We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ADK place to stay”
Review of ADK Trail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ADK Trail Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Jay
Certificate of Excellence
New Paltz, New York
1 review
“ADK place to stay”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Out family had a good visit. Marie, the caretaker, was warm and friendly. Getting the lowdown on the accommodations and the area with Amy, the owner, was great. Great value, good/clean rooms, and a wonderful common areas for family to enjoy. Thanks for the visit. Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    34
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
42
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Skytop, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

One of my senior Scouts made all the reservations and everything was even better than I expected. Breakfast every morning at 7:00 so that we could be at the mountain before opening. Just a short drive away. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was super friendly. We were a group of twelve and evryone recomended that we return for our next ski trip. Thanks for a great weekend!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What an excellent place to stay. Both my dad and I traveled to the area to check out Lake Placid and ski in Vermont and at Whiteface. It's right smack dab on the Ausable River in the mountains, a very quiet place. Although there may not be any televisions in the rooms themselves, that is probably only thing those looking to stay somewhere in the Peaks area won't like. As for myself, an avid television watcher, it didn't matter to me, we had a comfortable, clean and inviting room with a kitchenette. Wayne, the owner was beyond nice, makes a great breakfast, and is very friendly. Oh, and they have a game room and a common room, of which we were too tired to use from skiing, but yes, looked fun and inviting. I honestly cannot think of anything bad to say about this place. I would definitely love to stay at the ADK Trail Inn again if I were to travel out to that area. Keep up the great work Wayne and family!

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 1, which had a kitchenette, a great place overall, a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zads07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at the ADK Trail Inn for a few days last week while snowshoeing Colvin. The inn offers a few different level rooms, I went with the cheapest and was not disappointed. The owner was very nice and very accommodating. Breakfast is served daily which was nice, nothing fancy but a warm/filling start to the day. There were no TVs in the room which was just fine as there was a game room with ping pong and pool! The room we stayed in needs a little updating but from talking with the owner there are plans for that in the future. The room was very clean and smelled clean, unlike some motels I have stayed in that have been musty. This was a very positive experience and I will definitely be staying there again in the future. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Amy, Wayne and Marie have done an excellent job in creating a bed and breakfast atmosphere to the motel. The breakfast common has been updated along with the gameroom.
Our group has held a yearly event this location and they did a great job accomodating a large group.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms with wood stoves,very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The upgrades are terrific! Our room was very clean with new linens and even had an electric "wood" stove. The owners are incredibly friendly and go out of the way to make you stay pleasant. Thanks Wayne and Amy we hope to stay with you again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highpeakwhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great local near Whiteface and located on the Ausable River. The new management is fantastic and they have great plans. I hope they can pull it all off. In the meantime, they were so welcoming and so wonderful it felt almost like home. We stayed in an upgraded room, which had newer bed linens and new carpet. The room was clean, the dining room was nice and offering a nice basic breakfast, which was a surprise. And, there is a game room with a fireplace to toast marshmellows in the evening.

Room Tip: Choose an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Jay
10.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#24 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
9.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
10.4 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ADK Trail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ADK Trail Inn

Property: ADK Trail Inn
Address: 11757 NYS Route 9N, Upper Jay, NY 12987 (Formerly Ark Trail Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Upper Jay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ADK Trail Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the beautiful Ausable River, the ADK Inn offers clean, comfortable rooms with a choice of Queen or two double beds. All rooms feature private baths, free Continental breakfast buffet, free WIFI, mini-fridges and use of our cozy common areas with large screen TV and wood stove. Kitchenettes are available. The Inn is family and pet friendly! We are an easy drive to Lake Placid, Whiteface, XC trails, ice climbing. Perfect for reunions, ski groups and small events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your ADK Trail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing