We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my motel of choice in the Adirondacks”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tupper Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Motel and Cabins
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tupper Lake
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“my motel of choice in the Adirondacks”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We come to the Adirondacks to hike, so we don't spend too much time in the hotel. For a budget choice, you won't go wrong here. Very basic rooms (something like $50 a night I think?), friendly owners. Good location for access to a lot of the best hiking in the Adirondacks - don't miss Ampersand mountain nearby, one of my favorite hikes through a truly magical, virgin forest, one of the very few left in eastern N America, and then views on the mountain to all the lakes surrounding.

Also nearby is the Five Ponds area, best to hike in and camp by the waterfall, then check out across the river for another very old forest. I think these are the only two in Adirondacks. It's also possible to canoe in along the black river, very cool canoeing, beautiful strange river stained into a dark tea color by local plants, completely wild. I haven't canoed all the way to the falls though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank betty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatenIslandMagpie, Owner at Park Motel and Cabins, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank-you for your review. We appreciate your patronage and kind words. Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
20
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived with a plan for one night stay and ended up with three.Very pleasant owners, easy to deal with. They helped us a lot with places to visit in the area.The cabin we stayed in is small but had all we needed.We will go back when we visit the area. again.

Joanna and micha livne

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aviron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We enjoyed our week long stay - thanks to the tremendous hospitality of Maggie, Jerry and Dave. Room service every day. We hauled our HD Motorcycles and they offered room to park the truck and trailer and parking in front of the room. Every day we traveled 200 miles throughout the region. This was one of the best trips we have taken in 30 years. The hotel is central to forever wild wilderness regions. The owners even drove me to the Laundromat and picked me up. We liked the ease of being on the first floor. The rooms were clean as a whistle. Free coffee and bagels each day. We would stay here again. The refrigerator and microwave in the room came in handy. We also used the grill for dinner.

Room Tip: Two Double Beds - New pillow top mattresses
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
237 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The other reviews make it clear that very small cabins from decades past may not be everyone's cup of tea. My cabin was very small, just barely big enough for a double bed, a table with two chairs (for eating, not for sitting and reading), and a fridge and microwave. The bathroom is so small I left the door open to not be squeezed in any tighter. The room was clean enough. The mattress is soft and the padded headboard is fixed to the wall. The owners are nice people, but you need to have a sense of nostalgia or you could be disappointed by this dated property. For a solo traveler, the cabin was okay, but even two people would have felt cramped in that tiny space. Some cabins are larger, so make sure you get one large enough for your needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in a cabin and it was a little small for 3 adults, the beds were comfy but there was not much space to move around. The shower was a little hit and miss for hot water and there really needs to be a fan installed as it didn't dry out easily. However, the price is excellent and it is quiet and a nice place to be after a days hiking on the mountains. The owners haven't been here long and I am sure will improve things further. The coffee and bagels for breakfast were welcome too. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickybailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alburtis
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights here and have nothing but good things to say about the motel, the owners and the surrounding area. We stayed in a cabin, which was a little tight, but you don't come to the Adirondacks to be inside and what we saved in motel costs, allowed us to spend more on things like meals and renting kayaks. The owners could not have been nicer, as were the other guests.

Room Tip: The regular rooms are larger if that is important to you. Great spot to paddle the Raquette River an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crex51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The cabins are really quite in keeping with the area. You are in the middle of the wilderness. The owners are wonderful people, the cabins are old, quaint with picnic table, micro, fridge, pool. This is a great jumping off point to other wilderness area's and then return for a hot shower and comfy bed. If your looking for a Marriott or anything like it, this is not the place. Yet, if your heading into the wild, then you will understand.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingProfsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Motel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Motel and Cabins

Property: Park Motel and Cabins
Address: 336 Park St, Tupper Lake, NY 12986-1911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Tupper Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tupper Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family owned and operated Motel and Cabin Complex. Set in park like grounds with lots of room to play and picnic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing