We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B ever”
Review of Halsey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halsey House
Ranked #1 of 9 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2007

The owners, Mitch and KC were so accomodating and frendly. We felt comfortable the moment we stepped into their home. The home is beautiful. Full of warmth. First class beds, linen, pillows. Breakfast was excellent. If your looking for a nice quite get away, or want to impress a loved one, this would be your one and only choice in the area. A plus all the way. Enjoy.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank Callawayx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 385 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2007

This was my first B&B, and let me tell you that it will definitely be hard for any other B&B to live up to the Halsey House! It is immaculate, gorgeous, and one of a kind. KC and Mitch are wonderfully welcoming and top notch innkeepers...not to mention top cooks with their delicious breakfast! The house is in a great location and so very well kept. The coziness and quaintness made me feel right at home. I look forward to revisiting, especially in the fall when the foliage is at its best!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingGirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We had a girls' weekend in the Finger Lakes at the Halsey House. This bed and breakfast is a jewel! The house is beautifully decorated, our room was able to accomodate all four of us very comfortably and the breakfasts were fabulous! Mitch and KC made recommendations for our wine tour and helped us with restaurant selections. They were very gracious hosts and we really enjoyed our weekend at their bed and breakfast. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirl08_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We had planned a trip to the Finger Lakes wine country and found a great Bed and Breakfast on the internet. It was The Halsey House in Trumansburg, N.Y,
Their web site was very well done but not as impressive as it was when we actually got there. The innkeepers, K.C. and Mitch, were warm and friendly people and made us feel right at home. The rooms were even nicer than expected and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud.
We were pleasently surprised with the breakfast, being toast and coffee people. I could learn to get used to starting every day that way but I couldn`t get K.C. to give me any of her recipes.
There`s no doubt we will be back to The Halsey House again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank golfingguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

A true gem set in the midst of a gentle rolling land where gorges and waterfalls were carved out by the violent force of ice and water long ago, the Halsey House is the perfect place from which to explore all the beauty of the Finger Lakes region of New York State that you can manage to fit into your stay.

Beautifully maintained with many amenities for your comfort and pleasure, the structure, furnishings and general decor of the Halsey House and the grounds will be appreciated and enjoyed by both guys and gals (more info and photos on their web site or google Halsey House). Choose one of the common rooms to read, play a game or just meditate on a time when life was less
complicated. Relax on the porch or make yourself comfortable on a chair in the backyard and gaze at the trees and foliage all around you. Perhaps your eye will catch a resident chipmunk scurrying about in one of the bushes. Your hosts, Mitch and his wife, KC, are warm and personable and make themselves available for your questions about where to go and how to get
there without being obtrusive.

A good time for such a conversation would be at the breakfast table where your hosts really shine. You may not have noticed the soft music playing gently in the background as you first entered the dining room, but at some point you recognize it is there, adding to the glow of your morning. Perhaps you were focusing on the beautiful table setting (different each of
the three mornings we were there), when on queue, your host Mitch makes his entry. From his cheerful and impeccable food service to the delicious gourmet style breakfast entrees, all expertly prepared by KC, you will be delighted!! KC carefully chooses her menus through much advance preparation and experimentation, and what finally appears on your plate each
morning is the very best of the best for your pleasure. If you can handle it, seconds are yours.

We chose "Serenity", one of five rooms, in part because of the soft gold patterned wall paper which was very soothing to the eye and psyche. The room was well-appointed and the King sized, ultra comfortable bed was one of the best I have ever slept in. The good-sized, recently renovated bathroom with its large and beautifully tiled shower stall provided plenty of hot water and water pressure and plush bathrobes were on hand to slip into
afterward. I found myself calculating whether Serenity could be mine for a year or so, but even that would not be long enough...

Can you tell there is much more I could say, but you should have your own experience and I hope you will, especially if you are a bird lover. Perhaps we will see you there if you should decide to visit when the leaves change this fall...

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rhuerit_n_buut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

We stayed at Halsey House for three nights during the 4th of July week. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. From the owners KC and Mitch to the decor, to the linens, to the breakfast everything exceeded our expectations. Trumansburg is a very small town located 15 miles north of Ithaca and we did not expect to find a world class B&B like Halsey House when we decided to visit. The interior is stunning with beautiful furniture, wallpaper, paintings and draperies. The B&B has been renovated in the last 4-5 years with all new bathrooms that were large with all the amenities. We enjoyed our breakfasts each morning. They were creative, delicious and served very promptly. The lively conversations in the morning kept us at the table well past normal breakfast times. KC and Mitch were a delight to talk with. They are very knowledgable about the area and were a great help in making dinner reservations each night. The porch and patio were also nice spots to take in the outdoors and enjoy conversations with other guests. Overall we would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardenerBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We just returned from a 2-night stay at Halsey House, a B&B in Trumansburg NY about 3 miles from the western side of Cayuga Lake and 15 minutes north of Ithaca in the Finger Lakes region. Ours was a delightful stay in a restored house that is truly elegant and hosted by two cordial and thoroughly entertaining hosts, KC and Mitch. Breakfasts were the best we've had at a B&B (prepared by KC) and all the amenities were first-class (rooms, bathrooms, towels, etc.). There's a nice sunporch plus a very pleasant patio with waterfall and tromp d'oeil painted wall. We go to this region about once a year and fully intend to stay there again. Many restaurants are accessible within about a 15-minute drive, including those in Ithaca. Really excellent in our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCBOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumansburg
9.8 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
9.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
696 reviews
2.2 mi away
Inn at Taughannock
Inn at Taughannock
#5 of 9 in Trumansburg
118 reviews
15.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halsey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsey House

Address: 2057 State Route 96, Trumansburg, NY 14886-9129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range: $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and romantic Finger Lakes bed & breakfast inn near Ithaca, NY, Cornell University, Ithaca College, Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails and many waterfalls. Located across from Taughannock Falls State Park, we feature private, luxuriously comfortable guestrooms which may include 2-person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and/or large custom showers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing