We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful escape early in the morning”

Taughannock Falls State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Trumansburg, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful escape early in the morning”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Taughannock Falls State Park has some quiet spots for a peaceful escape and meditation, especially in the early morning. North Point is generally less crowded.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BackpackingNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    210
    38
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Definitely go”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This place is awesome. A friend talked a group of us into road tripping to NY for the weekend to handle some family business and promised to make it worthwhile, they did. We went hiking in many places but this was the best. One my favorites on the east coast.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfall in Autumn”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited the park in Nov and the fall view was stunning. The gorge trail was opened and was an easy walk for a 6y.o. The falls color added colors to the place. Don't forget to visit the park opposite the falls parking area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamesKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

From the parkig lot you have a choice of the Rim Trail or the Gorge Trail. We took the Gorge trail which, compared to the day-before's Buttemilk Falls was dead easy.

There are many interpretive / informative tableaux along the way. At the end you rather suddenly realize there is a Really High waterfall ahead.

Later, we discovered that you could drive up to a lookout along the rim trail (and continue walking it, for that matter).

We will be back to enjoy the Falls at different times of the year. Especially thinking that our young grandsons will manage this rather easy, but interesting, trail.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith_KMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Waterfall”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We visited this park while staying in the nearby town of Trumansburg New York. It was a cloudy and cool day as we hiked the trail to the falls. The leaves were changing and the sun broke through just as we were taking a photo of the falls. The park is lovely and puts you in touch with nature.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheDwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taughannock Falls State Park also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Taughannock Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing