We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience; like staying in the home you always dreamed of having!”
Review of Halsey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halsey House
Ranked #1 of 9 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calistoga, California
1 review
“An amazing experience; like staying in the home you always dreamed of having!”
Reviewed November 21, 2009

One of my favorite things of the visit was just walking around the home. Each room was impeccably decorated and so clean. Sitting by the pond with a glass of wine was my favorite! The bedroom was charming and you sleep like a dream on the best mattress I've ever experienced. The bathroom design was the bathroom I want in my own home. You seriously walk away with home envy!! KC and Mitch were always available to answer any of our questions on the area or where to eat that night. I felt so pampered! Breakfast was delicious. I didn’t want to leave and I can’t wait to return!! Thank you for an amazing time!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paw1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
289
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville MN
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Our three day stay at Halsey House included a gorgeous and spacious room, excellent and friendly service and superb breakfasts. Mitch and K.C. make you feel welcome and give just the right touch for a wonderful B&B experience. This historic inn is a most convenient base from which to explore the Finger Lakes. The magnificent Taughannock Falls State Park is just one mile away. The Inn is located between Cayuga and Senneca Lakes and the wineries surrounding them. Each day we visited the sites and then returned to our warm, inviting room at the inn. We would highly recommend Halsey House for anyone visiting the Finger Lakes area and plan to return in the near future.
--Mark and Betsy McAfee, Lakeville, Minnesota

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PepperLakevilleMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We spent our first night of a four day trip exploring the Finger Lakes at the Halsey House and it was THE BEST of all our accommodations. I selected it because of its proximity to Watkin's Glen and Taughannock (love hiking around waterfalls!) and the great reviews on Trip Advisor. Mitch greeted us at the car, helped carry our things, and then gave us a tour of their lovely home. We stayed in Serenity which was just that...beautifully decorated and serene! We really appreciated the little extras offered here...a water cooler and small refrigerator/freezer in the second floor hallway, wine glasses and bottle opener in the room, a basket of snacks and a beverage refrigerator filled with a variety of sodas on the first floor along with another water cooler. There were books and DVD's to borrow and many common areas for relaxing. After returning from dinner, we noticed the breakfast menu displayed on the table inside the front door and it sounded so yummy it wasn't difficult to get up and out! The table was set and the coffee was ready while KC and Mitch completed the final preparations of THE BEST pina colada pancakes (something we had never tried before!) with sides of fresh fruit and bacon...truly a breakfast worthy of praise not only for the taste but the presentation!! THANK YOU KC and Mitch!
TIP: Yes, you can walk to Taughannock from the house but I suggest you drive so you can travel to the various trails/look-outs within the state park.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights with KC and Mitch at Halsey and wished we could have stayed a couple more. The house has been sympathetically decorated in keeping with its history. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed, including free soft drinks, snacks and comprehensive DVD collection. Internet access is provided by the use of a shared laptop which is really helpful. Mitch gave us plenty of ideas for places to walk and eat. Breakfast was excellent and kept us going till dinner time!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

The Halsey House was just gorgeous. The decor was perfect, including an extremely up-to-date bathroom with the softest towels. The bed was awesome and the breakfast was delicious. Mitch and KC, the innkeepers, were so friendly. Additionally, the Halsey House is just a short walk from the Taughanock Falls, which was breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missisoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it! Our room (Margaret's Retreat ) was so comfortable and impeccably decorated. The innkeepers have done a wonderful job making this beautiful old house (built in the 1820s) into luxurious and romantic accomodations -- gorgeous furnishings (we had a beautiful 4 poster bed and hand-carved armoire in our room, comfy robes, 2 person jacuzzi, romantic albums in the CD player, etc. It was a treat! We'd recommend getting a reservation for dinner at Hazelnuts in Trumansburg. Really delicious and just a few miles from the B&B. Would also recommend taking a dip in the swimming hole across the street!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kastir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hasley House for our one year wedding anniversary at the end of July. From the moment we arrived Mitch met us at our car and introduced himself and offered to help us with our bags. Throughout our stay, Mitch and KC were great hosts. The breakfest's were very tastey, loved those pecan muffins, KC. We stayed in the Margaret's retreat room and it was fantastic. We enjoyed the jacuzzi tub. Mitch and KC have spent alot of time focusing on all the little details i.e teas, snacks, water vase, wine glasses, fresh towles every day, blow dryer in the room and DVD's. which made the stay more enjoyable.

We also visted Watkins Glen State Park which we would highly recommend. The Gorge is amazing.

Mitch had previously recommended a few restaurants to dine in. We decided on two restaurants in Ithica ....the first one was the Maghony Grill (great patio) and the other was Za Za's (awesome pumpkin ravioli). They were both great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumansburg
9.8 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
9.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University
15.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,200 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halsey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsey House

Property: Halsey House
Address: 2057 State Route 96, Trumansburg, NY 14886-9129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and romantic Finger Lakes bed & breakfast inn near Ithaca, NY, Cornell University, Ithaca College, Cayuga and Seneca Lake Wine Trails and many waterfalls. Located across from Taughannock Falls State Park, we feature private, luxuriously comfortable guestrooms which may include 2-person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and/or large custom showers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing