We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place managed by super friendly people”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tupper Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shaheen's Adirondack Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tupper Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We staid there two days. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable, even though a bit dark. There was a good breakfast and the two people managing the motel were super friendly and nicely talkative . We really felt at home.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Alessandro D: Happy to hear your 2 day stay with us was comfortable, but the best comment that hit home for us was the fact that you "felt at home". It was such a compliment for us; thank you. Sorry if there was a light problem in your room, possibly we may have needed to replace a dimming bulb?; or otherwise, but we'll check it out! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 201 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

While attending a family function, we all traveled from the Syracuse area and stayed at Shaheen's. This motel is known for being very clean. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are quiet, and, although there is nothing fancy about this dated complex, it's a great place to stay when in the area.

Room Tip: It is difficult to find comfortable king or queen accommodations in this area. We shopped a bit befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thanks for your stay Esatraveler:

So glad to read your visit with us was quiet and comfortable. Yes, our regular spacious units have 2 queen size beds and our other larger units have a king, queen, and sofa bed. Many of our guests return because our rooms have a microwave/frig, in-room coffee, free in-room WiFi, hair dryers, irons, flat screen HDTV's, AC, and complimentary continental breakfast. Hope you enjoyed our lovely outdoor pool, brand new Gazebo, putting greens, and corn hole games while you were here. Over the years, Shaheen's Motel has been finely regarded as an established, well-known motel with an excellent reputation. We are the 4th owners of what we consider a meticulously maintained 40 year old property which is now recognized by NYS Hospitality Association and Audubon Society as a "Green" motel. In our 18+ years, updates and renovations have taken place, and we will continue this process proudly! We look forward to seeing you again. Check us out on facebook for continued news on any upgrades!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I will echo the other reviews in saying that this place is immaculately clean and very comfortable. The decor is defintely dated but not run down. The rooms are large and have everything you need - flat screen tv, coffee maker, iron. The shower has good water pressure and temperature and the beds are comfortable. It was also relatively quiet. I was surpised by one reviewers comment that the owners were not warm. They were very friendly and helpful to us.

If you are a Long Lake parent looking for a place to stay for parent's weekend, don't be turned off by the location - it's about a 25 minute drive to camp but a very easy drive.

Room Tip: I suggest requesting a room on second floor. My guess is that they are quieter and you can sit on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonMumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thanks for choosing to stay with us even though your visit site was a bit further away from Tupper Lake. We're glad we were able to offer you everything you needed to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Our pride as an Adirondack self-employed business owner is evident in our yearly room upgrades; we strive to provide up-to-date amenities for our guests. We were pleased to be the first in our area to have HD/TV with free on-demand/HBO. Hope to see you next year; can't believe the summer has come to an end already!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was born and grew up in Tupper Lake. After moving far away for many years I often returned to meet with my remaining family. I stayed at Shaheen's when it was first constructed and now many years since Terry and Robyn have owned the facility. I have seen their children grow and the facility radically improved over the years. They are continually making improvements to make your stay more comfortable.
You cannot secure a cleaner, more attentive, facility with caring owners and caretakers regardless of the cost. My wife is a fanatic about cleanliness and she adores the rooms at Shaheen's and the way the owners treat us when we arrive and during our stay.
We would not consider anywhere else in the region if this met our geographical needs.

RWB Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

RWB
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymond b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear RWB:

Wow, your favorable comments certainly gave us a needed pat on the back during a busy summer season! We appreciate that so much. Thanks also for always coming back to stay with us at Shaheen's. In the 18+ years we have been the owners, we have tried to continue to improve the property for our guests and for Tupper Lake. Such positive remarks coming from a "hometown" person tells us we're on the right track! Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was up in the area to pick up my daughter from summer camp. This was acceptable, clean and large room with reasonable price but also disappointing. Given how beautiful the area is, it was disappointing to be away from the lakes, with no view at all, on what passes for a major road. The owners were also not warm at all, again kind of disappointing in this area. There are some restaurants nearby but most close early (a new BBQ place up the street was very good). I would look for something on a lake, or at least with a view if you are up this way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bostontodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Bostontodc:

Yes, you are right that we are not located on the lake, Shaheen's Motel is located in the Village of Tupper Lake, on Park St, about a mile up the road from the main shopping/business district of the village. We are sorry that you were disappointed with our location, although we believe we have a pleasant curb appeal and lovely grounds. We were, however more unsettled that you found us "not warm". We definitely try to meet all of our guests expectations and apologize we did not meet yours. Hopefully if you return to Tupper again you will give us another try and we will do our best to make your stay an enjoyable one! Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked two nights at Shaheen's due to all of the positive reviews on Trip advisor and TA didn't disappoint once again. We checked in right around 3PM and the owner was very nice, helped us with menus, showed us where our room was, etc. We check in and we were immediately impressed on how spacious, clean, comfortable and how well maintained our room and the surrounding grounds were.

At every turn things exceeded our expectations like the cleanliness of the pool, how well the infrastructure all seemed in top shape – air conditioner, ice machine, etc.

We actually went onto Lake Placid for another 2 nights and, after seeing the crowds and the dud of a place we stayed next, we lamented we should have stayed in Tupper for the entire 4 nights at Shaheen’s. I will definitely return here in a heartbeat. Tip for dinner – The 19th Hole at the Tupper Lake Golf club was superb – see my separate review on this.

Room Tip: Room #12 is quiet, out of the way and very roomy. I will definitely choose this room again if availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STEBAY711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Guest:

It was wonderful to read your comments and to know how much you appreciated our property and the services we provided. We work hard to keep our business in tip top shape and love to hear feedback like yours that lets us know our guest's notice! Thanks so much and we look forward to seeing you again should you return to Tupper Lake.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here with a group of 15
All rooms had convenient amenities including fridge and microwave
Beds were very comfortable, showers were hot with great pressure
Owners were constantly making sure our needs were met
Most of all, rooms were spotless!
When returning to this area, we would stay nowhere else

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are easiest when loading and unloading cars but you can hear people upstairs walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank physicalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Adirondack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thanks so much for your positive remarks and we're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tupper Lake
17.5 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
507 reviews
23.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,345 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
23.4 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,360 reviews
23.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaheen's Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaheen's Adirondack Inn

Address: 314 Park St, Tupper Lake, NY 12986-1999 (Formerly Shaheen's Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Tupper Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tupper Lake
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ECO friendly with environmentally conscious initiatives and meticulously maintained. Smoke free AAA lodging property is family owned and operated. Our spacious, well-appointed units boast free in-room WiFi, microwave/refrigerators, in-room coffee, HDTV with HBO and free on demand channels, hair dryers and iron/ironing boards. Accommodations include adjoining rooms, family units and handicap accessible rooms with barrier free showers. Lovely outdoor "off the road" pool, picnic/playground area with basketball hoop. Complimentary continental breakfast, fax/copy service available. Lakes, trails, canoe routes, golf and ski are all nearby. Walk to restaurants or to the "Wild Center". Member of Green Hotels Association and certified as a "Gold" property by Audubon International. Sorry...No pets. Live web cam.Complimentary Guest Bikes ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing