We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every need was met before we asked”
Review of Halsey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halsey House
Ranked #1 of 9 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
syracuse, ny
1 review
“Every need was met before we asked”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed in the beautiful "Margaret's Retreat " for our first wedding anniversary. The room's decor was extremely luxurious with a marvelous queen-sized walnut canopy bed, and a hand carved armoire. There was a CD & DVD Player in the room as well. The suite also had a two-person jacuzzi tub.
Breakfast was a delicious treat of creamsicle french toast with warm local maple syrup and a side of fresh strawberries.
Mitch (the owner) went out of his way to make a special anniversary gift happen. KC and Mitch have a casual professionalism about them that down plays the elegance of the house which speaks for itself.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g-mfosdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
286
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2010

My wife and I (and occasionally our Cornell-attending daughter) have stayed here several times over the last few years and sincerely rate this lovely spot at the top of the 7 or 8 similar establishments we have stayed at while visiting our daughter, local friends and the Finger Lakes region. K.C. & Mitch, the proprietors, have put together a comfortable, stylish and welcoming place that will be sure to please. The rooms are very homey (if you live in a House Beautiful-type home) - high quality furnishings and thoughtful amenities. The breakfast part of the place is worth the stay alone - KC sets a beautiful table & Mitch keeps things lively with a pleasant banter and easy-going manner. Close to the Cayuga Lake wine trail, 10 minutes from downtown Ithaca and 15 minutes from Cornell, it makes for a great home base to enjoy this charming region.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwholey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

My husband and I have travelled extensively and stayed in B&B's and Inns throughout the world, and Halsey House is right on top.....Heaven. The B&B was full but, with the exception of breakfast where everyone gathered, it felt like you were home alone in this big beautiful mansion where every comfort was available. The gourmet breakfasts rival 5-star resorts. I especially loved Mitch's comedy routines at breakfast and KC is sweet as can be. There is a beautifully landscaped waterfall in the backyard where you can sit and relax. The innkeepers attention to detail is obvious and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, NJ
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My wife and I were in Ithaca for our Grandsons Graduation and Mitch and KC made the weekend even more pleasurable.

They took care of us as if we were family and made our stay more meaningful.

The breakfasts were unusual and delicious.

The entire house was warm and friendly.

On our next trip to Canada we plan to make Halsey House a stopover.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Benwashingtonnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, NJ
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We had the best time at the Halsey House. The owners, KC and Mitch were extremely accommodating and welcoming. It was a beautiful place to stay, we never wanted to leave! We recommend this a million times over.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allies_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and had the greatest weekend. I have stayed at 4 star hotels that were not as nice as this. Every detail inside and outside the house is luxurious. You feel like you are at your own private country home. We had great breakfasts at the Inn, enjoyed the surrounding areas, the gorges, downtown Ithaca had fun restaurants, bars etc. You cannot go wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2010

What a wonderful place to stay.The house is beautiful and the host's are very friendly and professional.The food was far beyond my expectations.I think someone cooking there must have went to culinary school.Very enjoyable stay.I would highly recommend The Halsey House.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pprhngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumansburg
9.8 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
9.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University
2.2 mi away
Inn at Taughannock
Inn at Taughannock
#5 of 9 in Trumansburg
83 reviews
15.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halsey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsey House

Property: Halsey House
Address: 2057 State Route 96, Trumansburg, NY 14886-9129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and romantic Finger Lakes bed & breakfast inn near Ithaca, NY, Cornell University, Ithaca College, Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails and many waterfalls. Located across from Taughannock Falls State Park, we feature private, luxuriously comfortable guestrooms which may include 2-person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and/or large custom showers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing