We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good location, nice people”
Review of ADK Trail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ADK Trail Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Jay
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
“Great value, good location, nice people”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at the ADK Trail Inn as a base camp for a peak-bagging weekend. The rooms were clean, the continental breakfast was plentiful, and best of all, the innkeepers were a joy to deal with! Extremely warm and personal service at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    36
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
45
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at the ADK trail inn with my girlfriend the weekend in late December and had a wonderful experience. We had spent the day snowshoeing and were pleased to find the room warm, clean, well decorated and comfortable. The owners went out of their way on multiple occasions to make sure that our stay was a great one, providing helpful information on the upcoming local New Year's eve events, skiing information, weather forecasts. They also went as far as to arrange a champagne toast at midnight on New Years! Much appreciated.

Then we spent part of a nice evening in the game room by the wood stove reading and ran into some pleasant travelers from Montreal and played ping pong and pool. The Inn is in a good location for visiting Keene Valley, Lake Placid and Whiteface mountain Breakfast was buffet style, reliably good and has a nice bnb vibe to it. I hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 831DEtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay at great rates, whether you are skiing at nearby Whiteface or hiking or ice climbing in the area.

We had a small but comfortable room with two queen beds. It was warm, very clean and nicely decorated, even though it was one of their standard, not-yet-upgraded rooms. Granted the bathroom fixtures were older - there is a shower, no tub - but everything worked perfectly and was shining clean.

Our room (#5) had a microwave and fridge. There was no phone or tv or coffee machine but that was not an issue for us. There is a tv in the spacious dining room, and coffee was plentiful at breakfast, which was included in the price.

We had lots of interaction with the owner, Wayne, who was very helpful and friendly.

We stayed there during a cold winter weekend and the room was always warm; the driveway was kept plowed, and the dining room was a cosy place to hang out and read or watch tv.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Welcoming and attentive hosts, meticulously clean rooms, an excellent and varied breakfast buffet and proximity to some of the best hiking trails in the Eastern United States add up to terrific value, even before the very low room prices are taken into account. The ADK Trail Inn reminds me of the very best of the small town, family-owned motels my family used to stay at when I was a child--not a lot of expensive frills, but they get the important things just right.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at the ADK Trail Inn a few days after it opened under new management, and the experience was great. The room was clean, and staff was super friendly. The location is just a few miles from Whiteface, and a very short drive to Keene. It's quiet, and the grounds have a nice fire pit and sit behind a branch of the Ausable River. Breakfast was ready promptly at 7 AM for me to make it out to the trails early. I'll definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank HoodCrestWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were impressed by the cleaniliness and the warm welcome. The ambiance is great and the room was perfect. The towels were sweet and beds were just great after a good day hiking. The game room is alsways fun and breakfasts the next morning are amazing. Thanks, we will see you again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_belanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park,NY
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We just returned from the Ark lodge for a one night stay. It was newly renovated and very clean. It was a simple room with two beds small refrigerator and a hot plate and microwave. They do not have a T.V. . We were greated by the owners with a welcome sign and our room assignment. We came back later in the evening and the owner had a small campfire ready for us to enjoy.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryCliftonPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Jay
9.1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
285 reviews
9.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,262 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
4.7 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 10 in Wilmington
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ADK Trail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ADK Trail Inn

Property: ADK Trail Inn
Address: 11757 NYS Route 9N, Upper Jay, NY 12987 (Formerly Ark Trail Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Upper Jay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Upper Jay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ADK Trail Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the beautiful Ausable River, the ADK Inn offers clean, comfortable rooms with a choice of Queen or two double beds. All rooms feature private baths, free Continental breakfast buffet, free WIFI, mini-fridges and use of our cozy common areas with large screen TV and wood stove. Kitchenettes are available. The Inn is family and pet friendly! We are an easy drive to Lake Placid, Whiteface, XC trails, ice climbing. Perfect for reunions, ski groups and small events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your ADK Trail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing