We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT”
Review of Halsey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halsey House
Ranked #1 of 9 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, NJ
1 review
“LOVED IT”
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We had the best time at the Halsey House. The owners, KC and Mitch were extremely accommodating and welcoming. It was a beautiful place to stay, we never wanted to leave! We recommend this a million times over.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allies_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
286
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and had the greatest weekend. I have stayed at 4 star hotels that were not as nice as this. Every detail inside and outside the house is luxurious. You feel like you are at your own private country home. We had great breakfasts at the Inn, enjoyed the surrounding areas, the gorges, downtown Ithaca had fun restaurants, bars etc. You cannot go wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2010

What a wonderful place to stay.The house is beautiful and the host's are very friendly and professional.The food was far beyond my expectations.I think someone cooking there must have went to culinary school.Very enjoyable stay.I would highly recommend The Halsey House.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pprhngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2010

From the moment we walked into the door, we were under the spell of this amazing establishment. Located just in between the bustle of Ithaca and the heart of wine country, Halsey House was the perfect place to stay for our mini vacation. The owners, KC and Mitch have spent some serious time and energy making this 19th century house perfect for visitors looking for a getaway. The perfect mix of luxury and laid back, Halsey House and its lovely owners are attentive to every detail and made our stay fantastic.
We stayed in the most newly renovated room “Elegance” and boy did it live up to its name. Equipped with a gas fireplace and lovely furnishings, this room sets a romantic tone that was hard to beat. The queen sized bed was incredibly plush and made for a very comfortable night sleep. Each room has its own bathroom and ours was equipped with a beautiful archway shower that had multiple spraying heads. Luxurious, we felt spoiled and so relaxed. Breakfast was amazing each day (stuffed French toast and a baked apple on our last morning YUM!) and served in their beautiful dining room that made us feel like royalty. After breakfast we were given the opportunity to explore the beautiful aviary, and meet the owners “kids”, a feisty bunch of parrots who were very friendly, noisy, and fun. I got to hold my first parrot! For the traveler who is concerned about this, you cannot hear the parrots from any of the rooms and my partner was surprised to hear that they had parrots at all.
If you want to enjoy the Cayuga and Seneca wine country and are looking for a relaxing and elegant place to stay, Halsey House is for you!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo,ny
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Perfect...feels like stepping back in time the second you enter this wonderful house...great ambience as you walk through and experience each room. This is a magical place which dissolves any stress you may bring.
The hosts are very warm and friendly and give you a welcoming feeling when you arrive.
They also give you complete privacy as they have thier own living quarters which was a very nice touch to this B&B. Very quiet, peaceful and clean.
Breakfast was very enjoyable at the time of your choosing with soft background music playing and the food was delicious.
Could not ask for anything more...can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithl5633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2010

It was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast and I must say from this point on I will be spoiled. The house is beautiful. We were greeted by Mitch upon arrival We were given a breakdown of places to go, things to do, wineries and places to go to for dinner. We had access to a well stocked beverage fridge and complimentary snacks are laid out at night as well. The room (the smallest..which wasn't small at all..very cozy in fact) had a beautiful view. The rooms are well spread so you can not hear the other guests. We were even allowed breakfast in our room!!! Renovated bathroom and very comfy bed. The room was equipped with Flat Screen TV with DVD player. We recommend the American Vineyard that is only 5 minutes away from the house via car. We are from Manhattan and it was great to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. We will most definitely recommend this B&B to all of our friends and family!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamichulie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2009

One of my favorite things of the visit was just walking around the home. Each room was impeccably decorated and so clean. Sitting by the pond with a glass of wine was my favorite! The bedroom was charming and you sleep like a dream on the best mattress I've ever experienced. The bathroom design was the bathroom I want in my own home. You seriously walk away with home envy!! KC and Mitch were always available to answer any of our questions on the area or where to eat that night. I felt so pampered! Breakfast was delicious. I didn’t want to leave and I can’t wait to return!! Thank you for an amazing time!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paw1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumansburg
9.8 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
9.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University
2.2 mi away
Inn at Taughannock
Inn at Taughannock
#5 of 9 in Trumansburg
83 reviews
15.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halsey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsey House

Property: Halsey House
Address: 2057 State Route 96, Trumansburg, NY 14886-9129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and romantic Finger Lakes bed & breakfast inn near Ithaca, NY, Cornell University, Ithaca College, Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails and many waterfalls. Located across from Taughannock Falls State Park, we feature private, luxuriously comfortable guestrooms which may include 2-person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and/or large custom showers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing