We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere, average price, stay and drive elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Long Island Marriott
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uniondale
Central Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere, average price, stay and drive elsewhere”
Reviewed February 5, 2007

This is an okay place to stay if you are driving elsewhere. The roads were under construction and it was really hard to find the entrance even as you drove by!

The rooms are typical Marriott... They are clean and the furnishings are mid-level. The mattresses seemed like they were just about to be replaced. There are no views from any windows. Maybe that's why they have such heavy curtains.

The water pressure was barely adequate. One day, there was no hot water for over 30 minutes. We had to let the shower run for that length of time until the hot water finally arrived!!!

On reception, I had to wait a long time and then they couldn't find my reservation (which had been made 2 months prior!). I had to go out in the parking lot and dig out the confirmation number from my briefcase.

We stayed for 5 days and learned a bit about the place.

The restaurant food is acceptable but not a bargain for the money. If possible, eat at family owned restaurants in the vicinity. Long Island has many exceptional restaurants comparable to those in NYC at half the price!

One BIG problem you will notice is that the trays from room service sit outside the doors for hours and hours. Sometimes the hall stank to high heaven! Worse, they use the vending machine / ice room as a "storage" space for the dirty trays for even longer. One evening, the smell was so bad, it was coming under my door (which was 3 doors from the vending room). I called the front desk and asked them to PLEASE send someone up to pick up the trays (many had remains of Pizza Hut which the hotel "bakes" there...). The trays still were not picked up by 2 am when I returned from NYC!

I'm in the Uniondale area quite often and will NOT be staying here again. I'll stay at a smaller botique hotel instead.

  • Liked — Reasonable Value
  • Disliked — The stinking hallways, 24 hours a day!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank captaingary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    258
    133
    33
    29
See reviews for
141
88
32
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2006

Who are these people writing glowing review of this terrible Marriott? People who don't travel much, people who have low expectations, or managment?

Paid $169 for this hotel on one of the travel engines. The only good thing about the hotel is that it's next to the Nassau Coliseum. Otherwise, it was a huge disappointment.

Old furniture, depressing hallways and elevators, strange location (marshes and highways), outdated bathroom, stained tubs, chipped metal hangers, clogged washing basin, brown towels.

Don't come here and expect the upscale/modern/pleasant Marriotts that you have stayed elsewhere.

Expect a Holiday Inn. Not worth more than $70 per night.

  • Liked — The fact that it was 30 minutes by driving from Manhattan; friendly lobby starbucks
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — don't come here or don't let them charge you more than $70-80
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TruthBTold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2006

Like many standard Marriotts this one is entirely predictable and that's what we want right? No surprises here - just a solid hotel across from the Nassau Coliseum on Long Island. If you're going to a game or a concert you couldn't find a better place. The "Revive" beds are great - room service was fast, pretty good to the taste, and not overpriced; and the overall service and attitude were very responsive. The place could probably use an update -- particularly the gym -- but all of the most crucial things are in place. Parking was fast, easy, close-in and free; sheets are crisp; there was a small refrigerator placed in my room moments after I requested it; gift shop had cold Diet Coke in bottles (key issue since Pepsi remains Marriott's chief beverage supplier and you can't get Coke in the restuarants etc.) - and there were more than enough towels in the bathroom. Averaging my cheap weekend rate with the more expensive weekday rate, I paid about $190 a night - just about right for this location which is central to much of Long Island, (including some of the best and most varied shopping anywhere); all the major airports and a quick drive to the city. You won't see many players here - this is far from a hot-spot - but for a solid, quiet, reliable place to stay, all in all a very good deal.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank RobertaAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2006

I recently stayed here for one night. It was fine, but not great. The rooms, and some of the common areas, need an update. The food was pretty good. Self-parking (my preference) was available and convenient, and the valets appeared effecient enough. The staff was nice, but not so nice as to be memorable. I switched to a newer Courtyard farther out on Long Island and enjoyed that stay more. You'll be fine here, but don't expect to be blown away.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
Thank fritzco97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2006

This is an average, if somewhat dated, 3-star Marriott. The rooms were unremarkable, although the beds were very comfortable. One does not stay there for the view or the ambience as it is the only building around for a good while other than the Nassau County Coliseum. There may be nicer hotels in the area, but this is a perfectly acceptable mid-range hotel. It met my expectations and I had no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2006

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on our wedding night on March 11, 2006. Overall we were very pleased. We paid $169.00 for one night and stayed in room 1011. Check-in was very easy and quick, only about 45 seconds. The room was of average size and impeccably clean. The bathroom was also very clean and we very much liked the quality of the complimentary lotion and shampoo. What we liked most was the comfortable bed. The sheets were of a very high-quality cotton and came with a lot of pillows. We ordered room service and it came pretty quickly. We arrived late at night, but room service was still open up until 1 am. You cannot really walk to any restaurants or shops as the hotel is located off of a major highway, but they do have places to eat on site. We used the indoor pool and hot tub, which we found to be very nice. The hours of the pool are 6 am to 11 pm so we had all day to use the facilities. There was one negative that I have to report. The room became very warm in the middle of the night and the adjustable room temperature control did not seem to work properly to cool down the room. However, we stayed at the hotel on a day where the high temperature was well above normal so that may have been the cause. We would definitely stay here again and if you’re looking for a comfortable night’s sleep without paying the extortion prices other hotels in the area charge, this is an excellent option.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2005

We had a family emergency and got reservations at the last minute for connecting rooms. One room had a balcony, a real plus in my book! The rooms were nice sized, with comfortable furniture, including the beds.The sports bar was ok, and often crowded. The other restaurant was actually quite good (we ate both breakfast and dinner there). There is a Starbucks in the lobby gift shop, but boy oh boy, you need a lot of time to get that cup of joe. There were four people working there, tripping over each other, and not completing any one order. The business center had three computers, but only one monitor, which left two of the computers useless. I had quite a hard time with the computer after waiting to use it, and had a harder time getting help. I was unable to e mail a Word document to myself at home, or to a staff member's computer. It was an exercise in frustration and wasted time. There is not much within walking distance to this hotel.
All in all, the staff were friendly and the hotel was nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uniondale
2.8 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#1 of 4 in Garden City
538 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#3 of 4 in Garden City
545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#2 of 4 in Garden City
638 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Island Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Island Marriott

Property: Long Island Marriott
Address: 101 James Doolittle Blvd, Uniondale, NY 11553-3637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Uniondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uniondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Island Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The full service Long Island Marriott, located in the heart of Nassau County, is conveniently located near NYC and offers 615 guest rooms, a 10,000 sq. ft. ballroom and 28,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Island Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Island Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Long Island Marriott Hotel Uniondale
Marriott Long Island
Uniondale Marriott
Marriott Uniondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing