We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
7
2
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
7
2
0
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2016

Ann and Alan Frederick were wonderful hosts. Alan waited up for our late arrival. Ann prepared beautiful and delicious breakfasts served on elegant china. The Pratt Smith House is Located on the border of Utica. We enjoyed using the Pratt Smith house as we cycled different parts of the Erie Canal.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

I loved all the wonderful vintage treasures that abound in this warm and comfortable house. For a traveler wanting a sterile evironment, this isn't the place for you! I truly enjoyed my room with a private bath. The hosts were super warm and friendly and served the most delicious baked egg for breakfast that was perfectly seasoned. I highly recommend the Pratt House for those who love an interesting and inviting and very different atmosphere. I plan to stay here on future trips to the Utica area. THANK YOU!!!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sessler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015

Arrived at 8pm ( check in time is 4-9) only to find that our room was given to another traveler. We were provided with a different room that did not meet our original booking. The owner did say he tried to get a hold of us but due to high data rates as a visitor to the US, we did not have our phone on. Again, this does not make it okay to give our room we had booked months and months ago, to another traveler. When asked about breakfast, he offered us a 9:00am sitting, as that's what the other guest had asked for, but which we said would not work for us, but we asked if could he accommodate us with an earlier time and he said it was too early and it wouldn't work. He didn't even offer a cup of coffee. We were shown our room which was so full of nick knacks and cluttered that you couldn't find a spot to put anything down on. The bed was of good quality but only appropriate for a single person, it was that small. The people across the hall from us (the ones that got our room) left as they couldn't stand how much stuff was in the room. We have traveled extensively, and have stayed in many many B&B's, but we have never had this bad of an experience/service. Wi-fi was iffy at the best and you had to stand at the top of the stairs for service.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank ziabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Pratt Smith house for two nights while in Utica for a family reunion. Our hosts, Anne and Alan Frederick, were welcoming, warm and gracious.

Breakfast each morning was delicious and filling without being overly so.

The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. The house is chock full of fun antique ladies' hats and nick knacks. I loved the wide old floorboards on the second floor.

The house is comfortably spotless.

The Pratt Smith House is a fun, gracious, comfortable B&B. We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2014

This B&B is a 200 yeeeear house made of bricks. The history of thee house is documented in a nice book in every room. The proprietors live in an annex and privacy is total.
The place shows its age but is well maintained and full off charm.
Two large and comfrotable rooms on the second floor with a shower, and a roomy dining room and sitting rooms on the first floor.
Eveery room is chck full of memorabilia collected over decades, you could browsee the walls and cabinets for days.
Breakffast was excellent, as was the bed.
This place is perfect for a romantic stop whne you're in Utica.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews