring with you as you travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
748 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Utica

Address: 20 Weaver St, Utica, NY 13502-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range: $58 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Utica 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Utica
Utica Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing