We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We fell in love!”
Review of Borgo Rapale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo Rapale
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We fell in love!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After anticipating that we were staying in a room in a farmhouse we got a fantastic surprise. One of the farm building behind the owners villa has been converted into 8 apartments. Our was overlooking the Ambra Valley adjacent to a small medieval village. Our apartment had a full kitchen and bbq outside supplied with firewood. It is a 30 minute drive to Bucine for the closest grocery store but the experience is worth the travel. There was a cool breeze that circulated through the apartment. It is the most peaceful place we have ever visited. Fortunato (Lucky) and his wife Gisele are fantastic. Their stories of the history of their home and the area are interesting and they are always available to tell them and to assist their guests. We wish we had been able to stay here for a week. We will definitely be back when we return to Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for the one on the end overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a great time here! Owners were friendly and helpful without interfering. Apartment was large and well stocked. Ambra is the cutest town ever. Great place to escape the crowds and enjoy beautiful Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aedenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This agriturismo was very comfortable. Our appartment was very well equipped (apart from the small uncomfortable sofa) and nicely set out. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed hearing about the history of the house and the small village.
The location was very nice because slightly isolated, perched on a hill providing great views, but also in a very small historic village.
We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

A wonderful walled village in the heart of Tuscany dating back to 1000 AD. Fortunato & Gisella are fantastic hosts. Beautifullly renovated apartments with lots of room and everything you need for a relaxing stay. Close to Siena, the Chianti, the Crete & Florence. We stayed for 6 nights & managed to pack in a heap of sightseeing. We would definitely go back but stay at least a week.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerphil57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivyland, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This place was absolutely gorgeous. We used it as a base for visiting Siena, Florence and Perugia. The hospitality was beyond measure. Fortunato and Gisella were wonderful hosts. I want to come back and spend more time here. I loved the quiet of the tuscan hills.

Room Tip: Absolutely perfect! I have picked some doozies in the past and this one was a hit. Clean, beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

It is a hidden paradise....Whatever comes to your mind whilst thinking of Tuscany is HERE..The location is perfect, the apartments so aesthetically designed and so very well kept. And above all the wonderful Gisella and Fortunato. Excellent hosts !!!!
Already looking forward to my next visit....

Room Tip: Ask Fortunato for the local red wine.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amarbedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2012

A quiet, friendly, beautifully located vacation spot! We were two families with teen-age kids and either spent time here, around the pool, or made daily trips around Toscana.
This is definitely our next 'home' for future trips to Toscana. Can't wait!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craiova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgo Rapale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Rapale

Property: Borgo Rapale
Address: Via del Castello 8, 52021 Rapale, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Rapale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rapale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Borgo Rapale" is a Tuscan farmhouse situated on a hilltop between Siena (25 km or 15 miles) and Arezzo. It borders a small, medieval castle and it boasts stunning views of the Chianti hills and the Ambra Valley. At an altitude of 500 m (1600 ft), cool breezes keep the resort comfortable under the Tuscan sun. The farmhouse is strategically located near the most important art cities of Tuscany and Umbria. From the farmhouse, it is a 25 minute drive to Siena and about an hour to Florence, San Gimignano, Arezzo, Perugia and Assisi. More than 10 restaurants of various types are located within a 10 minutes drive. Also, good and convenient local food catering may arrive in your apartment. Borgo Rapale's architecture typifies the Tuscan farmhouse style. The farmhouse is immediately adjacent to the Villa, which has been inhabited since 1520 by the proprietor's family that welcomes and entertains guests as friends. The proprietors are always available to provide information about the history of the villa and of the nearby castle, as well as about restaurants, shopping, wineries and major tourist attractions. Apartments are rented on weekly basis from Saturday 4 pm to Saturday 10 pm. During the low and medium seasons, also daily with the minimum of 3 days. Wi-Fi is available inside and outside the apartments. All the bedrooms have private bathrooms with shower and bidet. Each apartment features a spacious living room with well equipped kitchenette, dining table, satellite TV, wall safe and convertible sofa for two. The brick floors, the ceiling with chestnut beams and the inviting furnishings are in keeping with the Tuscan character. Al fresco dining is available for each apartment. The guests have access to a large swimming pool (7 x 14 meters or 23 x 46 ft) that overlooks olive groves, vineyards and forested hills of the below valley. Additional facilities include a lounge and an old wine cellar. Free use of covered parking, barbecue sets with fire wood, mountain bikes and games for adults and children (tennis table, football table, bowl course etc.) Washing machine is available for 3 Euros per use. The woods around the farmhouse make for great hiking and mountain bike trips. The renowned thermal baths of Rapolano, with its pools and beauty treatments, are just 15 km away. Horseback riding is 4 km away. Shops, tennis facilities, go-karting and fishing lake are all within a 15 km radius. Hot air ballooning, the Chianti and Brunello wine regions, and Italian fashion "factory outlets" such as Prada, Gucci and Ferragamo are within 40 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Borgo Rapale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing