We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with excellent breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice on business trips to the Utica area and have had pleasant experiences both times. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable, clean and nicely decorated, the location is quiet, and the breakfast buffets are excellent, with numerous fresh options. The bar is also very good and a great place to hang out with colleagues in the evenings. It's also nice that the parking is covered and there is an enclosed walkway from the garage to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pittsburghproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 588 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed there multiple times. Always clean, convenient, professional. Best part - covered parking and freshly made breakfast. No synthetic eggs and frozen waffles. Wifi is fast enough. Ask for the room on 6 th floor, great view of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My family and I stay here every year to celebrate Christmas and we love it. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. Food is always fantastic, we had room service and ate in the dining room for other meals. Our only disappointment was the pool area. The water was clean but the surrounding area was pretty gross, obviously hadn't been swept in awhile. Overall though, a great playce to stay and we'll definitely be back again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatetheGreat_830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I made a reservation for a conference at this hotel through their corporate reservation staff and cancelled it there as well due to severe weather. They were polite & said there would be no charge because it was cancelled in the allotted time. I wrote down the date & time and thought all was well. One week after the cancelled stay my credit card was charged. I won't go into all the details here, but will say I spoke to one of the rudest women I've ever encountered at a hotel. She refused to look up the reservation, kept calling me by someone else's name, said I was a no-show and a liar - refused to refund and hung up on me. I'm really kind of glad it snowed and definitely will not be staying at this property again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank amethyst1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at this Radisson on a business trip to Utica. The hotel was easy to find, even in when it was snowing hard! The hotel has FREE covered parking (yay!) and an indoor walkway to the hotel entrance. So, nice. Check in was fast and efficient. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The bathroom is the only negative. It is pretty small and the shower head needed some updating. I think it was supposed to be a pulsating shower, but the pulsating part didn't work very well. Internet was fast and easy to connect. Breakfast was great! Great service and selection. I didn't dine at the hotel, and there is only one place that I saw within walking distance to eat, and it was a pub. So, be prepared to drive somewhere for find dinner. The gym is new and nice as well. They do have sleep number beds here, which, I'm not really a fan, but still slept comfortably. I will be back on business again and will most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I had to stay at this hotel because my meeting was here and it was booked through others. But this is such an outdated hotel. There is radiators in your rooms that will bang all night to heat your room. The room I had was so large, unnecessarily so, considering that the bathroom is ridiculously small that the door just misses the toilet. And my floor had toilet paper bits on it that I didn't notice until later. And then when I flushed the toilet I knew why. The toilet kept backing up. Fortunately it was a quick stay and I am now about to check out. But it seems that unless the room wasn't cleaned they would have known. There is also old beds with some control for firmness of mattress that didn't make it comfortable. But the only good thing I can say is the staff were pleasant and kind.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the problems you encountered while staying at our hotel. We take your comments very seriously and will use them for training and improve our standards and address areas that need attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in connection with a college program that required me to be in Utica for a few days. The college offered a special rate, so I'm guessing this was probably the best deal for decent lodging in the area.

I was initially OK with the $7 parking fee being tacked onto my hotel bill, seeing as how it was covered parking, with the going rate posted at $12/day (cash -- no credit cards). However, after noticing each morning that the parking lot exit was unattended, it didn't seem like such a great deal. I believe the parking fee is primarily aimed at downtown workers who need to park in the garage during the normal 8-5 workday hours.

My room was fairly comfortable, with the exception of the heating/cooling system. I had no problem adjusting the room temperature, but the fan was rather loud, and there was no way to completely turn it off. I ultimately decided to set the fan to low, so that it would run all the time, instead of the "auto" setting, which disturbed my sleep as the fan noisily turned on/off throughout the night.

I had 2 minor issues regarding cleanliness of the room: When I first arrived, I noticed a leftover cardboard Bud Light box sitting under one of the chairs that was apparently overlooked by housekeeping. I also noticed that one of the drinking glasses that was replaced in the bathroom on my second day there had some stuck-on stuff on the outside.

I was happy with the selection of TV programming in my room. So often at moderately priced hotels the selection of TV stations is extremely limited, but this was not the case at the Radisson.

I did use the pool during my stay, and it was fine. The pool temp was nice and warm, with depth ranging from 3-5 feet. There is also a hot tub and a fitness room, neither of which I tried.

I did not eat at the restaurant or drink at the bar at this location, so I cannot comment on those. There is a very good restaurant/pub about 2 blocks down the street (Swifty's) that has a great selection of beers. I also enjoyed happy hour at Griffin's (Irish) bar, only about half a block away.

All in all, I would certainly consider staying here again if I need to visit downtown Utica, but based on my experience (as well as listening to the experiences of my colleagues at the college), it seems to be hit and miss in terms of cleanliness and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidCocomazzi, General Manager at Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I certainly appreciate your honest and fair response regarding your recent stay. I have spoken with our Executive Housekeeper and we are going to continue to make room inspections our number one priority.

I am happy to see you that you enjoy some of the local eateries within walking distance of the hotel.

Again thank you for taking time out of your school schedule to reach out to us.

Enjoy your day,

David Cocomazzi, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
748 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Utica
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre

Address: 200 Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-4327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range: $100 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your escape to the Radisson Utica Centre, a premier hotel located in the majestic New York Adirondacks. Here, you can enjoy comfortable accommodations and outstanding amenities like an indoor pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center and newly upgraded, complimentary Wi-Fi, which allows you to work throughout the hotel. The Radisson is conveniently situated just minutes from Utica Business Park and major area attractions like the Adirondack Scenic Railroad, the Saranac Brewery and the Stanley Performing Arts Center. If you feel like exploring in Utica, NY, allow our hotel's on-site concierge to assist you with expert recommendations and arrangements. With flexible meeting facilities, a well-equipped business center and an inviting restaurant and lounge, the Radisson Utica Centre has everything you need for a pleasant and rewarding stay. There is a $7 per day parking fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre Hotel Utica
Radisson Utica
Utica Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing