We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RPI -orientation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Somers, Connecticut
Level Contributor
153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“RPI -orientation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Most hotels in the area were sold out - RPI orientation and a local bar examthis week. Was lucky to get a room! Hotel was clean. Rooms a bit small. No pool.... The room was comfortable. Front desk was nice. Had safe parking.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DonMacL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    131
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
172
91
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Was able to walk in, check in and get to our room in less than 5 minutes. Friendly staff who greeted us promptly and gave us great service. Complimentary wifi, hot breakfast in the morning and easy on, easy off the highway. Recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in Troy or surrounding area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Hotel was convenient to RPI, and a short walk to downtown. BBQ place with live music acriss the street looked good thougn we didn't try it. Morning breakfast buffet (included) was excellent- sausages, cheese omelette, home fries, fuits, fruit juices, coffee, cereal, yogurt, bnelgian waffles, all well-supplied. Nice towels and pillows and comfy beds. Even could see the river from our room. Definitely a good choice at the price. Troy also was a nicer town than I remembered from a long-ago visit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PhantomEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level Contributor
155 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and found it to be clean and comfortable with friendly service and handy for the town centre.

Found Troy to be an interesting place to stay and staying here was so much better than just staying somewhere off the interstate.

If you stay here and need somewhere to eat try Daisy Bakers

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Best Western Franklin Square was way above my expectation. The room was lovely, bed was sensational, great bedding, good TV and cable, spotless bathroom with lots of linens. Front desk staff was very helpful. Complimentary hot breakfast was very nice. Highl;y recommend.

Room Tip: My cousin's suite had a beautiful jacuzzi. Worth asking for if you like those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was a business trip and all I needed is a place to sleep and Internet access. The hotel was very clean, spacious and had a decent breakfast for what passes as "free" breakfasts at hotels. Staff were very friendly and helpful. If I'm back in the area, I'll stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We only stayed one night,but the experience was very good and we had and excellent stay at this Best Western in Troy. The hotel was conveniently located right along the river and very close to RPI- which we were visiting for a sporting event. The room was nice and it included a refrigerator. We used the fitness center and business center computers - which were free and they were both nice services to have available. Breakfast in the morning was included, and it was a very nice full breakfast with eggs and ham, make your own waffles, oatmeal, cereal, breads and muffins, fruits and juices and coffee. USA Today was available for free also. We took advantage of the proximity to the Dinosaur BBQ restaurant across the street and walked to dinner- it was great because we could have a couple of beers and walk back to our room without having to drive anywhere. The restaurant will even deliver to your hotel room. We liked the restaurant so much we went there twice in our one night stay! There are other restaurants within walking distance along the river which we went to for lunch and was very pleased with the food. Overall we had an excellent experience at the Best Western and would recommend it to anyone going to Troy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winendiningduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troy
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Troy
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Latham
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Latham Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.1 mi away
The Century House, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany
Address: 1 4th St, Troy, NY 12180-3225 (Formerly Franklin Square Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 0.4 miles from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) and at the center of historic downtown Troy, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany offers comfort and convenience within a short distance of all the major Albany, NY attractions. Stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany as you attend your next wedding or event at one of our two luxurious ballrooms, the Franklin Plaza and Franklin Terrace. Make yourself at home in one of our luxurious 62 rooms. Standard rooms are available with either one king size bed or two queen size beds. Accessible rooms with specially designed bathroom grab bars, wheelchair accessible entrance ways, and roll in showers are available upon request. Upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms with a king size bed, whirlpool hot tub, and living area. Our two-room Fulton suite offers a king size bed, spa shower, living, dining and bar areas. All reservations include a full free hot breakfast, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free onsite parking, and free access to our gym and business center. All rooms are equipped with 32" inch flat screen television sets, refrigerators, individual cup coffee makers stocked with complimentary coffee and tea, hair dryers, and iron and ironing board sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Franklin Square Inn Troy/Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Franklin Square Inn Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing