We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were at this location for one night during our vacation. We were very impressed by the room layout and it seemed to be newly remodeled! The staff was very accommodating and the room was quite clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am a wholesale to retail accessories Representative & had a morning appointment with a store owner in nearby New Hartford. I travel heavily during the summer months. I require a refrigerator, like a pool and a full breakfast. I especially like to come across friendly and knowledgeable Front Desk Associates. They make all the difference to me when I am so far from home.

I had a price that I did not want to go over and the front desk associate, Anastasia was able to work with me along with making certain that there would be a refrigerator in the room as well as accommodating me with the type of room I wanted and on the floor I had asked for.

I had to leave on a sales call without having a chance to pack my belongings & check out. Erin was so very kind & considerate as my appointment ran very late and she made me feel so at ease I cannot say enough about that. I felt compelled to tell Lee about the level of care I had received from Erin and said that I was so happy with this experience I booked a second night before I checked out for later in the week upon returning from Buffalo.

Whenever I am in the Utica are I will always look to stay at The Holiday Inn Express on Wells Ave.

Mark G.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0MarkG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Mark,
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our amenities like the refrigerator and pool. We even lend out DVDs for free, and have other sleeping options like a pillow menu, eye masks, and sound machine. Thanks for giving us such a great review, and hopefully we'll see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

stayed on 6/20/13 Check in lady was friendly and helpful, recommended a restaurant- fabulous and made me feel welcome. Room was clean and beautiful. Breakfast attendant- Karin Marrone was very nice. She chatted with me and even heated up some breakfast danish for me. It was a good start to my day. this hotel was great and i don't often write glowing reviews. everyone I met went above and beyond. This was even better than many of the other holiday Inns I've stayed at. Thank you

Room Tip: third floor was quiet
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Rhonda,
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed one of the great restaurants nearby here in Utica. I will also pass the compliments on to our breakfast attendant Karin.
Sincerely, Lee Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've stayed at many HI Express hotels and this is the first that asked for my priority club number. From the onset this is the most friendly helpful staff I've seen in years. The rooms are beautiful. The breakfast was fresh. I will absolutely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Phil,
Thanks for giving us such a great review! I'm glad to hear you were impressed with our friendly service, because we always want all of our guests to feel at home. I hope you got to enjoy some of Utica's famous restaurants nearby like Delmonico's, Babe's, or Aqua Vino.
Sincerely,
Lee Arthur, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel has only been open for about six months. Rooms, including the bathroom, are large adn well appointed. The free breakfast was okay - had eggs as well as cereal and pastry choices. We ate there the first morning - had breakfast at Denny's the following day when we left. We checked in after midnight and the hotel manager on duty heated two cinnamon rolls for us - very nice touch. We were there for a wedding and the hotel accomodated everyone without problem. There were actually two wedding parties staying there. It is right off the RT 90 (NY Thruway I think it is called). It is set back off the main street - so very quiet. There is an Italian Steakhouse - Delmonico's a two minute walk away as well as a short drive to a Dennys, McDonalds and some non-chain restaurants. Price was very reasonable and staff courteous and helpful. There is ample parking all around the building and a back entrance if you park back there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny_Big_Sur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Jenny_Big_Sur,
Thanks for giving us such great feedback. We were happy to have both wedding parties, and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the stay as well. If there is anything you can think of that would improve our value or cleanliness, please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Utica NY was great. The service was wonderful, clean rooms as you expect from a Holiday Inn express and the breakfast compared to other Holiday Inn express was excellent! Mark was very interested in our stay. The front desk directed us to an amazing Italian Restaurant just outside their own doorway. Wonderful stay on May 24, 2013.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie0361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Jackie,
I'm happy to see we gave you a 5 Star experience at our hotel! We are lucky to have the great Delmonico's Italian steakhouse right next door. Thanks for the review, and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the rest of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Recently constructed hotel and kept very clean. Staff was very pleasant. Not a bad breakfest either! Stayed here for a wedding with many of the wedding guests staying here so I though it would be loud at night. Not the case. Short walk to Delmonico's, probably the best restaurant in Utica, and I guess the Denny's was in walking distance as well...for some! I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franklin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Franklin22,
I'm happy to hear you and your wedding group enjoyed our hotel, we are always happy to host groups and teams. Our huge free breakfast, and great restaurants always help us take care of our groups that stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again next time you come through Utica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#4 of 13 in Utica
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
0.1 mi away
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Inn
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Utica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica

Address: 23 Wells Ave, Utica, NY 13502-2521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range: $148 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the newest hotel in Utica NY and was built with convenience in mind. Located less than one mile from I-90, the hotel is also within walking distance of several famous Utica restaurants, like Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse nextdoor, and Aqua Vino Restaurant accross the street overlooking the Erie Canal. The long list of amenities includes free Hot Breakfast served daily with the famous Holiday Inn Express cinnamon buns and pancakes, along with wifi, parking, computer center access, and an indoor pool, fitness center, and patio in the rear. You will be looking forward to you next trip through Utica after staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing