We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”
Review of Red Top Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tupper Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Top Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tupper Lake
1 review
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Red Top Inn is great if you love fishing because they have their own dock, you can rent a boat, buy bait, and its near the lake. Also its a great place to come here any season you want. We come here every year and enjoy our stay here at Red Top Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darekewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guilderland, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

If you are into fishing at Tupper Lake, Red Top Inn is the best place to stay, He has his own dock, and room enough in the back to park my boat trailer. For larger boats, the state launch is right down the road. The cabin I got was clean and basic, and comfortable. The bed was good too. The nicest part was having the dock across the road where I tied up and ran back for a quick nap and bite to eat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defreestville, NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Red Top Inn is probably the closest thing there is to a resort in Tupper Lake. It is open all year round too. He has a wide variety of rooms, from basic 1 man motel room, efficiencies, cabins, two bedroom suites with a full kitchen and 4 real apartments. Naturally there is a room for any budget. While there is nothing fancy there, the bedding decor and amenities are above average for Tupper Lake. The rooms are clean and basic with a woodsy feel t them.

He also has a dock across the street and a small beach. He rents boats and has bait and tackle on sale there all year round.

Room Tip: They have all sorts of rooms from basic bed to full apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakerster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My friends and I have stayed at the Red Top Inn every spring for close to 20 years. We are always met with smiles and clean comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. The front two apartments are stocked with the amenities that one would need on an extended stay and the view of the lake from the front apartment is exquisite. The long porch at the hotel is a great place to sit and relax under cover with great lake views and the other guests are always friendly.

The rooms are always clean and comfortable and have the charm that only a hotel in the Adirondacks can provide. There is cable tv and wifi so you're not out of touch with the outside world. Speaking of the Adirondacks, this hotel is located right in the middle of everything that the Adirondacks provide. There are magnificent views right outside the door. There are tremendous opportunities for fishing, kayaking, hiking, etc. in every direction and the high peaks are under an hour away. You can find all of the provisions you may need in the Village of Tupper Lake just two or three miles away.

There is a small private beach and fire pit on the lakeside right across the street and adequate private docking if you want to bring your boat. The lake, by the way, is loaded with fish and Jay operates a bait and tackle shop on the premises. If you're nice, he might share a secret spot or two with you.

If you're looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay for your visit to the Adirondacks, you won't go wrong with the Red Top Inn.

Room Tip: If you have 3+ people, try to book one of the two front apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We picked this hotel because it said nightly bon fires and thought that would be nice to do on a fall night. When we were checking in I asked about that, and she said you have to pay $10 for the wood and you might have other hotel patrons come to enjoy it with you. We saw it was AAA approved on their website and when we asked if we could get the AAA rate she said no, this is the price it is. Also upon checking in she said let me know if you need anything. Well I wanted to go down there and say can we get a box spring with our bed? The hard as a rock thin mattress was on top of a plywood box instead of a box spring. I already get back problems so I had to sleep with one of the thin pillows under my legs and bunched up my bathrobe to make it more soft under my side. It even hurt my back sitting on the bed to watch TV. Thank god I brought a pillow from home because the pillows are so thin. My husband who doesn't have back issues was up at 3:00AM with side pain and couldn't get back to sleep. I couldn't wait until morning to get out of there. The people next door to us had their TV on all night and we could hear that as well. The only good thing about this place is it was clean and the owner was nice but she needs to spend some money on better beds! We are tent campers and I so wished we went camping instead, the air mattress would have felt like heaven on earth compared to that bed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank vicki w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsey, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Basic resting place in a beautiful setting. Nice people in management. a Simple good no frills place. Bed comfortable. worth the price. not too far from the town. Right off the highway-nice views of the Lake

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desperado265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strausstown pa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We always have a good time at the RED TOP INN.The cabin is clean,comfortable and inexpensive.We stayed from Aug. 16th till the 20th.There are plenty of things to do IF you know
where to go.The fishing was good.The scenery excellent.The people are nice.I highly disagree with the bad rap or negative reviews people give the red top.This Tupper lake as in layed back,
relaxing,fishing,canoeing etc.If your looking for 5 star acommadtions,go to lake placid and hang with the yuppie crowd.We will be back again next year,same time so hold a room for us.

Room Tip: We like the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tupper Lake
20.2 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
435 reviews
20.2 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
10.9 mi away
The Point
The Point
#3 of 9 in Saranac Lake
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat
Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat
#1 of 1 in Lake Clear
84 reviews
17.7 mi away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
104 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#1 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Top Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Top Inn

Property: Red Top Inn
Address: 1562 State Rte 30, Tupper Lake, NY 129868
Location: United States > New York > Tupper Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tupper Lake
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Red Top Hotel Tupper Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing