We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No longer pet friendly” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No longer pet friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

We used to stay at this hotel all the time when we traveled from NH to Western NY but this time when we stopped we were informed that they no longer accept pets as guests. What a shame as the dog show used to recommend this hotel. Oh well after reading some of the reviews we were better off not staying here anyway. We went down the road and stayed at the Red Roof.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Singleandhavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    108
    88
    33
    18
See reviews for
117
87
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

Room had that musty smell and the bathroom could have been cleaner. Old air conditioner -- the room was either stuffy or freezing. Good thing we were only staying one night. The "free" breakfast was very disappointing. We took one look and opted to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GretchenGoodWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halton Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2008

Stopped here with another couple on our way to Boston for a hockey game. When we arrived we checked in with no problems. When we went to our room the front desk guy forgot to swipe our room keys so they didn't work. Oh well stuff happens.

The room was clean and spacious but the decor was still from the early seventies. The bed was comfortable for the price. Now for the negative part. It was by far the noisiest room I have ever been in. The heating unit sounded like a jet plane taking off everytime it went on. I jumped out of bed a couple of times when it did. The walls are paper thin and you can hear other guests in the hall.

To sum it up, if you are a sound sleeper this is a great hotel , if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs or drink. Other than the noise issue it was a good hotel but if we do travel that way again we would definately seek out other options.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from other guests and in room.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Magicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2007

If you're reading this review you are probably aware that the UCA airport has closed and all corporate traffic is now flying into RME. You probably also know that Rome has very little in the way of affordable mid-scale lodging.

I selected the Best Western Adirondack without being aware that it was a 20+ minute drive from RME. All-in-all the hotel was average. My room was clean, if a bit musty. Television might have been an antique. Hotel has free breakfast and a business center (1 computer with internet access).

McDonalds and Wendy's are in the parking lot. A steakhouse next-door. Remember to pick up lunch before heading back to RME -- there's a whole lot of NOTHING out at the airport. (old airforce base)

  • Liked — Free breakfast
  • Disliked — Old, musty, in need of renovation
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S/W Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

Musty rooms, quote one price charged another.....bathrooms everything needs to be redone...............arrogant staff

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Paidtoomuchtoooften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2006

Sorry but I don't agree with the previous reviews on this hotel. I stayed here with my family for one night (17 July) and found the facilities more than adequate. The room was clean, reasonably sized and just what you would expect from a Best Western. We had no problems with the air con and no problems with the staff. The hotel is ideally situated for eating and reasonably priced. There's a Wendy's, McDonalds and an Italian within waliking distance of the hotel(well on the driveway actually). The complimentary breakfast was also excellent. I would certainly stay here again and would recomend it to others. But I didn't suck the ice.(Why would you!!!)If your're staying here make sure you visit Fort Stanwix in Rome. Well worth a visit even if you're a "Brit"

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

I booked a room here for the night before the Boilermaker race in July. Given the room rate ($163 in Utica NY) I expected it to be a pretty nice place to stay. Upon close inspection, it looks like a one story motor inn that has been reinvented by glassing in the room entrances and updating the lobby. However, when you enter the room, you would think you were in a budget motel. The bathroom was tiny with green tile reminiscent of the 50s. The ice from the ice machine had funny taste to it. It was clean and we were comfortable, but I felt like I had wasted my money.

The other thing that irritated me was that the front desk clerk informed us that the free continental breakfast started at 7 am, even though the majority of the guests staying there (for the Boilermaker race) would need to depart long before 7 am. Subsequently we ate breakfast at McDonalds (conveniently adjacent to the motel), only to return to the motel at 6 am and find the continental breakfast in full swing. Obviously the evening desk clerk wasn't fully informed.

This is a decent motel which I would stay in again if the price was lower. Given the quality of the rooms, I felt it was overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LilyOgdensburgNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.8 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
Address: 175 N Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel Utica
Best Western Utica
Utica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing