We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was great, Whole 2nd Floor smells of smoke and deoderizor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff was great, Whole 2nd Floor smells of smoke and deoderizor”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I actually would give this hotel a good rating if it weren't for the smell. The staff was very helpful, even suggesting places to eat and providing great directions. The free hot breakfast was better than advertised, lots of choices and very tasty.

The cigarettes though. It's the kind of pervasive, stays in your clothes and suitcase for days kind of old stale cigarette smoke smell. They'd done their level best to cover it with deodorizers, but as we all know that just makes things even worse. I had a hard time getting to sleep the first night because it was so overpowering.

i will say however, that I had a colleague staying on the 3rd floor, who did not notice it at all, so it may just be that the 2nd floor used to be the smoking floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    140
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
189
98
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent only 1 night at the The Best Western Plus in Troy, at Franklin Square. Despite a torrential downpour that night, the staff was very friendly, helpful and in good spirits. We used this hotel as just a quick stopover before a flight the next morning, and it was perfect for that.

The bed in the room was comfortable and the room was clean. The room was a bit tight, especially once you bring luggage in, but otherwise everything about it was good. There was free wi-fi, which is always nice and when we forgot some toiletries at a previous hotel, they happily provided replacements.

The location is about 10 minutes from the Albany airport, which made it easy to get to extremely early in the morning. Also, across the street is an excellent barbeque place, Dinosaur BBQ, which we'd recommend to anyone staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very convenient if you're attending any function at Franklin Plaza, which is right across the street. Live in the area, but stayed here after spending the evening at a wedding in Franklin Plaza so we didn't have to think about driving after drinking. Nice, new, well-kept, pleasant, helpful staff. Had a basic king room, which I thought was a little on the small side (2 of us), but for the price and just overnight it was fine. Refrigerator & free wifi was convenient. The one area which I think could be improved was the breakfast buffet. The staff was very helpful, making sure all was replenished quickly, plenty fruit, bagels,etc. but the hot food left something to be desired. The home fries were very bland - had had absolutely no seasoning. The "cheese omelets" seemed to be made with cheese whiz. The meats were sausage patties and cut up ham; again little flavor. Aside from the breakfast buffet, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateluvs2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a Best Western plus (which is much nicer that the ordinary version.) They try very hard to please, and are better than most of the area motels. Parking is secure and this location is near downtown restaurants and a short drive to RPI.

Room Tip: They were responsive for my request for room location (quite, away from busy areas, etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stopped at this hotel for one night on our way to Toronto, Ontario. The room was very clean.
It is an older hotel but very well kept and very clean. The staff were amazing and so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price of $129.86. The breakfast was a hot buffet and included in the price of the room. I can't remember all that was included but was the best of any we've had. It was truly wonderful. The hotel was very easy to find. The Hudson River runs behind it and so has a nice view as well. A couple of restaurants are close by for dinner. If the occasion arises, we will definitely stay here again....well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twmoffat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
4.1 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Albany Airport
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
5.7 mi away
Best Western Albany Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Property: Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing