We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon. The B&B is beautiful, inside and out. Bruce is super friendly and makes sure you have everything you need. My husband absolutely loved the breakfasts! We would definitely come back for another stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 262 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and did our research for a place to stay while visiting family in Central NY. The pictures on the website alone were enough to make us want to stay, but the place is even better than the pictures. It is evenre better than this review because it simply MUST be seen and experienced for you to understand the true beauty of the place, and the people. We stayed just after Christmas, and Juniper Hill was decorated to the nines. Everywhere you turned there was something beautiful, shiny, or cheeky funny to look at. The lamp from "A Christmas Story" will never be forgotten. I cannot say enough about...A.) How beautiful and luxurious yet quaint the house, the rooms, or the grounds are and B.) How incredibly friendly the staff are. Bruce took great care of us and saw to our every need. Sadly, we got called back to Canada for work late that night, and had to leave at 6:00am our last day. Bruce made sure there were travel mugs, hot coffee, and delicious muffins ready right outside out door when we left and was dissappointd that we couldn't stay so he could fix us a proper breakfast! This is the Highest Standard upon which to compare ANY other B&B I have ever stayed at, and I would recommend that you either make a special trip, or change your route to include Juniper Hill on ANY trip through NY state. Perfect Perfect Perfect. It is clear that Bruce and David Love what they do, and do it perfectly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Juniper Hill for two nights on the way to New Hampshire, and absolutely LOVED it. The owners, Bruce and Dave, were wonderful, warm, and friendly hosts. Their lovely home was filled with antiques, paintings, and the decor was amazing. Our room looked like it came right out of a designer magazine. I hope Bruce won't mind that I have copied some of his decorating ideas for my own house. Dave, on the other hand, designed the bathroom which we found to be unique and a space saver. We might have to borrow that idea too! The gardens were beautiful and quite serene. We have been to many B&Bs over the years, but this B&B had everything a traveler would want or need. There was an impressive assortment of snacks, baked goodies, and drinks available for their guests. Breakfast was amazing each morning and Bruce would always have a pot of coffee ready outside the rooms. We had breakfast both in the elegant dining room and the lovely breakfast room off the kitchen. Bruce made us a gourmet, three course "to die for meal" each day. There is an excellent place for dinner - The Hazelnut Cafe- just down the block. We can't wait to make a return trip the next time we visit Cornell. For my 25th Reunion, I stayed in my freshman dorm with my friends. With all the wonderful amenities at Juniper Hill, I just can't see me in a dorm room again. Thank you Bruce and Dave for sharing your gorgeous home with us, Susan and Rick.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornellu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This B&B has a very welcoming feel! The owner ensures that your stay is everything you desire and more! He gives great recommendations for sight-seeing, dinners, and he provides ABSOLUTELY AMAZING breakfasts! I don't know what all recipes he has, but while we were there, we had two breakfasts which both consisted of 3 or 4 courses. Some of the items included chilled minted peach soup (sounds strange, tastes GREAT), French Toast with Banana Foster (WOW...my favorite by the way), baked apple filled with granola and dried cranberry, sausage, ham, and a deconstructed blueberry muffin. All of the food is made in the next room, brought out hot and fresh, and served in luxurious style! The breakfasts were the second best part of our honeymoon!!! ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Oh my, we loved this place. Lovely house and grounds. The decor is amazing. The house is filled with antiques, curios and paintings (many for sale). The fabrics in our room were beautiful and Ted, one of the owners, has a real eye for mixing patterns. Reminiscent of luxurious Masterpiece Theatre country houses.

Very nice outdoor shaded seating area. Bruce, the other owner greeted us and gave us a tour that included a very impressive array of snacks (decorated chocolate brownies with white chocolate and crystallized ginger), biscotti, chips, water, soft drinks and plates and napkins so guests can really make themselves at home. Also a wicker basket with a note - dirty dishes, so you know where to put things when you are finished. I love attention to those kinds of details. Free and very fast wi-fi that worked well outside. No password which makes it hassle free. A large living room with fireplace, games room and a ton of DVDs and books.

Our room was a bit snug to walk around, (the Benson Room - $262) but had everything we needed. Comfortable couch; very comfortable bed and pillows, (one suggestion - longer sheets to tuck under your chin); closet outfitted with padded hangars, iron and ironing board, robes, slippers, mini fridge; Flat screen tv; air conditioner; ceiling fan; dresser and lots of coasters. Very good lighting. The bathroom was so pretty and had different soaps and toiletries, full sized blow dryer, thick embroidered towels, windows, good lighting, large mirror (maybe a make -up mirror?) and a sunken jacuzzi tub with rain shower head and a hand spray. Loved the Charlie Chaplin rubber ducky.

Breakfast was served in the dining room with candles, and there is a pretty sun porch for warmer weather . The china and cutlery are beautiful and the tables have gorgeous table cloths. 3 course breakfast - cranberry lime juice, chilled minted peach soup, warm piña colada fruit crisp, lemon blueberry pancakes and sausages (perhaps warm the syrup). Tea or coffee. My tea was served with an adorable tiny china basket for the used tea bag, another nice detail.

We stayed here on our way back from NYC to Toronto, to break up the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay and spend a day as we traveled from Boston to Niagara Falls and were so fortunate to find Juniper Hills. They had a room (Frank W. Benson room) available. Juniper Hill is a beautiful place. Spring was bursting out all over the lush grounds, our room was very comfortable, immaculate and included a modern private bath/jaccuzzi. Hot coffee/juice was outside our door at 8AM and breakfast was a three course scrumptious feast served promptly at 9AM leaving us plenty of time to get to Niagara Falls that same day. Their recommendation to see Watkins Glen State Park (which we did on our way to Trumansburg) was also spot-on. What a natural gem with a gorgeous gorge and waterfall that was an easy 1.5-2.0 hour hike (maybe shorter if we hadn't stopped for so many photos). Others have talked about the museum quality furnishings and artwork EVERYWHERE in Juniper hill, so that leads me to one of our two regrets...(1) wish we'd have planned our travels for two days here instead of one, so we could have enjoyed this lovely B&B longer and to visit more of the local Finger Lakes wineries, and (2) we wished have been there on an evening other than a Tues/Wed because we didn't realize the #1 rated restaurant (Hazelnut Café--a short block walk from Juniper Hills) was closed then. We "settled" for Little Venice, located next to the Hazelnut, instead. It wasn't anything like the meal we'd have had at Hazelnut, but the beer was cold and the garlic knots addicting! Bottom line for us is if we were every near Trumansburg again, we'd be sure to stay at Juniper Hill.

Room Tip: The Frank W. Benson room is a bit tight, but still plenty of room. Can't comment on other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluegrass_Boiler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed in Mary Cassatt room. Absolutely divine. Historical, eclectic, luxurious...accommodating hosts thinking of every small detail. I've stayed at B&Bs all over the world...and this is definitely top 5...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank te2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 16 Elm St, Trumansburg, NY 14886-9544
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range: $170 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Juniper Hill Bed & Breakfast offers luxurious privacy, yet easy walk to eclectic Trumansburg shops and bars/restaurants and short drive to Ithaca culture, Cornell and Ithaca Universities. Enjoy the beautiful Finger Lakes in upstate New York along the Seneca and Cayuga Lake Wine Trails. Our Inn is right in the heart of 25 New York State Parks and a variety of museums and historic homes. The countryside is dotted with over 90 wineries, orchards, dairy farms, award-winning restaurants, and shopping/antiquing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Juniper Hill Bed And Breakfast
Juniper Hill Hotel Trumansburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing