We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to visit”
Review of Wild Center

Wild Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Wild Center at Tupper Lake Admission
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Tupper Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wild Center is an 81-acre hands-on place to get all kinds of new perspectives on the wild world of the Adirondacks. It will include Wild Walk, a brand new trail across the treetops starting in the summer of 2015. The Wall Street Journal called The Wild Center "Glorious" in its review, and The New York Times called it "stunning". The Center has live animals, a wide screen theater, canoes, its own river, guides walks, tons of cutting-edge green building systems, and the only treetop walk in the Adirondacks.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Tupper Lake, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A great place to visit”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This would be a very worthwhile trip especially for the youngsters, but for adulst as well..aq great waqy to learn abut the adirondacks. wildlife and the outdoors ingeneral...I think it is a must visit when in and around Tupper Lake

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    134
    56
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“unique and wonderful”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

this is an incredible place to learn about, and immerse oneself in all things natural, for all ages. it is interactive but not in such a way that you feel like an idiot. it has live creatures, soundscapes, relevant small movies, smells of the area, lovely trails outside the LEED certified and gorgeous building, and even some incredible sculptures of flowers and plants that look completely real. this is a place to be experienced. my husband and i have been to it several times over the last few years and there is still something new to experience and learn each and every time one goes. it is just plain wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rochester, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow! A Natural!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Beautifully designed center integrated into the environment.Very nice indoor exhibits, hands on for kids, educational and engaging. Loved the otters! Accessible for wheelchair inside. Many nature trails with educational info on plants, wildlife and trees. Green awareness. Many trails- trail around pond is accessible for power wheelchair. Visit in spring or summer for programs, nothing going after Columbus Day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes, NY
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great way to spend a rainy day in the Adirondacks! We especially loved how close you could get to the playful otters. Nice exhibits with lots of fish, otters and birds inside! Beautiful building, too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trainer,Pa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun and Educational”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first time at the Wild Center and I we will be back again when in the area. I figured it was going to be someplace we would spend maybe an hour but upon getting back to our car found we were there close to three and could have done more exploring with no problem. Both my husband and I came away knowing a little more about the area we have fallen in love with. I could have sat and watched the otters for hours alone. Hope to come back when the new outdoor area is completed to enjoy even more of the area. Did not get to see any of the movies so I guess I will have to work on planning another trip to the area !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wifey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Center also viewed

 

Been to Wild Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing