We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Older hotel but better than I thought.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Older hotel but better than I thought.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here on our way home from Boston. It is a little tired looking on the outside and I wasn't sure what kind of a room we would get. However, I was pleasantly surprised as the room was clean and nice. The bathroom was a little bit small but adequate with a nice shower and I especially liked the nice big fluffy towels. It was very quiet at night and the front desk staff were friendly.
The breakfast was very good, with a nice assortment of breakfast items, fruit, yogurt, waffles(not make your own) but still good, eggs, cereal, juice , coffee, pastries ect.
The room was a little bit cold however and I felt the beds could have used a bigger comforter on top. Other than that is was quite adequate for an overnight stay on our way home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazza97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    104
    87
    32
    18
See reviews for
114
86
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is in a good location. There were several restaurants close by, one of which was Denny's. The service was fast, the restaurant clean, and the wait staff very friendly. There's also a McDonald's in the parking lot.

We stayed in room 329. The room was very clean, but very basic for the price charged. I thought the price was a little high. Bed was very firm, too firm, which was not good for my bad back; therefore, I got about three hours' sleep. The bathroom was tiny, but clean. It was a really good thing I brought shampoo and conditioner, because there were no toiletries other than soap.

Probably the biggest negative for me was that when the door to the room was closed, there was a loud sound of whooshing air from the glass-enclosed hallway. It appears the rooms once opened directly to the outside, like a one-floor motel, and were then enclosed. It created a lot of negative pressure in the hall, which made the room noisy and it was difficult to open and close the door. It also caused a lot of cool air to be forced into the room under the door. That was actually a plus for us, because the AC unit would only push out warm air no matter what setting or temperature we set it to. So I guess we had "alternative air conditioning".

To sum it up, it was clean and convenient, just not comfortable, which is why I think it was priced a little high. Under 100.00/night would be more reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLfan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Room was great, very clean, housekeeping staff was extremely nice, very accomodating however the front desk staff could NOT have been more rude. I would not choose to stay here again simply for that reason.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovinfall08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review on your recent stay at our hotel. I am so happy that we could provide you with a clean and comfortable room. I am very disappointed to hear that our front desk was not being customer service friendly! I will make sure that I address this matter immediately. I do hope that you stay with us again if you are ever in the area so we can show you just how friendly we can be!

Thank you,
John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice and clean hotel. However they advertise free breakfast and come 7:00 am there were 75 people crammed into a space for 25. We had to walk across the street for breakfast at Denny's.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lovetochew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our property. We are so happy that we could meet your expectations and provide you with a nice clean room! I do apologize that you were not able to enjoy our free breakfast. At times we do experience large teams that do come down at once to enjoy the breakfast. I do hope you will stay with us again if you are in the area and hope that you can enjoy the breakfast!

Thank you,
John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed for three nights on a recent trip for a class reunion. The A/C performed poorly. 98 degrees outside, very warm inside. We were provided fans that just pushed the warm air arround. We were offered to move to another building (2nd floor room) with no elevator. Upon complaining we were given a $25 credit for three nights at $90 each night. I spoke with Asst. Manager, Mr. Welch, when I returned home. He offered another $40. We feel that one night free would have been satisfactory. However, after being verbally berrated by Mr. Welch I hung up and called Best Western Corp. They were sympathetic and and gave us the $25.00. I will never stay in the motel again and will be sure that anyone I know in Utica will know about the outdated motel that exists. Go the extra $25 to $40 and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: My tip to choose a good room is go to another motel. We have stayed at many Best Western's and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariettatraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review about your stay at our property. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Our maintenance department did check the unit to make sure it was working properly and it was. We did infact offer to move you on two different occasions during your stay to better accomodate you, but each time you did not want to move. During your third night here, we had no complaints from your room about the air conditioner not working. You checked out with us on a Sunday and a $25 plus tax discount was provided for the inconvience of the room not being cool enough for you. We did not hear anything again until Thursday morning. Mr. Welch spoke to all involved with your situation and found that the air was working properly and that fans were provided to you to circulate the cool air around the room since you did not want to move to another room. An additional $40 plus tax was taken off of your bill for a total of $65 plus tax total off of your bill. We again apologize for any problems you may have encountered.

Thank you

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Utica hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Arrived at 2:45 and was told that my room wasn't ready. Seemed a bit odd since the parking lot was deserted, checking in 15 minutes early exactly early and there ought to have been a room available. The lobby smelled bad. Returned at 3:30 to be checked in by a nice desk clerk with no problem. The room was decent and clean. No real complaints. The free breakfast was minimal and basic. I think the only reason they can get away with charging so much is the location. The room and amenties weren't worth the average price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent review of our property. Our check in time is at 3pm. If your room is ready beforehand we are glad to check you in. We our currently in our busy season and have been filling up on a daily basis and are working to get our guest rooms cleaned and ready to go before check in time. We are sorry that we were unable to accomdate an early check in. Our breakfast consists of waffles, sausage, eggs, cereal, yogurt, muffins, oatmeal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. We welcome any suggestions that can help to improve our breakfast. Again thank you for your review.

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western for just one night and we were very pleased with our visit. Although as another reviewer mentioned, the motel has some age to it, the rooms were very clean and the overall look of the motel was comfortable and welcoming. We were especially pleased with the hotel staff, both when making the reservation and during our visit. We needed two rooms and the staff lady I spoke to on the phone volunteered that they would try to get our rooms close together, even though she couldn't guarantee it. Not only were they close, they were adjoining rooms with a doorway in between, perfect for our needs! The free breakfast we had in the morning was very nice - a large room with plenty of tables and a good variety of food. Based on our experience, I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay at our property. We are so happy that we could provide comfortable, welcoming and clean accomdations for you and your party. We strive to provide superior customer service and train all of our staff to helpful and accomdating to our guests. We do have connecting rooms withing some areas of the hotel and are so pleased that we were able to provide you with these rooms to meet your needs. We have made several changes to our breakfast within the past few months and are continuing to look and make changes wherever neccessary. We hope that we can accomdate you again if you are ever in the Utica area.

Thank you,

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
Address: 175 N Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel Utica
Best Western Utica
Utica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing