We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend to anyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would not recommend to anyone!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed for three nights on a recent trip for a class reunion. The A/C performed poorly. 98 degrees outside, very warm inside. We were provided fans that just pushed the warm air arround. We were offered to move to another building (2nd floor room) with no elevator. Upon complaining we were given a $25 credit for three nights at $90 each night. I spoke with Asst. Manager, Mr. Welch, when I returned home. He offered another $40. We feel that one night free would have been satisfactory. However, after being verbally berrated by Mr. Welch I hung up and called Best Western Corp. They were sympathetic and and gave us the $25.00. I will never stay in the motel again and will be sure that anyone I know in Utica will know about the outdated motel that exists. Go the extra $25 to $40 and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: My tip to choose a good room is go to another motel. We have stayed at many Best Western's and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariettatraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review about your stay at our property. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Our maintenance department did check the unit to make sure it was working properly and it was. We did infact offer to move you on two different occasions during your stay to better accomodate you, but each time you did not want to move. During your third night here, we had no complaints from your room about the air conditioner not working. You checked out with us on a Sunday and a $25 plus tax discount was provided for the inconvience of the room not being cool enough for you. We did not hear anything again until Thursday morning. Mr. Welch spoke to all involved with your situation and found that the air was working properly and that fans were provided to you to circulate the cool air around the room since you did not want to move to another room. An additional $40 plus tax was taken off of your bill for a total of $65 plus tax total off of your bill. We again apologize for any problems you may have encountered.

Thank you

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    110
    91
    36
    19
See reviews for
123
88
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Arrived at 2:45 and was told that my room wasn't ready. Seemed a bit odd since the parking lot was deserted, checking in 15 minutes early exactly early and there ought to have been a room available. The lobby smelled bad. Returned at 3:30 to be checked in by a nice desk clerk with no problem. The room was decent and clean. No real complaints. The free breakfast was minimal and basic. I think the only reason they can get away with charging so much is the location. The room and amenties weren't worth the average price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent review of our property. Our check in time is at 3pm. If your room is ready beforehand we are glad to check you in. We our currently in our busy season and have been filling up on a daily basis and are working to get our guest rooms cleaned and ready to go before check in time. We are sorry that we were unable to accomdate an early check in. Our breakfast consists of waffles, sausage, eggs, cereal, yogurt, muffins, oatmeal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. We welcome any suggestions that can help to improve our breakfast. Again thank you for your review.

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western for just one night and we were very pleased with our visit. Although as another reviewer mentioned, the motel has some age to it, the rooms were very clean and the overall look of the motel was comfortable and welcoming. We were especially pleased with the hotel staff, both when making the reservation and during our visit. We needed two rooms and the staff lady I spoke to on the phone volunteered that they would try to get our rooms close together, even though she couldn't guarantee it. Not only were they close, they were adjoining rooms with a doorway in between, perfect for our needs! The free breakfast we had in the morning was very nice - a large room with plenty of tables and a good variety of food. Based on our experience, I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay at our property. We are so happy that we could provide comfortable, welcoming and clean accomdations for you and your party. We strive to provide superior customer service and train all of our staff to helpful and accomdating to our guests. We do have connecting rooms withing some areas of the hotel and are so pleased that we were able to provide you with these rooms to meet your needs. We have made several changes to our breakfast within the past few months and are continuing to look and make changes wherever neccessary. We hope that we can accomdate you again if you are ever in the Utica area.

Thank you,

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Out dated hotel made up of different buildings. We booked a group of rooms and all were clean. Our room had teal bathroom tiles but very clean. We were disappointed that when we doubled checked the night before about having all of our rooms together they said that would fine and then our party was split between two building.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Slanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review on your recent stay at our property. We are so pleased to hear that we have achieved our goal of providing comfortable and clean accomdations for you and the rest of your group. We do apologize for not being able to keep your group together in one building. We do our best to try and keep all group members together but there are times were something comes up and we have no choice but to move some members. Again, thank you for the review and we hope we can accomdate you if you are ever in the area again!

Thank you,

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Convenient to the New York Thruway. Clean room and nice breakfast area. Agree with another review, in that, the restaurant next door provided great Italian fare. Would stay here again when in the area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear James,

Thank you very much for the nice review in regards to your recent stay at our property. We have made several changes to our breakfast within the past few months in order to gain more customer satisfaction with our breakfast offerings. We are so very pleased that we achieved our goal of providing clean, comfortable accomdations for our guests. We hope you will consider us again if you are ever in the area again!

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for the past two years. It is among the lowest priced hotels in the area during boilermaker weekend. The accommodations are comfortable and clean and fairly economical. The air conditioning is supreme! The service is fantastic.
We rebooked our room for the following year on Boilermaker Weekend as we checked out this year. We are guaranteed the same rate! How cool is that!
Bummer: no pool.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite. I recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barron1664, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Heather,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review about your recent stay at our property. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations with our service and accomodations. Boilermaker is a busy time for everyone here in Utica and we are so glad that you continue to choose us here at the Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn! We look forward to seeing you next year for the Boilermaker and we will have the Suite ready for you!

Thank you again,

John Barron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Right off the through 90 way. Kind of small and has an older feel. No pool. Small beds. Seemingly caring desk attendant. Best part, great italian restaurant next door.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLily11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our property. If we can ever accomdate you again while in the area we will be glad to assist you! We hope to see you again!

John Barron
Asst. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.8 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn

Property: Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Address: 175 N Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel Utica
Best Western Utica
Utica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing