We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Comfortable & Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient, Comfortable & Affordable”
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I recently stayed at the Franklin Square Inn because I was attending a friend's wedding at the Franklin Plaza. It was so convenient that my hotel was directly across the street from the wedding reception. The Inn was extremely comfortable - a very clean facility, well-appointed guestrooms, courteous and attentive staff. There is a small cafe on-site that offers coffee, alcoholic beverages, delicious sandwiches and light meals. Also, there is a new fitness center. Of particular importance, the room rate was quite affordable. Sometimes traveling to a wedding can be such a hassle and an expense. The Franklin Square Inn made the wedding weekend easy and enjoyable! A great place to stay when visiting Troy.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1-2-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    140
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
189
98
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed here the end of October while visiting my son at RPI. We stayed in 2 of their suites because they were pretty booked up. They were very apologetic about having us change rooms. And tried several times prior to our arrival to fix our reservation. We didn't even have to remove our luggage for the move. The staff took care of everything. Even with having to change rooms midstay, we had an extremely pleasant experience.Not to forget to mention the price was right.

I will say that the rooms were very nicely decorated and very clean. A couple of tables in our rooms showed signs of use. It looked like someone had left a warming tray on it without protection. It ruined the finish but it certainly didn't ruin our stay. We were extremely impressed with the spaciousness and amenities.

The rooms had free wifi. The lobby area had to computers available for use by guests. The lobby was very nice for sitting and they have a lovely fireplace. They always had local newspapers, USA today, area magazines and brochures available for the taking.

The front desk ataff were very friendly and informative. We had some great meals by following their suggestions. The hotel is easily accessable. Has plenty of parking and the hotel is located in the Historic District. The Historic District is a great area to stay in and you can leave the car in the lot and walk around. Across the street there is a really nice small park which lines the Hudson River. The front of the Hotel is nicely landscaped with tables and seating areas.

The Hotel has a small cafe which serves a light breakfast, lunch and dinner. They don't have a bar but the cafe has bottles of wines and beers for purchase. There are several places within walking distance where you can hang out and have drinks. The cafe has plenty of seating and some board games to ocupy your free time. If you order in the cafe, they will bring you food to you in the outdoor seating area in front of the hotel! Very nice option.

This hotel is a great place to stay and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coopieclanNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland1
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were attending a wedding reception across the street and the hotel, service, room accommodations couldn't have been better!
We did have one issue arise with our toilet being clogged, but the front desk took care of it in 15-20 minutes. Very professional, courteous and having a place to get breakfast in the morning without having to leave the hotel is a huge plus.
Free parking and many other amenities that made our short stay pleasurable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cortland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I have stayed at the Franklin Inn a few times since the Best Western right up the street has been turned into a dorm for RPI. It is a very convenient hotel to the downtown Troy area and is convenient enough for RPI visits.

The rooms are not all that bad - they are a little tight but are overall clean. The parking lot is conveniently located right near the elevator and the lobby is in overall good shape. One thing to note, the elevator is extremely slow and very noisy. If you do have a room next to or near the elevator, you WILL hear it all night groaning away.

Overall, I would have to say my stays at the Franklin Inn have been pleasant and after staying there this past weekend, I plan to stay again when I return to RPI in just 3 weeks.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homer79163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

My daughter and I stayed at the Franklin Square Inn and Suites recently while visiting a local college. The signage doesn't mention that it's a Clarion Hotel; maybe that's changed? The rooms must have been renovated since earlier reviews because ours was very pleasant. The down bed linens were extremely comfortable, the staff was very friendly, the continental breakfast was adequate, and the location was ideal. The only drawback was the horrible towels. They definitely need to be replaced!

  • Liked — location and comfortable beds
  • Disliked — bath towels
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYtravelingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

Stayed here two nights with family, for college visit. Room was a little tight, but otherwise fine. Easy to haul luggage in, through back entrance directly into elevators. Walking distance to old town Troy, where you will find very nice bookstores and eateries. Short driving distance to Rensselaer. Continental breakfast has mainly items in plastic bags (Sara Lee muffins, bagels, etc.) with a toaster that makes the bagels very edible. WiFi worked in the room when we arrived, but not early the next morning -- worked fine in the dining area. Television is always on in the dining/sitting area, which may or may not appeal to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zincb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2007

My wife and I attended a wedding across the street from this hotel and stayed for two nights due to the convenient location. I must say that this was the worst experience that I have ever had at a hotel. The room we were given was on the second floor and was extremely outdated (old beds, old appliances, etc.) The drywall around the air conditioning unit was wet and rotting. The television had a horrible picture and there was no way to adjust it.

On the first day the maintenance man was cutting something with a circular saw in the maintenance room, which is also on the second floor and it was extremely loud. The hotel made no attempt to give us warning or explain the noise.

The maid service did not show up to clean our room until 2:20pm, when we were getting ready for the wedding. When we asked if they could come back the maid replied that she was only there until 2:30pm, insinuating that it was either now or never. (my wife was in the shower) When we called the front desk for more information, the woman in charge of maid service was extremely rude and said there was nothing she could do.

Overall I was disgusted with both the amenities and the service. I strongly recommend travelers to look elsewhere when in the Albany/Troy area.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everyting
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank simmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
4.1 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
5.7 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Property: Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing