We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consider yourself warned!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Long Island Marriott
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uniondale
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consider yourself warned!”
Reviewed July 6, 2007

I am trying not to be unkind, but this is truly a horrible hotel, and probably the worst I've stayed in. The staff are poorly trained, and customer service is non-existent. The hotel is run down and in the middle of nowhere. Our room was not cleaned and after several calls to housekeeping and the front desk, we finally got some washcloths six hours later, and the room was never cleaned. The breakfast buffet is very expensive and really not worth the money. You'll be trapped at this hotel without a car. If you are coming into town through JFK, transporation is very expensive. Not one cab driver knew where this place was and they didn't want to go out to Long Island. Book car service prior to landing. The indoor pool looked nasty. I wouldn't let my daughter swim in the pool. There were way too many problems with staff, hotel, etc. to mention, but hopefully you get the message. Don't stay at this hotel at all costs. I've stayed at Marriotts before, but this one is on top of the loser-list. If you have to stay out this way, stay at the Hilton Garden Westbury across from the mall and restaurants and you'll be glad you did. Compared to the Hilton Garden in Westbury, this was supposed to be a full service hotel.....HA! P.S. We had no choice (this time) but to stay here. It was for a wedding and all out of town guests were obliged to stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SCSSCMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    242
    124
    31
    29
See reviews for
135
83
28
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2007

It took 2 hours and two trips to the front lobby to get sheets and pillows for the pull out sofa bed.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barkeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
255 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2007

I stayed at the Long Island Marriott from April 27th to the 28th and i liked it and would stay there again. For once i slept on a comfortable hotel mattress and they had bath and body works aromatherapy shampoo and conditioner and bath and body works soap which i always like. It is right off the Meadowbrook Parkway and within walking distance to the Nassua Coliseum. The only downside and this is why i say above average because the the breakfast buffet was $14.95 per person and a cup of starbucks coffee in the gift shop was $2.50 so we ended up going to a local diner instead for breakfast.

  • Liked — comfortable mattress and bath and body works products in the room
  • Disliked — the prices could have been better considering we weren't in a big city or resort area.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, CT
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

Since I am a loyal TA groupie I felt obligated to write a quick review. We go to alot os Islander Hocky games and always go into the hotel for dinner and a few drinks butnhad never stayed there. We went to the Christina Aguilara concerrt and booked a room for that night with breakfast included. Check-in was a breeze, the room was very nice and very clean, breakfast in the AM was very good. Overall it was a good expieriance and I might choose to stay again in the future if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Papazian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ephrata, pa
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2007

My husband and I stayed to enjoy the Hockey game on Saturday night. We were on the top floor which was great, not much of a pretty view though. I agreed about the bathrooms, for what they charge they defenitely should be updated. The new "Revive" beds were incredible! Didn't want to get out. We loved Champions, the food there is good and the service was great (in the restaurant as well). The lobby is neat with the bookshelves on the wall. We did swim but the chlorine content was too high and it burned our eyes. All in all we had a great weekend at the Marriott.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — outdated bathroom
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iminawe16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2007

This is an okay place to stay if you are driving elsewhere. The roads were under construction and it was really hard to find the entrance even as you drove by!

The rooms are typical Marriott... They are clean and the furnishings are mid-level. The mattresses seemed like they were just about to be replaced. There are no views from any windows. Maybe that's why they have such heavy curtains.

The water pressure was barely adequate. One day, there was no hot water for over 30 minutes. We had to let the shower run for that length of time until the hot water finally arrived!!!

On reception, I had to wait a long time and then they couldn't find my reservation (which had been made 2 months prior!). I had to go out in the parking lot and dig out the confirmation number from my briefcase.

We stayed for 5 days and learned a bit about the place.

The restaurant food is acceptable but not a bargain for the money. If possible, eat at family owned restaurants in the vicinity. Long Island has many exceptional restaurants comparable to those in NYC at half the price!

One BIG problem you will notice is that the trays from room service sit outside the doors for hours and hours. Sometimes the hall stank to high heaven! Worse, they use the vending machine / ice room as a "storage" space for the dirty trays for even longer. One evening, the smell was so bad, it was coming under my door (which was 3 doors from the vending room). I called the front desk and asked them to PLEASE send someone up to pick up the trays (many had remains of Pizza Hut which the hotel "bakes" there...). The trays still were not picked up by 2 am when I returned from NYC!

I'm in the Uniondale area quite often and will NOT be staying here again. I'll stay at a smaller botique hotel instead.

  • Liked — Reasonable Value
  • Disliked — The stinking hallways, 24 hours a day!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank captaingary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2006

Who are these people writing glowing review of this terrible Marriott? People who don't travel much, people who have low expectations, or managment?

Paid $169 for this hotel on one of the travel engines. The only good thing about the hotel is that it's next to the Nassau Coliseum. Otherwise, it was a huge disappointment.

Old furniture, depressing hallways and elevators, strange location (marshes and highways), outdated bathroom, stained tubs, chipped metal hangers, clogged washing basin, brown towels.

Don't come here and expect the upscale/modern/pleasant Marriotts that you have stayed elsewhere.

Expect a Holiday Inn. Not worth more than $70 per night.

  • Liked — The fact that it was 30 minutes by driving from Manhattan; friendly lobby starbucks
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — don't come here or don't let them charge you more than $70-80
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TruthBTold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uniondale
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#3 of 4 in Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.9 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#1 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Island Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Island Marriott

Property: Long Island Marriott
Address: 101 James Doolittle Blvd, Uniondale, NY 11553-3637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Uniondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uniondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Island Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The full service Long Island Marriott, located in the heart of Nassau County, is conveniently located near NYC and offers 615 guest rooms, a 10,000 sq. ft. ballroom and 28,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Long Island Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Island Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Long Island Marriott Hotel Uniondale
Marriott Long Island
Uniondale Marriott
Marriott Uniondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing