We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop over hotel”
Review of Red Roof Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Utica
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stop over hotel”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel is very simple and plain BUT the location is great if driving towards Boston. It is right off the highway - easy to get on and off the I-90.
The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small and plain. The bathroom is very small but clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maple1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    195
    80
    29
    14
See reviews for
174
122
57
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The bed was a superior king but wasn't very comfortable - sank in some - older mattress for sure. There was someone else's hairs on my pillows.
There was no ironing board or hair dryer for this supposed "superior king" room. there was a remote control for the temperature but no ironing board or hair dryer?? also no coffee pot was there but coffee was. i would not stay here again unless i had too. I'm a Hampton Inn girl when i visit family in Utica.

Room Tip: I have no tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chicagolp103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIMANAGER, Manager at Red Roof Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
The good news is Red Roof Inn has good things coming down the pike in regards to bed comfort and extra ammenities available for guests. Keep checking back to see our progress! Ironing boards and hair dryers are avaiable for all guests in the lobby. You can ask for one while making a reservation or when the need arises on the property, just give the front desk a call and we will gladly deliver them. The coffee pot works without the use of a pot. Just stick the wrapped foam cup under the brew station and press down on the start button. You will have a fresh cup of coffee in no time, no pot necessary. Hampton Inn is a phenomenal brand They are a mid scale to high end chain. Red Roof Inn is situated in the economy segment. We keep the bells and whistles to a minimum which in turn keeps the price to a minimum We remain focused on quality and service. There isn't anything to big or to small that we can't fix. We try to do a triple check each time we clean a room. We should have quadruple checked your room. I sincerely apologize that we missed a key element. Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

While not being the Ritz-Carlton...it is an up-to-date reasonable place to stay whether for business or a pleasure stop-over. Convenient to the freeway yet very quiet. Nice grounds if you have a companion pup. (Dogs are permitted) In my room, there was a work station, comfortable king bed, flat screen tv as well as ample parking. While I'd like to stay at the Hotel Utiica next time, this worked out very well for an overnight stop. Front desk were superbly efficient with both check-in & out. Very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Never hurts to ask for a discount. It may not be much, but worth asking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trumanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here since we were attending a softball tournament and could not find a room in Herkimer. The hotel room was recently redone, and very clean. Micro-fridge was an asset. Front lobby staff were very attentive. We did not have a blow dryer, but upon request they gave us one to use immediately delivering to the room. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyM0m2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I was on a business trip through upstate New York and I found myself with an extra day of downtime. I hadn't planned on being in Utica so finding the Red Roof Inn there was a happy accident.

The room was clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and very helpful (returning from dinner I had misplaced my room key)

I was so impressed with the accommodations that stayed an extra night.

I'll be back in the Utica area soon and plan on staying there on my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We have stayed here a couple of times now, and it is such a nice motel. The rooms have always been immaculate, and the property well taken care of. It is right off the Thruway, close to downtown and lots of places to eat. The rates are super reasonable. WIFI is good too. The only thing I would change is on-site breakfast would be awesome, but there are lots of places close to get that. And for dinner-try the pizza place at the end of the driveway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowlvr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here to break up the drive from Toronto to Cape Cod. We were greeted by pleasant and helpful motel staff who really make every effort to make your stay enjoyable. The motel lobby is very inviting, very clean and modern. We appreciated the complimentary coffee station and all the other amenities which enhance the customer experience. At this price ($60 on a Wednesday), it was so much more than I would have expected. We were given a quiet room at the back on the second floor, and it was exactly as promised...and more. The room smelled fresh and was extremely clean. They have done a major renovation on this property and it shows. Virtually everything in the room looked new, right down to the taps, light fixtures, carpet, granite bathroom counter, furrniture, bedding and bath/shower area. There was a room safe, the air conditioner worked well, and free wi-fi. (Although they should secure their connection! ha ha) All in all it was a great choice and I would definitely stay here again. Shout out to the tripadvisor member who suggested the "room saver" magazine at the service areas. I clipped the $59.99 coupon which was cheerfully accepted at this motel.

Room Tip: If you need first floor, ask for it when making the reservation. Second floor rooms require taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ko-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Utica

Property: Red Roof Inn Utica
Address: 20 Weaver St, Utica, NY 13502-2515
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Utica 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Utica
Utica Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing