We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Utica
Post
Inbox
Search

“Noisy, Large portions, OK food - interesting choices”

Chesterfield's Tavolo
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 12/16
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #56 of 229 Restaurants in Utica
Description: YOUR LOCAL AUTHENTIC ITALIAN RESTAURANT IN UTICA, NY FIND THE ONLY COAL FIRED PIZZA SHOP IN TOWN Are you searching for your next favorite spot for food and drinks in Utica, NY? Head over to Chesterfield's Tavolo. Our doors opened over 30 years ago to serve our community. Since then, we've been serving up genuine Italian dishes that would make a nonna from the old country proud. Tired of the same old droopy pizza slices? We're the only coal fired pizza shop in Utica, NY. We pride ourselves on preserving the traditional recipes you love, while also offering reinvented classics with a modern Italian restaurant spin.
Restaurant details
Description: YOUR LOCAL AUTHENTIC ITALIAN RESTAURANT IN UTICA, NY FIND THE ONLY COAL FIRED PIZZA SHOP IN TOWN Are you searching for your next favorite spot for food and drinks in Utica, NY? Head over to Chesterfield's Tavolo. Our doors opened over 30 years ago to serve our community. Since then, we've been serving up genuine Italian dishes that would make a nonna from the old country proud. Tired of the same old droopy pizza slices? We're the only coal fired pizza shop in Utica, NY. We pride ourselves on preserving the traditional recipes you love, while also offering reinvented classics with a modern Italian restaurant spin.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The parking lot seemed full but there was plenty of space. Even half-full it was very loud. Good service. Large portions of interesting food almost properly cooked. (Both the Risotto and the pasta were slightly under-done.) The sauce was a bit overwhelming - hard to taste the interesting flavors underneath. Good service.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

RUDE - RUDE - RUDE

Staff was rude from the moment we entered. Saw at least 3 different waiters. Never refilled water, never got a second drink.

Wait staff needs some SERIOUS training. Don't even know how to properly serve food.

Food okay, but you can get just as good and even better elsewhere.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Safari536278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drose2401, Public Relations Manager at Chesterfield's Tavolo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to dine with us. I’m so sorry to hear of your unpleasant dining experience. We strive to give all of our customers a 5 star dining experience. It was very upsetting to hear that one of the staff members was not performing up to the standards that we hold. I would love to get a more detailed description of your experience and who your server was so I can address the situation. You are more than welcome to call me at 315–794-1044 or email me at salvatoreborruso@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2019

We took a road trip from Amsterdam to try this restaurant. Glad we did. Very nice surroundings with lots of tables both indoors and on the patio. Our server Kylie was on point with drinks apps and dinner. We began our feast with Tavolo salad Greens Morelle coal fried chicken wings and something called Chicken Lolly Pop soup. It was all well prepared. The Salcicca Pizza looked great and was good, not great. The chicken Riggies had a nice flavor and the quantity was just right. We also had fried calamari which was very good. The only downside of the night was the acoustics. Very loud. However, when I am eating I"m always focused on the food. We will return.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philroy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavolo315, Owner at Chesterfield's Tavolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2019

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! While we are glad to see that your experience was overall positive, we hope that you will be in again so we can show you a true five-star experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2019 via mobile

Good food, quick service, outdoor seating is noisy because the cars aren’t obeying the speed limit. A little on the pricey side for a Caesar salad $14 bucks and the chairs are quite uncomfortable so if you have any cervical spine issues eat inside.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank S6338FJmariak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

While staying overnight in Utica, our hotel recommended the Chesterfield’s Tavolo. What a great choice. Definitely recommend the Chicken Riggies, a local Italian dish created in Utica, and the Housemade Lasagna - both excellent and filing. Watched them make pizza from our booth and chatted with the owner and manager. If going to stop in Utica, definitely stop eat here.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavolo315, Manager at Chesterfield's Tavolo, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

Richard, thanks so much for leaving a great review, we love hearing that you enjoyed the meals you had with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chesterfield's Tavolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing