We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Trophy Club, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Host”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time in the Finger Lakes. Our stay at Black Walnut made our time there very special. Jack is a great host ! We did not have much time to plan our time in the area so the day we got there Jack took the time to go over a map and give us suggestions of places to visit in the area. We had full days of sightseeing and when we returned for the day, there was a refreshing glass of wine waiting for us and we could relax on his back porch admiring the beautiful gardens. The breakfast was so delicious each morning and our room was very comfortable. This was our first visit to upstate New York and Jack helped make it a memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
108
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Canoe, GA
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights here, and we were pleased with everything! The host, Jack, is very knowledgeable about all the interesting and fun things to do at the Finger Lakes, and we enjoyed Ithaca and Seneca Falls, Cayuga and Seneca Lakes, the wineries, the Ithaca Farmer's Market (featuring everything from local veggies to jewelry and handmade items), Cornell University (don't miss the art gallery), and numerous excellent restaurants.
The inn is a lovely and comfortable 1802 farmhouse with very comfortable rooms and a gorgeous and large English garden in the back. If we wanted to relax with a book, we had a choice of the living room, sunroom, or outside in the lovely garden.
The breakfasts were gourmet, and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests as we enjoyed the varied and delicious food.
We will certainly return!! The Finger Lakes are awesome, and the Black Walnut Inn a treat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Black Walnut was a great find. Located right in the middle of the Finger Lakes at the start of the Cayuga wine trail, and near Ithaca, getting anywhere in the region is easy. Jack, the owner, was incredibly hospitable and knowledgeable and his breakfasts were amazing. We stayed 3 nights in a lovely room in this 1802 farmhouse. I highly recommend it and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronni676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent Labor Day weekend at this lovely bed & breakfast. It offered everything we needed--a comfortable bed, private bath, delicious breakfast, free wifi, guest kitchen, chilled water bottles, etc. The owner, Jack, was extremely helpful and a pleasure to talk with.

We planned our get-away around entertainment in the Cayuga Lake area. Upon our arrival, we stopped at Sheldrake Winery. They offered some very good dry white wines. Next stop was Buttonwood. Their Blackberry Briar wine is sweet but makes a great slushy. Then it was off to Cayuga Ridge. This was our least favorite winery. We did have a pizza from their wood-fired oven at Copper Oven, which was pretty good Our final stop was Thirsty Owl where a duo was playing. It was wonderful to sit out on their expansive lawn sipping on some wine enjoying the music and the view. For dinner we planned to go to Dorothy's Music Room; however, it was closed for renovations. :-( We ended up at O'Malleys, which was okay.

Sunday started with an hearty delicious breakfast. After a quick tour of Trumansburg, we headed north to Swedish Hill. That was okay. Next stop was Cobblestone. We really liked it there. They have a wonderful selection of jams, oils, mixes, sauces, etc. to sample and they do food pairings with the tasting, From their we headed back to Thirsty Owl for lunch at their bistro. There was a different duo playing and we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch (thai wings and BLT), the music, and wine. Our final stop was at Americana Winery. It is a short walk from the Black Walnut, so we parked at the B&B and walked to the winery. We did the tasting (complimentary pass provided by Black Walnut) and liked many of their wines. We chose the Barn Raising Red to sip on while enjoying the jazz band that was entertaining that afternoon. We stayed there for dinner (lamb burger and gorgonzola salad), which was excellent.

We would highly recommend the Black Walnut. It is conveniently located and was a great value!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Keuka Room. It was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were looking to get away to the Finger Lakes for the first time and found the Black Walnut Inn by chance and I'm sure glad we did! Host Jack was so helpful with trip ideas and his breakfasts were absolutely delicious, can't wait to try more in future trips back there!.. The atmosphere was very serene, close to wine trails and both Cayuga and Seneca lakes. Would definitely recommend it to others for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olyuxa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 2 nights in the Blue Moon Suite at the Black Walnut. Jack was a wonderful host - he had numerous maps and brochures to help us decide on activities and his suggestions on restaurants, wineries, etc. were spot on. The farmhouse has been beautifully restored but retains a good bit of character and charm. The building is located quite close to the road but our room was situated at the far end which helped with the noise. It was nice to be able to walk to the Americana winery for dinner and drinks.

The only reason we give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the road noise and the breakfasts (which were very good, but not as great as we have typically had at other B&B's).

Room Tip: The Blue Moon Suite is away from all of the other rooms and is very private.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jodykayoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrIzmir14847, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It was a great pleasure hosting this couple on their 2-night stay en route from Ohio to the Adirondacks. We are glad to read that they were pleased with the Blue Moon Suite, which is the largest and most luxurious of our 4 accommodations. I am a bit surprised to read that they rated our breakfasts as very good but not quite as good as they have experienced at some other B&Bs that they have stayed in. I invite readers to scroll down to other reviews on TripAdvisor regarding our breakfasts. The wordage we find in reviews and in comments on our guestbook include, "awesome" "delicious" "amazing" "excellent" "lovely presentation" "outstanding" "scrumptious" "fantastic" "5 star", "top-notch" "supreme" etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We enjoy staying at various B&Bs and the hospitality of Jack Moore is an experience not to miss. His knowledge of the region and recommended restaurants, wineries and hiking trails helps make the most of your time. We stayed in the Blue Moon Suite which was more than enough for the two of us and the morning breakfasts were a delicious and perfect start to our days. We highly recommend the Black Walnut and will stay here again in the future. Five stars in my book, for the luxury, serenity and beauty!

Room Tip: We loved the Blue Moon Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumansburg
9.2 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Inn at Taughannock
Inn at Taughannock
#5 of 9 in Trumansburg
85 reviews
16.5 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Cayuga Morning Star Bed and Breakfast
15.1 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
12.2 mi away
Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast

Property: Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4278 E Covert Rd, Trumansburg, NY 14847-9719
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing