We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately on our visit again list”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Trumansburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We travel to the Ithaca area 3 times a year and the Black Walnut B&B is a senic drive 'up the lake' from town. It is also a 1/4 mile from the Americana Winery, which serves a great lunch and has exceptional wines. We found the hosts to be warm and friendly without being intrusive. The rooms are all different, each with their own personality. The Blue Moon is our favorite room at the end of the hall. We look forward to our next trip to Ithaca and our stay at the Black Walnut.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug_Bachman1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

We were very impressed with the beautiful drive south from Seneca Falls along Cayuga Lake, with great wineries along the way. Arriving at the Black Walnut was a treat as our hosts greeted us warmly, and showed us to the New Moon Suite. The Black Walnut farmhouse-style B&B rambles with with surprises like windows in the second floor hallway that view down to the kitchen and breakfast room.

The house is one of those that just happened over a couple hundred years, with a wonderful, sunny glass porch looking out to the garden that was just coming into bloom. The decor in our room and throughout the house was a mixture of antique finds and new traditional furnishings to ensure comfort. Our room and bath, which was huge, were very comfortable and included personal coffee service and amenities of an upscale hotel.

We popped down the road about 1/2 mile to the Americana Winery, which has delicious meals and fine wine, of course. The great thing is you can walk, and not worry about the driving aspect of going out for wine.

We hope to return to the Black Walnut this summer and explore the Ithaca/Trumansburg area, which has so much to see.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stevallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Black Walnut in April 2011 for a trip along the Cayuga lake wine trail. The innkeeper, Jack, made every effort to make sure we were comfortable and felt at home. He was very helpful in recommending things to do and places to eat. The inn is well-maintained and cozy. The hot breakfast served the next morning was delicious as well. We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rochtraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The Black Walnut B&B was recommended to us through another B&B in the area that was full. I am glad we got referred to the Black Walnut. Jack and Rich created customer delight. The house is cute, cozy and has a lovely character. The rooms are small but adorable and comfortable. Very good taste.... The breakfast was delicious. We felt at home.
Jack gave us plenty of recommendations on what to see and visit in the area and his personal favorites turned into ours, too. The Black Walnut will always be my first choice when I go to the Finger Lakes.

Room Tip: Call and they will try to accomodate your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaPGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Black Walnut B&B for a birthday trip to the Finger Lakes. Upon arrival our inn keeper Jack gave us a tour of the house and showed us to our room. After we settled in, he treated us to some wine and cheese while we talked about different things to do in the area. The room was cozy and comfortable and it, along with the rest of the house, had loads of chic and rustic farmhouse charm. We stayed two nights, and breakfast both mornings was exceptional. Though we did not have the opportunity to enjoy the enclosed porch and garden while we were there, on a warmer visit I would grab a bottle of wine from Americana Vineyard just down the road, and kick back in a comfy wicker chair to enjoy it all. The Black Walnut is in a great location, with easy access to both Cayuga and Seneca Lake wine trails, waterfalls and state parks, and downtown Ithaca is only about 20-25 minutes drive. Overall, we loved our stay and getting to know Jack, Rich, and Willy (the friendly resident terrier). We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_K1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

The Black Walnut is a wonderful B&B,

Located in the quaint town of Trumansburg, this warm and VERY friendly B&B is the place to stay. Since I like the wineries of the area, it was nice to be close to The Americana Winery just a stones throw away. The Owners are very attentive to every need and Jack's southern charm makes the stay even more charming. When in the area, I will be checking in the Black Walnut again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grapesinaglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I loved this place. I felt welcomed and relaxed from the beginning to the end...first of all the owners are great, they are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are impeccably clean, and each one is unique, with historical charm, but newly renovated so they feel updated at the same time. I love the location too, it's right next to a great cafe, around the corner from some fun restaurants on the lake, down the street from the Village of Trumansburg, and of course in the heart of the wine country, so has easy access to both Cayuga and Seneca lake vineyards. Also Taughannock Falls is so close.

I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augustineruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4278 E Covert Rd, Trumansburg, NY 14847-9719
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trumansburg
Price Range: $115 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing