We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Spot”
Review of Elm Street Cafe

Elm Street Cafe
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Tully
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Warm Spot”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

You realize immediately that this is a favorite for the locals. Waitresses are very friendly and accommodating. We ordered special omelets which were warm, fresh and tasty. Coffee was fresh and good and the breads were filled with grain. If you want a spot to meet friends this is it! A treasure for the small town.

They need strawberry jam to add to their jelly selection.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
L'Orignal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So glad we ate local”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at a local Best Western and had plans to drive back to Syracuse for dinner. The front desk had let us know about local restaurants including the Elm St Cafe. Tired and not craving anything in particular we decided to go there. I had a burger with mash and gravy, SO had a steak sandwich. Now some may say... What's so special about a burger... You can get burgers everywhere. Yup and a lot of places make average and mediocre burgers. Too many places buy frozen pre made patties... Yes I can taste the difference, can't you??? Joey loved his sandwich and would have even said it was awesome, but then he tasted my burger and kept taking bites so he didn't have enough room to finish his dinner. Mash, gravy, coleslaw were all homemade too.
Service was a sweet young girl who made sure we lacked for nothing.
We've been leaving behind some happy wait staff... Recently we have both had stomach surgery which means we can't drink when we eat, and appetite is very small, but we decided to leave the same tip we would have if we had drinks, apps, mains and maybe even dessert. So it's been 40-50%. For tonight's meal we were happy to pay $30 total with tip for tummies and taste buds grinning ear to ear. PS my fabulous burger with side was under $7

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katzmeow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not bad for an old gas station”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

An imaginative and eclectic menu are just the beginning. Coupled with delicious food which is fresh and well-prepared and a friendly and knowledgeable wait staff makes the Elm Street Café worth a trip from almost anywhere in the CNY area. The only downside? VERY limited seating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank creegah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty prime rib!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This casual restaurant right at the main intersection in town had prime rib special. It was delicious! The service was cordial and speedy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank saundrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“I Love This Place!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Set in a converted gas station, the Elm Street Cafe epitomizes the small local place that is big on character and flavor. The menu is very inventive. There are items, such as the Jenny Craig Dropout, that are on the menu as a novelty. Every dish I have had here is excellent. They use real butter and you can taste the difference it makes. For breakfast, the potatoes are a must. Soft and yummy. They compliment every egg dish the ESC makes. Service is friendly and fast. A bonafide find in the middle of nowhere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roccoz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elm Street Cafe also viewed

 
Tully, Finger Lakes
Tully, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Elm Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing