We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great Overnight Stop”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Travelling as a pair, we were relieved to have found this hotel. We had been on the road all day driving from Cleveland when we decided to pull off around Utica, it was a Thursday night and quite late, the first hotel we tried claimed to be fully booked - despite there being a fairly empty car park and when we later did a check, found rooms online! I won't mention names.

Nevertheless we decided to try the BW Gateway next and we were greeted warmly by the lady at the front desk who offered us a room with two queens at a good rate. I happily accepted.

The hotel maybe starting to show it's age around the edges but it has all that you might need. Our room was on the ground floor facing the driveway. The beds were clean, and the bathroom was well appointed.

As it was quite late we decided to order a pizza from the in room menu, which was delivered straight to our bedroom door.

In all, the hotel has all you might require from an overnight stop, plenty of parking, absolutely loads of places to eat all around, and the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rusholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review on your recent stay at our property. We are so glad that we could provide you with a room that was clean and comfortable for you. We pride ourselves in customer service here at Best Western and are happy that we provided you with great service! We hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in the area again.

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    113
    93
    37
    21
See reviews for
127
91
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Gateway Adirondack Best Western in Utica. It was clean, nice decor, with easy access to the rooms. Most are on the first floor. It is well located off the Thruway and close to a number of restaurants, both casual and fast food. Our stay, as a number before, was excellent with easy in and easy out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review of your recent stay at our property. We are so happy that we could provide you with comfortable accomodations while you stayed here. Again, thank you so much for staying with us, and we hope to see you when you return to Utica!

Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very comfortable and relaxing during a lengthy road trip. Staff most accomodating plus very informative of local eateries. Their pleasant demeaner made us feel at home. Room size was important since us older folk seem to need more room for mobility ease.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind response of our hotel! We are so happy that we could provide you with a comfortable and relaxing stay during your road trip! We here at the Best Western pride ourselves in our customer service and we have a great staff who are always going the extra mile to accomodate our guests! Again, thank you so much for staying with us, and we hope to see you again if you are ever in the area!


Thank you

Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

At 2:30 am the HVAC system started to make a lot of noise and part of the ceiling came crashing down! Staff indicated that someone would look into the problem the next day, after we had checked out. We would not use this location but go to a different hotel and pay a little more for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at our property! I truly do apologize for this incident that took place while you were staying at our property. Rest assured, our maintenance department has repaired the HVAC system and everything is in proper working order. Although you mentioned you would not use this location again, we would love to have you come back and give us another try to make your stay outstanding. Should you wish to book with us again, please contact me directly at 315.732.4121 and I will be glad to help you!


Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Polite front desk help, room was clean, beds and pillows were comfortable. Nice surprise to find nice thick towels.
Breakfast was pretty standard fare, yogurt, cereals, muffins, bagels, tray of cold waffles, sausage, eggs, 2% milk only, juices, fresh fruit (apples, oranges), coffee, tea. Large eating area with tv.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatsoutagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay at our property! We are so glad to hear that we could provide you with comfortable and clean accommodations. We are also glad to hear that we have been able to show you how outstanding our customer service is at the property! Our breakfast room is one of the larger breakfast areas within the Utica area, and we get many compliments on this particular area! We hope to see you again!


Thank you
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a very pleasant hotel, and good accommodations. The room was clean and satisfactory. The front desk staff (only staff with which I came in contact) was very pleasant and helpful, and there were plenty of good family restaurants, particularly Delmonicos (Italian and steak in a Frank Sinatra setting) next door. The morning breakfast was OK. Overall, a great value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chuck E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind review about our property during your recent stay here! On behalf of myself and our entire Best Western team, we are so pleased that we could make your stay an enjoyable one. We pride ourselves in customer service and I work closely with each of my Front Desk agents to go above and beyond when needed! Our housekeeping staff is a great bunch of cleaners that know how to make the room as clean as can be! Again, thank you for your review, and we hope to see you at our hotel the next time you are in Utica!

Thank you

Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed one night at the Best Western in Utica, New York and was disappointed with the overall condition of the facility which appeared "old and tired" despite a new appearance on the front and entrance. We were assigned a room in the Annex section of the facility and found that both fron and back entrance doors had electronic locks which did not function - in fact the back door was held open with a stone - needless to say this left us with a question about our security as anyone could enter the facility at any time..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank caperOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so very much for reviewing our property in regards to your recent stay here. We here at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn care very much about our guests security while here at our facility, and are working with our locking company in order to get both locks fixed. We have a technician coming out today to actually fix both doors and we are hopeful that this will solve the problem that we have been having. We hope that you will consider us again when coming into the area, so we can better serve you with customer service as well as security.

Thank you again
Kayla White
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.8 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn

Property: Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Address: 175 N Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel Utica
Best Western Utica
Utica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing