We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utica Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
jefferson, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Utica Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've stayed at many HI Express hotels and this is the first that asked for my priority club number. From the onset this is the most friendly helpful staff I've seen in years. The rooms are beautiful. The breakfast was fresh. I will absolutely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Phil,
Thanks for giving us such a great review! I'm glad to hear you were impressed with our friendly service, because we always want all of our guests to feel at home. I hope you got to enjoy some of Utica's famous restaurants nearby like Delmonico's, Babe's, or Aqua Vino.
Sincerely,
Lee Arthur, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    70
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
89
56
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel has only been open for about six months. Rooms, including the bathroom, are large adn well appointed. The free breakfast was okay - had eggs as well as cereal and pastry choices. We ate there the first morning - had breakfast at Denny's the following day when we left. We checked in after midnight and the hotel manager on duty heated two cinnamon rolls for us - very nice touch. We were there for a wedding and the hotel accomodated everyone without problem. There were actually two wedding parties staying there. It is right off the RT 90 (NY Thruway I think it is called). It is set back off the main street - so very quiet. There is an Italian Steakhouse - Delmonico's a two minute walk away as well as a short drive to a Dennys, McDonalds and some non-chain restaurants. Price was very reasonable and staff courteous and helpful. There is ample parking all around the building and a back entrance if you park back there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_Big_Sur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Jenny_Big_Sur,
Thanks for giving us such great feedback. We were happy to have both wedding parties, and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the stay as well. If there is anything you can think of that would improve our value or cleanliness, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Utica NY was great. The service was wonderful, clean rooms as you expect from a Holiday Inn express and the breakfast compared to other Holiday Inn express was excellent! Mark was very interested in our stay. The front desk directed us to an amazing Italian Restaurant just outside their own doorway. Wonderful stay on May 24, 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie0361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Jackie,
I'm happy to see we gave you a 5 Star experience at our hotel! We are lucky to have the great Delmonico's Italian steakhouse right next door. Thanks for the review, and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the rest of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Recently constructed hotel and kept very clean. Staff was very pleasant. Not a bad breakfest either! Stayed here for a wedding with many of the wedding guests staying here so I though it would be loud at night. Not the case. Short walk to Delmonico's, probably the best restaurant in Utica, and I guess the Denny's was in walking distance as well...for some! I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Franklin22,
I'm happy to hear you and your wedding group enjoyed our hotel, we are always happy to host groups and teams. Our huge free breakfast, and great restaurants always help us take care of our groups that stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again next time you come through Utica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I were heading up to New Hampshire and decided to stop in Utica overnight. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites was a perfect stop for comfort, cleanliness, and the best customer service we've had in a long time! The front desk associate, Mark, was excellent. He went above and beyond to make sure we had just the right accomodations. His pleasant demeanor stayed the same when we checked in close to 1 am, and checked out at 8 am. Mark is an example of someone who every hotel chain should strive to have greeting guests at their front desk. We'll definitely stop again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kruclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Kruclark,
Thanks for your great review! I'm glad to hear everything was great, and we will make sure everyone sees your compliments to Mark. If there was anything else we could have done to make your stay perfect, please let me know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREMONT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife on a trip East. Arrived late at night without a reservation, but they were able to take care of us. This is a brand new hotel, so everything was clean and shiny. We had a VERY nice room, and the Continental breakfast the next morning had a good selection and was very tasty. The hotel is easy to see from the road, but you have to drive through a restaurant parking lot to get to it...a little tough to do late at night. That would be my only complaint about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litespd_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Litespd_56,
Thanks for providing us with some good feedback. We have some of the most spacious rooms in the city, so I'm glad to hear you were so happy with it. We are working on a directional sign by Delmonico's Restaurant so hopefully next time you come in that will help you out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great place to stay not far from the highway, very good service, nice clean large quiet suites with two large beds and fold out couch, fridge and microwave. Free breakfast. Mark was able to get the breakfast trays out earlier to accommodate our early morning departure. Hotel has lots of parking which was a real help as we were towing trailers. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Lots of parking including trucks towing trailers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Bill,
Thanks for giving us such a great review. I'm happy to hear Mark took care of you in breakfast, and we're always happy to have Truck drivers or anyone towing a trailer, so I'm happy to hear you fit everything in our lot easily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utica hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Utica
Hampton Inn Utica
#1 of 13 in Utica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Utica
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel-Utica Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Utica
Red Roof Inn Utica
#3 of 13 in Utica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
0.7 mi away
Hotel Utica
Hotel Utica
#8 of 13 in Utica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica
Address: 23 Wells Ave, Utica, NY 13502-2521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is the newest hotel in Utica NY and was built with convenience in mind. Located less than one mile from I-90, the hotel is also within walking distance of several famous Utica restaurants, like Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse nextdoor, and Aqua Vino Restaurant accross the street overlooking the Erie Canal. The long list of amenities includes free Hot Breakfast served daily with the famous Holiday Inn Express cinnamon buns and pancakes, along with wifi, parking, computer center access, and an indoor pool, fitness center, and patio in the rear. You will be looking forward to you next trip through Utica after staying here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Utica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing