We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Just Love Laurie at Morning Glory”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 9 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Just Love Laurie at Morning Glory”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great location within walking distance to town. The yard is a peaceful oasis.

Home: Tastefully decorated with lots of books, games and free wi-fi. The porch area is where we usually congregate with the other guests and exchange stories of what we have done during our visit. My only regret is that I don’t spend a day reading all the interesting books that she has available to guests. One day. Louis – the owner’s small dog was so sweet (never barked) and was a joy to have around.

Breakfast: Amazing – fills you up for an active day. During our latest 4 night stay, we had coffee, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, sauteed veggies, potatoes, an assortment of teas, fruit juice, bacon, rolls, French Toast casserole (Oh Yes! with cinn raisin bread & cream cheese), Spinach strata which was a savory delight, Belgian waffles…seriously! Not all on the same day of course – but you definitely wake up to some good eats.

Laurie, the owner, is so lovely, sweet, accommodating and helpful. She always answers all our questions and gives us great tips on the area and where to go to eat & visit. She is at the ready when you need something, but somehow at the same time is very respectful of giving you privacy and she lets you have your own space in the house.

We have stayed here 2 times now and plan on staying every year for our annual get away to the Finger Lakes!

Room Tip: The library in Logan's room is amazing! The master suite has a private deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
85
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I can not say enough good things about the lady of the house and the business she is running!!
We have been to several B&B and this one is really special. You feel at home, almost as if you're staying at your mom's summer house. The food was great, every room has its own bathroom so you never feel awkward with the other guests. The rooms have AC's and heaters in them and the owner gives you more pillows, blankets, and towels than you would need for a year. :)
The best part was her recommendations. We've never been in Trumansburg (it is GORGEOUS!!!) before so we were not sure where to go for dinners/wine tastings/hikes, etc. Every recommendation she made exceeded our expectations. And as New Yorkers... We are hard to please. Do not hesitate to ask for her for anything you need help with!
Honestly, I can't wait to get back and I am jealous of anyone going there.
P.S. The location of the B&B is great for anyone traveling to the finger-lakes, and Ithaca college or Cornell!

Room Tip: Every room is special in its own way. Which ever room you'll pick you will do good however if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I returned for a weekend in the master suite at this wonderful establishment. The room was private and comfortable -- we had our own roof porch and private bath. The breakfasts were delicious (waffles, quiche, pancakes, eggs) and Laurie was accommodating to our various dietary needs (vegetarian and low-salt). Though not a big fan of dogs, one can't help loving Louie, a friendly miniature poodle with a good temperament. The folks around the breakfast table were interesting and lively. We will come back every time we go to Ithaca. It is about 12 minutes from town and very relaxing. While you are there, make sure to dine at the Hazelnut Cafe in Trumansburg.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AOesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I am a reluctant "B&Ber". When my wife and I returned to the Fingerlake region of NY after moving to Texas, we decided to enjoy the beautiful Cayuga Lake area with a stay at Morning Glory.

Laurie, the owner/host has created a beautiful, relaxing and private space. The room was clean with a private bath, the breakfast was delicious and the company was delightful. The value is also remarkable.

The Trumansburg, Ithaca area is gorgeous with much to do and see. Visit a winery, buy some antiques, listen to live music and stay at Morning Glory.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife and I had never stayed at a B&B before and weren't sure what to expect. Not only did we have a gracious hostess and amazing room, Trumansburg was a pleasant surprise as well. We hiked the falls, had coffee in town, shopped the Ithica farmer's market, and best of all, read in bed all day after an amazing breakfast.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Morning Glory is the place of choice to stay if you are in the Finger Lakes region. Laurie's B&B is breathtaking beautiful, with large bedrooms and bath (we stayed in the Master Suite and the room and the size of the bath was huge), a well-decorated and large sitting room/lounge and of course, a delightful breakfast to kick off your day. Laurie is a charming host and has spared no effort in making this place home for all those lucky enough to get away and experience the charm of the Finger Lakes. We give her 5-thumbs up for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Shokan, New York
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Morning Glory Bed and Breakfast was the perfect place for my husand and I. Laurie's home is charming and every detail reflects the soulful person she is. We had a wonderful time. Our room was cozy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was yummy. The location is convenient to to The State Park, as well as the quaint little Town of Trumansburg. We would highly recommend staying at Morning Glory Bed and Breakfast. We certainly plan to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggywestshokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumansburg
10.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
10.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
9.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
10.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Bed and Breakfast

Property: Morning Glory Bed and Breakfast
Address: 89 Cayuga St, Trumansburg, NY 14886-9106
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing