We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stop on muitiday Erie canal cycling trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Reviewed July 22, 2011

It has been a while since I stayed at a Best Western so I was a little unsure what to expect. Our room was clean and comfortable and the AC made nice continuous white noise without turning on/off all night long, I wish all hotel units made continuous white noise. The ground level rooms were easy for rolling of bicycle into the room.

The hotel is very close to the Erie canal trail head (1/4 mil?) so you don't need to go into town.

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived hot and sweaty around 2:30ish but the desk worked diligently to find us a room that was. You really appreciate getting to your room and shower when bicycle touring.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCwom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barron1664, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Thank you very much for posting a review about your recent stay at our property. We are very happy that we were able to make your stay very comfortable during your Erie Canal cycling trip! We try our best to accommodate every customer that comes in early to get them into an available room that is ready to go. Again, thank you for your review as well as staying with us! We hope to see you again!

John P. Barron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 378 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed in Best Western before but this hotel is very ancient. All the facilities are poor, even the towels (threats are loose and the colour is not tracable). The gentleman at the reception tried his utmost to give the best service but I feel that he is the only one who is responsible for many problems (technical, reservation, information etc). The breakfast is ok. Sufficient parking space.
For a stopover it is a perfect location. Across the hotel enough fastfood facilities: Pizza Hut, McDonalds, Subway, Taco Bell and may more....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barron1664, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

I would like to thank you for your review about our property. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We have been making many upgrades in our property within the past few years. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

John P. Barron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Hotel is old and worn, carpet is dated, ac/heater is noisey and the security doors are very suspect. Beds are not comfortable and the 'instant' 'free' breakfast has much to be desired. There is a much newer Hampton across the street that is competively priced. I presented a corporate discount car at check-in and the clerk accepted it! Upon check-out my bill was the higher price. The manager would not honor his employee accepting the discount although no other hotel in over three years had had a problem with it. VERY poor business and customer service!! Watch your bill!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hondaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barron1664, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

In regards to your review of our property, we have discussed with you multiple times on why we can not accept your corporate discount card at that particular time. We have even contacted the corporate discount card company to verify the rules of the card. Our front desk worker did the right thing by taking both payment methods when you checked in since she was not sure. In regards to our "instant" breakfast, we have received many compliments on our breakfast set up and if you have any suggestions to make it more suitable to your liking please contact us and let us know, we are always taking suggestions for breakfast ideas!

John P. Barron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Hotel is older and heater/ac unit is noisey, carpet is worn and dated, and facility is just old. There is a much newer Hampton across the street for the same kind of money!.. WE were overcharged here and the manager was rude and hostile towards me in not honoring my discount card price(as ALL others had before him for over three years). Definitely the worst manager and facility(for the price) WE have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hondaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWgateway1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All feedback is important to us. Sorry that your recent visit with us was not good, We do apologize about the heating/ac unit being noisy. Our rates do fluctuate and usually on the weekends the rate can be higher than weekdays. Any discounts are available applied at the time of booking with certain booking channels only and restrictions may apply. Keep in mind that Hampton across the street always 50.00 to 80.00 dollars higher than our rates. Hope in the near future you can give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Very nice room, tho small. Very clean and beds extremely comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. A definite return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuntingtonJunieMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barron1664, General Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of our property. We appreciate your business and I hope the next time you are in the area we see you again. I will definately pass this on to our housekeeping staff. Thank you very much again for staying with us.

John P. Barron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed in separate non smoking building. Glass doors very dirty, as was trash can by them. Room appeared OK, until you touched a light switch or temp control. All very sticky & dirty, so I used Handi Wipes on them. Grundge! Dirty carpet, too, They were badly in need of a make over. Awful breakfast. Waffles too hard to chew. Don't know how they made them that way? Frozen eggs & muffins you could microwave, but didn't see anyone daring enough to try them. Not very appetizing to look at. Ran out of orange juice and never brought more. So had a couple packaged sweet rolls & tomato juice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Doolittlespots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barron1664, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at our property. We apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. We are continuously making upgrades throughout our property to modernize the hotel. We address all housekeeping issues with the executive housekeeper and I can assure you that these issues will be addressed. Our muffins and waffles are all made the morning of breakfast they are never frozen. We would appreciate hearing any suggestions you may have to help us improve out breakfast selections. Again, I apologize for not meeting your expectations and we hope that you will give us another try when you come into town again.

John P. Barron
Front Office Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We had planned to drive through to Boston (or failing that, Albany) but sheer exhaustion hit me when driving through Utica. After a terrible experience at Super 8 Niagra Falls the night before I was hoping for "a step up".

Very friendly girl on check-in - we didn't have a reservation and as it was quite late at night she gave us a discount on the room. Compared to Super 8, this room was a palace and ended up being cheaper than the Super 8 hovel. Quiet, clean, the bed was comfortable and the room fully equipped and spacious.

Plenty of parking, the breakfast was above average (not wonderful, but definitely acceptable), good-sized dining area, friendly staff throughout.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_prebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barron1664, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay at our property. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your liking at the property. We would love to hear your opinions about any new ideas for our breakfast buffet if you get a chance. We take pride in our property and we continue to make updates throughout our property. We hope to see you on your next visit to Utica!

John P. Barron
Front Office Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn

Address: 175 N Genesee St, Utica, NY 13502-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range: $97 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel Utica
Best Western Utica
Utica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing