We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Red Roof Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Utica
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a roadtrip through NY this week, and for under $80 we got a clean room, nice updated features like a granite countertop in the bathroom, flat screen tv, comfortable bed, extremely convenient location (close to restaurants, Dunkin Donuts, right off the Thruway, etc.) and a quiet night's sleep. It really surpassed our admittedly low expectations)!The property is really nice, with lots of open grassy space and nice landscaping, and is set back from the road so it's quiet even though it's literally a couple of turns off the NY Thruway. The employees were exceptionally helpful and friendly. When we were there, the hotel was almost full because of something going on in the area but it was suprisingly quiet (it helps not to have the door open onto a hallway but rather onto a balcony, I think it's more soundproof). The only thing I wish the room had was a sheer curtain for the window, because the only options were to have the window wide open where you'd have no privacy from people walking by, or to pull shut the blackout curtain which made it really dark. Honestly, that's all I can come up with for suggestions for improvements, which is pretty minor!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmwb30840827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    199
    84
    34
    15
See reviews for
183
130
57
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafargeville, ny
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our reservation made through the Red Roof corporate site was for a 2 bed deluxe room as stated on our printout. The Hotel got it as a standard room. We called 3 days before to confirm with "Jake". He said we had the "deluxe room". We asked for a ground floor room due to a recent fall disabling me. He assured us we would have a first floor room. We called again the next day to let him know we would be arriving after 6pm. He again said there would be no problem.
When we arrived, we were told there were no 1st floor "deluxe" rooms and they could never save one! Also they stated our "deluxe" room reservation was downgraded to a standard room w/o a fridge or microwave, which we specifically wanted. Then they stated not to rely on the corporate website to reserve a room?? They would give us a standard room next to their break room and we could "call" every time we needed to use the microwave!! Ya, like that going to happen. We ended up with a deluxe King single bed room, but we need two beds. That's why we reserved 2 beds! So keep score here; Corporate lied to us about the reservation, and "Jake" lied to us twice about the room status. That by my count is THREE lies and we were not even checked in yet. Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BETHPETRISKIGM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
It was so great talking with you this morning before you took off! I am ecstatic that we cleared up the confusion. Jake is indeed a gentlemen that makes sure all of his guests requests are honored to the best of our ability. Jake's best laid plan was altered that morning due to a guest being unable to check out due to an unexpected death in their family. The pressure was on now that all of the deluxe doubles were up on the second floor. Jake's priority that morning was to make sure you had a first floor room with two full beds to accommodate your medical guarantee. He did make that happen. We both agreed that it should have been possible to get a fridge moved into the standard two bed room versus having to move into a Superior King simply for the fridge, considering you originally reserved the deluxe double. My team will recommit to the "out of the box" thinking mentality that drives exceptional customer service. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid-Atlantic region
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

During a 3-day excursion through central and upstate New York, a large group of us (40) reserved rooms for 1-night stays at two RRIs (Syracuse and Utica). The Utica Red Roof Inn is a 2-story motel property where all the rooms open onto the parking lot or balcony deck-- no indoor corridors or stairwells. (Totally identical to the Syracuse RRI-- even the wall art!)

We had a basic studio room: 2 queen beds, a bureau, a nightstand w/ a phone and clock, a wall rack, tv, and a heating-a/c radiator. (Irons are available at the front desk.) The vanity counter, sink and mirror were on a side wall, and next to a small bathroom with just a toilet and bathtub/shower. The room was neat, clean and looked like it had a recent paint job.

Basically, the Utica Red Roof Inn is a simple, inexpensive, no-frills motel that worked well for my brief 10-hour stay to sleep, shower and shave. There are a few fast-food restaurants up the road, less than 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pathen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a no frills hotel, right off the interstate. No restaurant (but there is coffee in the lobby), no pool, nothing fancy, but very clean rooms and staff was friendly and helpful. It was perfect for us, just passing thru and looking for a place to sleep for the night. Our room and bathroom looked like it was newly remodeled.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheriberi511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was was last night on a three night roadtrip. The first two night the hotels/motels were nothing special, pretty mundane. I did not have high expectations for the final night. But I was impressed by this little place. It was easy to find right off the interstate and tucked in nicely on a quiet street.

The room was comfortable and clean. I had the best nights' sleep of the three on my trip. The price was perfect and there was free wifi. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenJol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. One of the best Red Roof Inns I have visited. The WiFi worked well, the shower had a good flow and the room had sufficient air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalbr549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Friendly front desk girl, Kristin. Very helpful. Room 1 was not made. Very filthy, towels soiled. Room 2 had a barking dog next to it (yip, yip type). Room 3 was 3 full beds instead of the king we paid for, no fridge (we paid for) and tiny bathroom. Ice machine was not working. Kristin called to see how we were doing and told us ice machine next to lobby works... Been here 20 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoltar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BETHPETRISKIGM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Kristin is becoming a little hometown celebrity. Our property has been bursting at the seams the last couple months, alive with tourism and hard work being done in the locally area. We sincerely try to make every stay go as smooth as possible. With temperatures soaring and high humidity, our ice machines have been under additional pressure to produce enough ice to fill cooler upon cooler. I am glad Kristin pointed out that we had another ice machine on property so that you didn't have to wait for the other one to refill. It is great to see that Kristin also got you squared away in under 20 minutes and right where you were comfortable. Kristin generally works to get the price right where it needs to be based upon the amenities that change if a room switch is necessary. Please give us a call so that we can review this with you. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
1.1 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Utica

Property: Red Roof Inn Utica
Address: 20 Weaver St, Utica, NY 13502-2515
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Utica 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Utica
Utica Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing