We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was suggested I stay at this hotel as doing genealogical research on my family and doing all on foot. Perfect location, yes it's not the Ritz but neither is the price. The previous reviews made me hesitant so I was most pleasantly surprised, .wonderful staff very helpful, room clean with amenities .Central to all transportation and on the Hudson River .Definitely a keeper if going to Troy which is also a surprising gem

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank suncharm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 469 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great central location. Walking distance to restaurants and downtown locations. Staff was eager to help and answered all questions graciously. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good and ample. It was a real pleasure to spend my time here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here on business for three nights while interviewing RPI students looking for full-time jobs and summer internships. The big thing going for the Best Western is the location - it is very close to some of the better places to eat in Troy, it's easy to get to 787, and it is a rather nice walk up the approach to RPI.

As for the inn itself, it's fine, but I think it's a tad pricey for what you get - this is a no-frills type of place charging $125/night. The lobby area is nice, but the hallways and carpets in the rooms are a bit tired and worse for wear. The bed was average, the bathroom appeared to be recently refurbished, and the TV actually displayed HD programming (instead of just stretched SD) and had more channels than the average hotel. The internet here was reliable and fast.

The free breakfast was fairly simple but satisfying. Though after the first day, I skipped it and went elsewhere since I had an expense account and wanted something a bit better.

Overall, I'd stay here again. It is a basic hotel that offers a clean room and some up-to-date amenities. If you are visiting RPI, I think the downtown location of the Best Western is preferable to being at the Hilton on Hoosick, though if you are looking for the overall better hotel, the Hilton is the better, albeit more expensive, property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sullim4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kboyer42, General Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We really appreciate your taking the time to review our property! At the BW Plus Franklin Square Inn we really love serving our local community and RPI guests. We know you have options when visiting or working at RPI and thank you for choosing us!

Thank you for your feedback about our location, breakfast and rooms. We love our proximity to the university, downtown shops, restaurants and other local area attractions. We are also currently in the process of replacing all of the carpet in our rooms and common areas, as well as some other significant renovations in the rooms, lobby and meeting-space. We hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us in the next few months when these projects are completed and can give us your feedback.

Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

a nice place to say for business and vacation in Troy, NY. in downtonw troy and close to everything. Free parking and Free breakfast. If you visit RPI or Lighting Reseach Center at RPI, this is the best option (within walking distrance of LRC at RPI).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Yi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn two years ago and was very pleased with the over all experience. When my sisters and I were going to Troy again it was a no brainer. Stay at the same hotel we were so pleased with last trip. And we were not disappointed. It was even better. The rooms had been refurbished and the whole place shone. I love the staff, and the way they treat the guests. There is no better place to stay in the Troy/Albany area. We plan on another trip next fall and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

If in this area, this should be where you stay. It is a bit more pricey than some others but has wonderful facilities including a laundry room and free breakfast, a top grade staff and wonderful rooms. I stay here every time when in the Albany/Troy area with my therapy dogs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed for one night in this hotel last June when I was looking for apartments in Troy. I know a Hilton closer to RPI but this place locates in Troy downtown and is more convenient. You can find CVS and restaurants nearby. Also buses are available to Albany. The room was comfortable and breakfast was awesome. It is quiet except the AC in summer...Anyway it is a good place.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank suan0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kboyer42, General Manager at Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for staying with us on your most recent trip to RPI! We are located just a 0.4 mile walk away from the campus and within walking distance to many shops, restaurants and nightlife. We know you have options when staying in Troy, and we greatly value our RPI guests! Thank you again for choosing the BW Plus Franklin Square Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
4.1 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
4.4 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range: $102 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing