We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Ithaca(Ithaca)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University(Ithaca)(Great Value!)
$144
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca(Ithaca)(Great Value!)
$169
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn & Suites(Ithaca)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
171
14
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moonfinger lakesb bfrittatapecan french toastmy husband and iat homecayuga lakeoffering suggestionslocal winebed and breakfastwonderful experiencechocolate candyhistoric farmhouselocated convenientlyhearty breakfastresident cat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 185 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We enjoy staying at various B&Bs and the hospitality of Jack Moore is an experience not to miss. His knowledge of the region and recommended restaurants, wineries and hiking trails helps make the most of your time. We stayed in the Blue Moon Suite which was more than enough for the two of us and the morning breakfasts were a delicious and perfect start to our days. We highly recommend the Black Walnut and will stay here again in the future. Five stars in my book, for the luxury, serenity and beauty!

Room Tip: We loved the Blue Moon Suite!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

For six years my wife and I plus another couple have jumped in the cars and travelled to various interesting destinations and stayed at some lovely B&Bs. As we were celebrating my 50th birthday I wanted a special old house with ample charm, a lovely location near wineries and good food, excellent breakfast ... and coffee all supplied by a gracious host. All of my and our party's expectations were met and exceeded. Thanks for a most memorable visit Jack.
Denis & Debbie

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Black Oaks B&B. Jack, the host, could not have made us feel more welcome in his lovely home, and offered gentle advice on area wineries, trails, and sites. The 18th century farmhouse has been updated just enough to provide some modern comforts but still maintains its vintage charm. Breakfasts were delicious and substantial -- a real treat. Location is within walking distance of Americana Winery, a short drive from the stunning Taughannock Falls and cute village of Trumansburg, and 15 minutes from Ithaca.

Room Tip: rooms on the road side do get some traffic noise, as the house sits close to Rt. 96.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed here during our visit to all of the wineries in the Finger Lakes area. From the outside of the B&B we were a bit leery...but once we got inside we quickly fell in love with the place. So relaxing inside and the updated décor had a unique feel to it. Jack the Inn Keeper was a great host and very helpful with driving directions, restaurant recommendations & local spots to visit. Jack's hot breakfast was amazing both mornings...hot coffee, fruit plates, juice and then mouth watering French toast, quiche, etc.

Even though the house was somewhat small in size...you still felt that you had plenty of privacy while in your room, and having the private bathroom was a plus. We had the "sunflower room" and I would definitely suggest it due to the larger bathroom & separate tv area. I hope to be back there again some time soon!

Room Tip: Even though the Sunflower Room has it's bathroom across the hall, you have a key to lock it when you're not using it and we never ran into anyone else in the hallway...so it still felt like a private bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyanne2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is our third visit to the Black Walnut-- Jack has again made our stay as comfortable and positive as possible: great accommodations, perfectly thoughtful hosting, delicious (and copious) breakfasts, and a wonderful relaxed ambience. The area is a lovely place to vacation, with opportunities of all kinds (Cornell, Ithaca, music, beautiful hikes and walks near, wineries and interesting & good restaurants, and of course, the Lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank presenttimeflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews