We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebration with friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tailor and The Cook

The Tailor and The Cook
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tailor and The Cook is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 181 Restaurants in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Tailor and the Cook is one of the brightest spots in Utica's already rich Culinary nightlife. Attentive service and a comfortable atmosphere support provocative cuisine produced with the finest local products, whenever possible. The management of The Tailor and the Cook is devoted to offering their clientele great food and a path to the farmers and producers who make it happen. The relationship between the food we eat and where it is produced is of growing concern to many. The Tailor and the Cook brings the many bounties of CNY's rich Agriculture to the forefront, giving the public the opportunity to know where there food comes from and how it is produced. Featuring Local Product whenever possible, menus change based on seasonality, freshness, and availability of local goods. A rich and generous selection of Beer, Wine, and Spirits round out the Culinary Package.
Utica
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Celebration with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We has the chance to go to the restaurant with friends celebrating their anniversary. We had a delicious meal with a knowledgable waitress. The food was local and delicious. Served in a sufficient amount so that you left satisfied but not overly stuffed. Happy to go again and enjoy a local business!!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMPUtica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    43
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing food, a gem in downtown Utica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived at the restaurant with very little in the way of expectations, other than from the recommendations we read online. With clients in tow, we arrived and were promptly seated ten minutes later on a busy Thursday night without reservations. Excellent wait staff and unique menu. Would return in a heartbeat if I lived closer!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestotravel5182011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little bit of New York City right here in Utica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Probably the best new restaurant we've had in Utica in several years. City-like atmosphere and great service with five-star food and extensive wine list. It's expensive for the area but well worth it . . . Grown with almost all local ingredients the owner and his wife make special effort to say hello to every customer and their enthusiasm about the meals they serve is contagious. Well worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great experience start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wonderful experience at The Tailor and the Cook from beginning to end. Had 7:00 pm reservations, and arrived early to check out the Bar-- Joe and Chis were welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. Beth sat us for our meal right around 7, which was perfect. Our server, Jim, was also so friendly, and knew the menu well. He recommended the special appetizer, shishito peppers, which were fantastic and when we asked how they were made and where they were from we got answers-- that was a treat in itself :) Our entrees ( filet mignon and veal chop) were cooked and complemented perfectly. The pace of the meal was superb. Honestly, one of the best meals I've had anywhere. We have some great local restaurants in our area-- this is a step above. Exceptional from beginning to end!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnl716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornish
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Experience all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very enjoyable dinning experience. Melissa one of the owners was our server. She explained options in detail which was very impressive. We had a cheese platter for an appetizer which was a light impressive variety of local cheeses and other foods to compliment the cheese. for dinner I had the hanger steak and my husband the trout both very delicious. The chef and owner made it a point to chat with us about how our meal was. with an open kitchen concept it was easy to do that. The restaurant is small and thus the could be tables a little too cozy for many. We were a little separated seated next to the kitchen which I was appreciative about. Food is on the pricy side, but not unreasonable for the taste and presentation. Using local providers and rotating the menu on a regular basis are a plus. The whole experience was warm and cozy staff welcoming and knowledgeable, food delicious will bring us back another time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PVANH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tailor and The Cook also viewed

 

Been to The Tailor and The Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing