We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Schultz and Dooley Live On!”

Saranac Brewery Tour
Ranked #1 of 5 Food & Drink in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Schultz and Dooley Live On!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had never gone on the F.X. Matt Brewery tour in Utica, NY. It was a most enjoyable experience. Starting with the gift shop, the Small but quaint museum, to the walking tour through the brewery, everyone seemed to have a great time. Up in the tasting rooms we got to see the old TV commercials featuring Schultz and Dooley, the talking steins and all their friends. The best part, of course, was the sampling room. We got to taste 2 full glasses of anything they brewed. At $5.00, it was the bargain of the trip. They brew Saranac Beers, root-beer and Utica Club beer. Yes, Schultz and Dooley followed us home! Be sure you call for tour times and reservations

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    30
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best Brewery Tour Ever!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A tour of this brewery, including the generous and enjoyable sampling of the products at the end, is a must for any beer lover. (We found this a fitting conclusion to our tour of the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, an hour away.)

In reality, this is the F.X. Matt Brewery, which brews Saranac, Utica Club and others.

The tour of the brewery is extensive, and includes a detailed history of F.X. Matt Brewing Company. While a little light on the technical aspects of the brewing process, most on the tour were not aware of this.

The real highlight was the sampling of brews at the end. We each received chits for two full bottles of any brew available, and the tour guide was not reluctant to indulge anyone who wanted to sample more. We certainly got full use of our $5 tour fee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SidMonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hops and History”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were very impressed by our tour of the F.X. Matt Brewing Company. Our tour guide was very well-versed in the brewery's rich history. The tour takes you through the entire brewing process, and we were lucky to see the bottling process in action, which we were told is unusual for a Saturday tour. Only disappointment was not receiving a complimentary tasting glass for our collection, although we did enjoy the two full pours at the end of the tour. Their root beer on tap is also delicious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SMJ2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun brewery tour”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We visited this brewery one Saturday afternoon. Only $5 per person and it was great. Our tour guide was very informative and seemed as if he enjoyed his job, which made the tour more fun. We got to learn about the different types of beer and received tickets for the bar afterwards. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, regardless of if they drink or not.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickadoo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An informative and thirst quenching experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I find the brewery tour here much more enjoyable than the tour I took of the Budweiser Brewery in St Louis. The reception area is furnished to suggest the 1888 date of the brewery's founding. After touring the various modern parts of the complex--including a short 'trolley' ride-- to see the different steps in transforming the raw materials into beer, along with the bottling and packaging for distribution, the visitors can relax in an 1880's period tavern and enjoy complimentary beer and soft drinks. When I entertain out of town visitors I often treat them to this delightful tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rand C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saranac Brewery Tour also viewed

 

Been to Saranac Brewery Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing