We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Symeons

Symeons
Ranked #40 of 184 Restaurants in Utica
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Symeons is our favorite local restaurant. The food is always fresh and delicious. The atmosphere is authentic greek, and the owner who is the original owner's son personally goes to each table and talks to you. We have been dining here for years, actually since the original opened at a different site, and have never been disappointed. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UticaJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brenham, Tx
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hope this was an off night, not impressed”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We dined at Symeons while on a brief trip to New York. Our Hotel recommended this place. My wife loved greek food, but we were very disappointed in our experience. First we were seated looking straight into the service area for the wait staff. They were not busy, but that is where we ended up. The staff was bickering all night. I love to see food warmed in a microwave. The food was ok, but we would never return. On our way out, the ladies room door was open as some one was bent over swishing the toilets. The area on the way out reeked of clorox. It was just not a good experience. And no one seems to notice any of this or seemed to care. Diner beware.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always one of my top picks”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have been going to Symeons monthly since I moved back here in the 90's. food is awesome and authentic! The staff is always great- and I love that Symeon- the owner comes out and talks to each table! If you're in the Utica area- this is a MUST!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“always dependable for service and food”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our family always stops by Symeons when we're all in town. We know the food will be delicious and the service, first rate. If you're looking for bar service, though---beware as they only serve beer and wine. The best part of our most recent meal was the baklava cheesecake: it was to die for!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshine1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent place to eat”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We love to go here. The food is great, Especially the fried calamari, nobody else can compare. The portions are great and the prices are reasonable. The staff is pleasant and some of them have been there for 30 yrs. The owner is always there with a smile on his face to greet you and walks around to be sure everything is ok, We would reccomend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Symeons also viewed

 

Been to Symeons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing