We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous - stay here whenever I'm in Utica!”
Review of Hampton Inn Utica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Utica
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
cmtcounselor
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fabulous - stay here whenever I'm in Utica!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Have stayed in this Hampton Inn numerous times and have never been disappointed. The staff is friendly, warm and welcoming. The accomodations are always sparkling clean. Breakfast and the snacks (soup, cheese & crackers and cookies) in the late afternoon/evening are delicious. Not one negative thing to say about this hotel. Everytime I am in Utica, my family and I stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmtcounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Zarnoch, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We are constantly striving to maintain our number 1 spot here on TripAdvisor. Every employee here feels strongly about our hotel and making this a special spot for people to travel to. We appreciate your recognition and look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    182
    55
    21
    15
See reviews for
281
142
46
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stumbled upon this hotel late at night with the kids and were pleasantly surprised. The staff were so nice and the place was very nice. Clean and free breakfast was great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bostonbruinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Zarnoch, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
We are so glad you found your way to our hotel. We are a great stopping point being located right off of I-90, the NYS Thruway. I am glad to see our staff made you feel welcomed and that you were able to enjoy our hearty breakfast in the morning. Hopefully next time you are in the area you will be able to get here a little earlier to enjoy our nightly evening receptions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My mother and I drove up from Boston to go to a music festival in Frankfort, NY this past weekend (July 29th and July 30th). We did research online to find a hotel that wouldn't be far for us to stay at to go to the festival. When we saw the reviews online for the Hampton Inn and saw that it wasn't far to go to the festival, we decided to book a room there for the weekend. As a bonus, since we booked more than 2 weeks ahead, we booked the room for less money.

When we got to the Hampton Inn, we were not disappointed. From the moment we walked in to check-in, the staff was friendly and very accommodating. Our room was very clean and comfortable.

There was a lot to choose from for breakfast. Brenda was very pleasant and kept the kitchen area well stocked and very clean.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to be travelling to Utica, NY.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claysoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Zarnoch, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
I am so glad that you took the time to read the reviews on TripAdvisor before making your decision on which hotel to stay at in the area. As our reviews show we pride ourselves on clean, comfortable rooms with excellent customer service too! We like to think you will not find another hotel in the area with all that we have to offer. We hope you enjoyed the music festival, I heard it was a great time! Brenda will be excited to see your nice comments as she gets put on our "wall of fame"! Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back next year if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickinson, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and three grown children traveled from North Dakota to see family and friends and the staff here at Hampton Inn of Utica made our stay a truly delightful experience. We were greeted with a warm smile upon arrival, attended to in any and all of our needs, and enjoyed the free snacks/desserts provided by the hotel daily. The entire staff should be commended on their attentiveness, courtesy to guests, and professionalism. The hotel was very clean and the cleaning staff was attentive in providing our room with extra towels/blankets and pillows.
We would highly reccommend this hotel to everyone that needs vacation/work accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissapav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Zarnoch, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
How nice to see that you traveled to town to visit family and friends and were welcomed as part of our Hampton family too! We like to welcome each and every one of our guests into our Hampton home. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took care of all of your needs. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Bite into a free Good Humor ice cream for everyone in your party at check-in. This is a chain hotel (our favorite) with a small-town vibe. You'll feel welcome and relieved that you've chosen the right spot, especially after a long haul. Bed was one of the most comfortable on our week's vacation. Toilet tissue was in an odd spot - not within reach of the toilet, but that's just poor planning. The room was spotless. Breakfast was generous (stay away from the rubbery waffles, however), and the staff was awesome: accommodating and delightful; the perfect team to wake up to. The only drawback was the price: even with my AAA discount, a single king room on a Friday night came to roughly $173 - about $25 too much for this location.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetowrite50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Zarnoch, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel. We pride ourselves on clean, comfortable accommodations while welcoming our guests into our "Hampton Home". Throughout the summer months our little town sees much activity, from various events in the area to frequent travelers or just a stopping point after a long day of travel. We price ourselves in accordance with these area events. Thank you for bringing to my attention the waffles, my suspicion is the batter was too watery. I will make sure we take care of this, because when it is done right...mmm they are absolutely delicious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Researched several chain hotels/motels in the area and am glad I chose this hotel for its outstanding cleanliness and convenience. Room and bath were spotless. Bathroom larger than most chains; fresh duvets were provided for the beds. Room had flat screen and ample area/connections for computer. Manager's complimentary afternoon snacks were fresh fruit, cheese, crackers, and a hot hor d'oeurve. Dessert (complimentary) served after 7 pm. Breakfast buffet is great for travelers and families as there is something for everyone: cereals, yogurt, make your own waffles, bagels, seasonal fruit, and hot items (eggs, meat, potatoes), and a variety of coffees. There was ample seating, or you could take your breakfast back to your room. Free internet in lobby. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramblinroz2527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Zarnoch, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Wow, your comments about our hotel are great and I don't think I could have said it better myself. I am glad to see that you got a chance to enjoy all the added benefits we offer here at the Hampton Inn, Utica. I hope you got a chance to enjoy a complimentary ice cream during your stay too, If not we'll give you two next time! Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dilliyo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for two nights while in town for a family function and it was perfectly acceptable. The room was large, clean, had a nice modern television, and was very quiet. While Utica is a small town the hotel is in a local with plenty of local dining and shopping options nearby. The price seemed a bit high for the area, but considering the other lodging options I'm glad I paid a bit more. If my travels bring me through Utica in the future I will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilliyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Zarnoch, General Manager at Hampton Inn Utica, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We like to think of ourselves as the best hotel in the area offering the most in amenities to our guests. From our nightly evening reception with plenty of munchies, to our hearty complimentary breakfast, during these hot summer days a nice cool ice cream and above all else our Hampton family who prides themselves on the best customer service in town! We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
0.9 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Utica

Property: Hampton Inn Utica
Address: 172 N Genesee St # 180, Utica, NY 13502-2510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel specializes in delivering customer service that is second to none! Complimentary hot breakfast bar, bottles of water, dvd rental, business center, evening reception of appetizers, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Utica Hotel Utica
Utica Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing