We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad it was there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Island Marriott
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uniondale
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This area of Long Island is lacking in hotels, so the Marriott has little if any competition. Thankfully, this did not make a difference in the quality we are accustomed to from Marriott. The staff was helpful, the rooms clean and well appointed with comfortable beds, although the pillows could have been better. This is a very busy place, but that should be expected with this being the only accomdation available in this busy area.
The only frustrating incovenience occurred because we had to book by phone rather than internet. We have stayed in numerous Marriott hotels and, when needing to call the local hotel rather than book on line, we always were able to book with the local hotel.
This time I was switched to the central booking and it was frustrating, to say the least. I could barely hear the person I talked to when booking the rooms. It got worse when I had to call back to change the reservations. I again called the local hotel and was again switched to the central booking where I spoke with a person whose English was nearly unintelligible. I asked for a supervisor; same thing. We still could not understand each other. Where is Marriott's central booking??? Moral of the story, book on line if at all possible. I did finally get the local Marriott to deal with changing the reservation, but they totally messed it up in spite of telling me it was taken care of. They had us checked out one hour after checking in, rather than the two nights we booked. I know it's a busy hotel, but.... This is the first difficult time in a Marriott for us and once the reservations were straightened out, our stay was fine. Sadly, if we return to the area, there is nowhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stpeteisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 635 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Used this marriott for accommodations for a wedding on Long Island. Staff is very pleasant and helpful - courteous and easy to ask a question of. Our room was on the 9th floor facing east. Lovely view of the surrounding area - it included a corner balcony. Clean and well appointed room - WIFI charge daily which, at this point, I believe should not be an additional charge (just my opinion) - Very easy to hook up/log in, and power up (plenty of outlets including those dedicated to the desk area). Centrally located not far from major highways. Directly behind the Nassau Coliseum, and very close to Hofstra University. Bathroom updated, comfortable mattress, upgraded bedding.

Pool area and work out areas both large and clean - with 24 hour access to work out facilities.

The two "connected" restaurants are average, i believe, for being associated with a Marriott Property and were open long enough for food to be available almost all the time - also there is a pretty extensive room service menu and the option to "pre order" breakfasts every day.

I would definitely recommend this Marriott to travelers who need accommodations in this area.

Room Tip: If you don't want the sun waking you early, ask for a room on the western side. There are black...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Adequate accommodations for a night or two. Nothing fancy and nothing terrible. This hotel does have a cute little gift shop and a few places to eat which are expensive on both food and drinks. And it's true that this is a hustling, bustling place! Very busy.
Another reviewer mentioned sports fans - there are many of them! This Marriott is located right next to the Nassau Coliseum on Hempstead Tpke. Oh, and there is a "Fridays" restaurant under 10 minutes away on Merrick Avenue (North of Hempstead Tpke.)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gram777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this Marriott for my nieces wedding. My brother had reserved a block of rooms for this occasion at a special rate. We had over half of the wedding attendees stay at this hotel. I was amazed to find out that there was at least 10 wedding parties there at the same time. This hotel has an amazing staff,always friendly and informative. This hotel is in a great location for shopping,visiting,sports venue next door(Nassau County Colliseum),restaurants and close to major highways. Huge pool and work-out gym. Very enjoyable stay. Would stay there again. The only drawback I found was lack of car Valet service.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor and it was very quiet even with all the parties going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here through the worst part of the storm and we were in pretty good shape. We had a nice sized room with a small fridge, housekeeping did a great job and the food in the bar/restaurant area was terrific and served with a smile. Rooms and common area could use an upgrade-- will look forward to that in future !

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baysidedmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

To find this Marriott in Nassau County was a huge plus -- to have it be so 1st-rate run is amazing. This Marriott is very busy similar to a NYC hotel due to the high volume of people coming and going. It is extremely clean, customer service is wonderful, and rooms perfect. This is our "go to" place when visiting family. I would recommend the buffet over ordreing ala carte -- with the high volume of people it is a better deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights around the time that our out-of-town college student needed to move in to Hofstra. The location was wonderful for that, as it is the closest hotel to campus. It was also very easy to take the Meadowbrook Parkway just a few blocks from the hotel to get to many stores which sell things that my college student needed such as linens, art supplies, hardware, clothing basics, and toiletries. Just about every major chain store is within easy driving distance.
The hotel room was fine, though a bit on the small side. We usually like two queen beds for four adults but the rooms in this hotel were only big enough to hold two doubles. There was no room for a rollaway. The mattresses themselves were good quality and comfortable. The room was clean and had a refrigerator.
They charge for internet, but it worked well and was high speed.
There are about 6 elevators so I never had any difficulty getting an elevator and never had to wait.
One day we were moving many things down to the parking lot and needed a rolling luggage cart. We found that the hotel only has two of them. When my son borrowed one from the bellman he was advised to bring it back quickly because some people in the past have left carts in their rooms while others needed them. I could understand them asking that, and we brought the cart back within ten minutes. However, when we got back to the room (after we returned the cart) there was a message light on the phone, asking us to bring the cart back, apparently left 5 minutes after we borrowed it. I thought that was rather rude and distrustful because ten minutes is certainly a reasonable amount of time to bring a cart upstairs, load it, get it downstairs, pack a car, and return the cart. This hotel clearly needs more luggage carts.
Other than that, the staff was friendly and helpful, directing us to outside restaurants serving the type of food we desired and giving us directions. I had requested some extra pillows and they had taken care of that prior to check in. We had to wait a while when purchasing snacks at the convenience store because the front-desk staff takes care of this function too but check-in takes priority. I wish they had a better system.
I found the atmosphere in the hotel to be fine. There were nice refreshing fruit drinks/lemonade in the lobby and places to sit a while. It was busy with people coming and going but relatively quiet in terms of noise level. I did not experience any raucus guests like others have mentioned. When we were there guests were mainly attending weddings and visiting college. I think that the rowdy guests others spoke of must have been there after shows at the Colleseum, which was not operating while we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeekyDCLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uniondale
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#2 of 4 in Garden City
593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
2.8 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#1 of 4 in Garden City
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#3 of 4 in Garden City
680 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Island Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Island Marriott

Address: 101 James Doolittle Blvd, Uniondale, NY 11553-3637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Uniondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uniondale
Price Range: $166 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Island Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-Service Long Island Marriott is located in the heart of Nassau County, conveniently situated near NYC, Roosevelt Field, Eisenhower Park, Hofstra University and many other top destinations. Our hotel in Uniondale, New York features 615 guest rooms, a 10,000 sq. ft. ballroom and 28,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Long Island Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Island Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Long Island Marriott Hotel Uniondale
Marriott Long Island
Uniondale Marriott
Marriott Uniondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing